We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal Hilo motel”
Review of Dolphin Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dolphin Bay
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albert
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Ideal Hilo motel”
Reviewed 12 December 2007

Not a resort with all sorts of facilities that you do not use. This is a clean, well run, small motel. The staff are exceptionally knowledgeable and friendly. The setting is superb, we even enjoyed the night time chorus of the coki(sp?) frogs. Not an ocean or panoramic view, just surrounded by natural vegetation with fruit that you can pick for yourself. We would stay there anytime we are in Hilo

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    253
    50
    16
    5
See reviews for
169
330
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2007

Well, I'll be short but sweet. We made the MISTAKE of only spending one night on the east side of the island(Hilo). Reason being there is so many great things to see and do...but it begs for a trip back. One tip is the Imiloa Astronomy Center, great exhibits and the planetarium and cafe are great.

The Dolphin Bay Hotel is as much of an enticement as the town itself. The owners are fantastic, and it's no wonder people rave about it. Friendly, personal, and the location is great. The rooms are spotless and the property is beautiful. Sitting outside late at night with a drink listening to the frogs was fun!

Well be back.

  • Liked — Owners, location
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2007

I read many reviews before booking a couple days stay here.
I wish we didn't have to go to the west side of the island because we left with heavy hearts.
The banana trees, the star fruit trees, the fresh papaya available in the open lobby were such wonderful amenities not to mention the cinnamon muffins and Kona blend coffee in the morning.
I agree that the owners were down to earth and very helpful.
The rainy weather and lack of swimming beaches in the area were the only downside of our stay.
If given the chance I would be there again in a heartbeat and this time stay for a week.
It is also a very simple appointed place so bring your own upscale toiletries if that's what you expect in a hotel. There is also no air conditioning but the fans worked fine.

  • Liked — The kitchen
  • Disliked — Small sleeping area
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chambord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2007

I stayed at the Dolphin Bay 27 years ago on my first trip to Hawaii. It is still being run by the same family, their hospitality and knowledge of the area is fantastic. Older property in a residential area, very clean. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — hotel staff
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rockvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snevada
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2007

What a great Place,clean, in the middle of it all.You get your fresh papaya,apple banana's coffee pastry every morning,Free.We loved the place we were there November 5th, 6th,The weather was great,we had spent 10 days on Oahu, it was more humid,but no rain.The staff is very helpfull annett and John can tell all the good places to go and to eat.John had us Try Pescatore Italian Restaurant,It was 5 strars and Tony was great.try Blaines for some local food like plate lunch. Hilo is really laid back so if you like night life not for you,the town closeses at 7pm.You can get to all the sites around Hilo from the Hotel as your base.No air cooler,is humid more so during the summer but we were out and about all the time.Try kennys to we loved it.

  • Liked — the staff,great fruit the best papaya I have ever had
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mckinley71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2007

We stayed at the Dolphin Bay in early August of 2007 with our family of five. The room layout is interesting, one large room with two twin beds and a separate master bedroom. There is also a small kitchenette. The hotel is older yet clean. The staff is very friendly. While the hotel doesn't have all of the conveniences of a resort, it does provide value for the family. The lobby had fresh fruit, coffee, and cinnamon rolls in the morning and there is a nice garden on the grounds to explore. The hotel is just down the street from several of the areas waterfalls. At night, the croaking of frogs can get a bit loud but it added to the experience.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thelaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Ranch California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2007

Smaller hotel just outside of the older downtown Hilo city. The hotel is very clean and the grounds are magnificent.

There is no air conditioner in the room and it does tend to get warm there. There are fans in the rooms, however.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smayo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.2 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
59.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
59.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay

Property: Dolphin Bay
Address: 333 Iliahi St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2399
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasoned guidance for a wide range of Big Island adventures. Walking distance to downtown Hilo. Clean quiet & reasonable. All rooms with kitchens. Free WiFi Internet available. Rated nicest small hotel in Hilo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dolphin Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hilo, Hawaii
Dolphin Bay Hotel Hilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing