We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dolphin Bay
Nearby Hotels
US$179
US$158
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$159
US$154
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arnott's Lodge(Hilo)(Great Value!)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$385
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
361
257
52
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
257
52
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanana breadfresh fruitevery morninghotel catthe big islandsmall kitchencoqui frogsfull kitchenone bedroom apartmentdowntown hilosmall hotelbanana treestropical gardenquiet streetthe lack of air conditioningfriendly hotelclose to downtown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 691 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I can see from the reviews that everyone else loves the Dolphin Bay also. We were two couples sharing a two-bedroom apartment. We enjoyed sitting out on the lanai, it was so nice having the kitchenette, and the fresh anthuriums in every room made our stay extra special! The grounds are so beautiful, and it's a convenient, quiet location. Loved the fresh fruit for breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

Our room was clean and had everything we needed. Staff was very friendly. In the morning you can get free coffee and all the banana's and papayas you can eat.
We had a very pleasant stay at Dolphin bay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanneRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Dolphin Bay. Very good price, very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful gardens. Coffee, papya and banana bread each morning; yum! Lava hike with David Ewing a must but make sure you go prepared. Dated and plain room but very clean. Nicely outfitted kitchenette. Noisy at night with the windows open listening to the sounds of Hawaii. Would definitely stay there again. To the staff - thank you for making our stay so memorable!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Dolphin Bay is a great hotel in Hilo for folks like us who like to rent a car, plan our own itineraries, & eschew large foreign-owned resorts for small family operated hotels and B&Bs. Nestled along a creek in a peaceful neighborhood, this modest, long-established facility gives you the feeling you're in a tropical glade instead of just 2 or 3 blocks from city restaurants, museums & markets. Kitchenettes allowed us to buy local produce & seafood and have lovely meals in our room. The gardens behind the hotel are maintained wonderfully & provide a great place to relax on a bench with a mug of coffee or glass of wine. Rooms are very clean & provide all the basics for travelers. The staff is very friendly & a great source for local information. If you're into bright lights & dancing & partying at night, you'll do better elsewhere. If you're looking for a safe, clean, friendly, value-oriented base of operations for exploring the Hilo area, you may find Dolphin Bay as good a match for you needs as we did. Our second stay this year was as nice as our first last year, and we'll be returning again.

Room Tip: Be sure to keep your windows open at night -- the sounds of frogs & other night critters in the glade behind the hotel will ease you to sleep, and the birds in the morning are a great alarm clock for visitors!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSS_BJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed here for four days. It was a little dated but clean with a good sized kitchen for a hotel room. The staff was very friendly and helpful with things to do in the area. We used their recommendation for a lava tour with David Ewing. His tour was very good. It is an easy walk to downtown Hilo from there. If we return to Hilo, we will stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosieox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews