We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Comfortable, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 19 Hilo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had just been camping for a few days and were looking for a place to relax for the afternoon/evening and found this place. It is located in a very quiet spot in a jungle like surrounding with a small lagoon and within walking distance to the ocean. There is a place on the property that you can hang out and relax next to the lagoon on the way to the ocean or just hang with a glass of wine. The breakfast/community area inside is also very comfortable. We stayed in the back room which had a very nice bed. The frogs in the evening at this place made you think you were sleeping in a jungle, an orchestra of frogs of all different sounds. The breakfast was absolutely amazing, anything you could possibly need and no shortage. If we ever come back to Hilo we would stay here again!

Room Tip: Of the 3 rooms available we had the larger back room. It was awesome. We were the only ones at the B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen_Jacquie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Just got back from a 2 week stay on the Big Island. Half of the time we stayed in Hilo at the Beach with Friends. This B & B was perfect for my type of traveling. Accommodations were comfortable and secure. We always had a delicious breakfast and conversation with Claudia in the morning and then set out on a daily adventure. The rooms have small refrigerators so I was able to keep cold beer in the room for after returning from the adventure. Although I didn't hang out at the house that much, it would be great for that purpose also. I intend to stay here again the next time I come to HIlo.

Room Tip: If you keep the windows closed and the fan turned on at night the frogs are not too loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sean g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

At the beach with friends is an amazing place to stay. If you have been to the big island you know that many places are a little older and run down. Claudia (The owner) keeps the place immaculate.
The bed and breakfast is close to the airport, about 10 or 15 minutes to the terminal, however we did not hear any jet noise. It is also located across from a beautiful black sand beach, Claudia can tell you the best place to snorkel. While the b and b is located about a 5 minute drive from restaurants and shopping, it has a laid back tropical setting on a one one acre lot. The lush tropical setting does mean you will have to listen to the sounds of nature when the sun goes down, mainly frog's, we felt that the noises were relaxing though.
The breakfast is a five star review in itself! It usually started with a fruit course. Claudia would then bring out some yogurt, granola, and homemade muffins. She would then bring out a egg dish. The egg dish varied by day but the best was the Spanish omelet. After she was done getting everything out Claudia would sit down for morning conversation. She would give us tips on things and it was a nice touch.
I want to touch on Claudia in this review. She is awesome! She is not a typical, has some spunk and a lot of life experience. SHE SAVED OUR VACATION TWICE!! The first time we had made a reservation at one of the top rated BB on this site. We where stood up at the last minute. So we trotted through hilo looking for a decent place to stay. Every place we checked was either full or a dump. I then googled nice place to stay hilo, up popped at the beach with friends. I called and asked to see the place. Claudia met me with 25 minutes notice and showed me an immaculate room. (On a side note it did not have AC but we were never hot with fans only). The second time was after we left. I got a call from her saying the cleaning lady found my tablet in my room still. I was immediately worried as our plane left in 45 minutes. Claudia zipped over to the airport with it and even refused a tip!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pitt7717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

It's location - next to 7 natural beaches & it's own lush tropical setting make this a gem! Claudia, the gracious owner, has the details nicely attended to: snorkel gear, beach towels, umbrellas etc. Rooms are large w/ comforable, kingsized beds, each has a great view of the natural setting & a lovely large clean bathroom attached. The daily fresh breakfasts are so good! Wonderful. Stayed 10 days. Does require car.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RWintthrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We had a fantastic stay in Hilo enjoying At the Beach with Friends. I really liked our hosts Claudia's breakfasts: fresh tropical fruit, homemade granola with greek yogurt and strong coffee. Yumm. Since we were hiking around sites it was good to have plenty to eat and good water to drink.. I loved snorkeling just across the street at Richardson Beach, Had I more time, it would have been fun to do some kayaking. Volcanoes Natl Park, is definitely a "must see site" on Planet earth. After a hard day of touring it was good to get back to a comfortable bed and great shower.We loved the botanical garden just North of Hilo and had our lunch by the waves.
At the beach with friends had good internet service and with sadness, I printed my boarding passes to get our flight back to Honolulu. Thanks to our wonderful hosts who provided our travel advice. I hope we can come back again sometime to see the stars at the observatory and to swim on the Green Beach. Everyday beautiful rainbows reminds me of just how beautiful and precious this creation, our planet, really is. Sure hope future generation will enjoy it too! ALOHA!

Room Tip: Our room had a sliding glass door facing the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pslbethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Our visit was wonderful. The room was impecably clean, comfortable and beautiful. We loved the sounds of nature and the close proximity to the beach. They have everything to lend for snorkeling, relaxing at the beach, flashlights and bug spray, sunscreen for hiking, it was like being at home. Claudia's cooking is delicious as well. Healthy and decadent.
We highly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful time in Hilo staying in a romantic room "at the Beach with Friends". IT was a 25th anniversary trip and we were not disappointed in our decision to go to Hilo for four days. At the Beach with Friends is conveniently located near the airport but one gets the feeling of being in a remote hideaway. The rooms are beautiful, well kept up and the bathroom was luxurious with nice towels and amenities. We lacked nothing. On our first day after a sumptious breakfast prepared by Claudia, the owner, we drove to the Volcanoes Park. There we went hiking, drove through the lava fields., saw the ocean and the volcano at night. Coming home we were able to get into the house easily and have a restful evening. Rooms are equipped with WIFI and TV.

On the second day we took a driving trip to see botanical gardens and the observatory. We also went swimming at Richardson's beach nearby. It was great snorkeling in a safe evironment. We saw a lot of fish and also a large turtle.

On the third day we went swimming , exploring. and went to the market in Hilo.
Sadly we had to fly back to Honolulu but would definitely return to HIlo and at the Beach with Friends in a heartbeat. Claudia and Scott have created a small paradise in HIlo- it was far better than we ever would have imagnedl

Room Tip: We liked our room. it was the last one on the left down the hall. It had a terrace right off it for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilo hotels
3.3 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
4.8 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
679 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
572 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
7.7 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast

Address: 369 Nene St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range: £143 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private guest wing on a salt water lagoon across from Hilo's favorite swimming beaches. Luxury ocean view accommodations for $160-$180 king beds, ensuite baths, free WiFi, flat screen TVs, common sitting room/lounge area, games, books, & hot buffet breakfast. Small refrigerators in room and tea service available in common room. Triple room available. Beach towels, folding chairs,coolers flashlights and umbrellas on hand. $10/night discount off base price for five nights or more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your At the Beach with Friends Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At The Beach With Friends Hotel Hilo
At The Beach With Friends Bed And Breakfast
At The Beach With Friends Bed & Breakfast Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing