We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stop”

Hilo Shark's Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must stop”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

incredible delicious coffee and the Passion Fruit cheesecake was the best one i ever had. the view from the balcony is breathtaken

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    55
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Spreyton
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Little Cafe for Breakfast - Whilst Visiting Kahuna Falls”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

When on an early visit to the Akaka Falls Park if the typical American breakfast fare is a 'little too much' for your liking try the breakfast burritto at Hilo Shark's - you will not be disappointed. Add the excellent coffee, some Hawaii chocolate for the road trip and you are set for the day's travel around to Waimea Valley! This small coffee shop provided a very good BLT also to complete our breakfast requirements without 'resting heavy' in the stomach.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SpreytonFawky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Shakes and Coffee”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I'd read about Hilo Sharks on Trip Advisor, but the one in Hilo. We stumbled up on the one up by Akaka Falls Park. It was a happy accident. We were pretty hungry, but it was too early for lunch. So we all got shakes and coffee :) They were delicious!

The place is very cute and cozy. There was a bit of rush when we got there, but the young woman behind the counter handled it with calm coolness and I don't think anyone ended up waiting too long for their treats.

We sat outside and cuddled with the shop cat (Sagan). He was very interested in the mango shake.

We will definitely go here again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosie_VAGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purcellville, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Lunch and Snack Shop”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Recommended by our ziplining staff. We were not disappointed. Good salads and sandwiches made fresh. Excellent shakes. Great local place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
157 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“excellent coffee drinks!! ”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

stopped here after a day of chasing waterfalls and it was perfect! they have some macadamia snacks we grabbed for the road. milkshakes were outstanding!! super friendly staff and great coffee. made this stop on a whim and so glad we did! will definitely be there again on future trips!

Helpful?
1 Thank travelG74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hilo Shark's Coffee Shop also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hilo Shark's Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing