We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you've got to be kidding”
Review of Shaka Shak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shaka Shak
Ranked #16 of 19 Hilo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Cynthia is a real sweetheart and the sheets were clean. But we were badly mislead by the web information for Shaka Shak. It was not clear that this place is essentially a boarding house. Together with a resident student, we and our traveling companions were 5 people sharing one bathroom. Also misleading was the cost. An extra $20/room "cleaning charge" and a bunch of previously unspoken taxes were a real surprise when we came to settle our tab in the morning. I have traveled and stayed at lots and lots of places, but I have never before seen a "cleaning charge" as a surprise tack-on to the room costs. One reviewer uses the expression "old world charm." I would call it run down and in serious need of some deep cleaning (especially the refrigerator and couch), repairs, and paint (the ceiling in the living room was an amazing job of not-how-to-fix sheetrock). We were shocked at the final costs when they came to $15/couple less than a brand new, well-appointed 3 bedroom house (2 bathrooms!) that we had had for the four of us the night before in Volcano. Sweetness doesn't offset being ripped off.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RockDoctorNMUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

this is a fun place if you are looking for a place to just put your head this is the place.
i was here for a week and wished i had stayed longer Cynthia is wonderful the room are very clean the bathroom is very clean to she is not far from down town

Room Tip: all of them are nice the suite is very nice to all the rooms sleep 2~4 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolaborella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank franci1ina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Massimo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rori79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
3.7 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
588 reviews
2.7 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
20.2 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
682 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
2.8 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaka Shak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaka Shak

Address: 126 W Kahaopea St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-5305
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hilo
Price Range: £61 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shaka Shaka is a charming plantation guest house restored to combine old Hawaii nostalgia with modern conveniences. It sits on a 14,000 square foot tropical lot in an established and quiet neighborhood. We have a total of 4 upstairs rooms, all uniquely decorated with Hawaiian inspired furnishings and super comfy beds. Guests have access to a fully equipped kitchen and clean common areas on the same level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shaka Shak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaka Shak Hilo, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing