We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a great place!”
Review of Dolphin Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dolphin Bay
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed ten days at this wonderful small hotel, close to downtown Hilo. It's in a pleasant residential area and it is very clean and comfortable. The cinder block construction, painted cream, is an excellent choice in a country where wooden buildings are either under termite attack or drenched in insecticide. We stayed in an upgraded suite (#14) on the second floor, facing the lush gardens behind the property. Our unit had a great shower/tub combo and big screened windows. The overhead fan provided all the cooling we needed. Every morning, there is fresh coffee and banana bread with papaya and bananas available all day long. Many thanks to John and staff for providing affordable and excellent accomodation. The only possible downside at this hotel is the singing of the frogs at night, although I actually enjoyed this feature!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lori181788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

Hilo, as a town, doesn't have much to offer, so comparatively the Dolphin Bay Hotel could be awesome. The staff is wonderful, helpful, and interesting. The home grown bananas are a treat in the morning. It's walking distance to town, but there's not much to walk to so that's not a big advantage. The parking lot is horrible. Very tiny with very tiny spaces. Be sure to back in, because it could take you a while to back out of space without hitting cars beside and behind you. The room is very basic - cinderblock walls. We were there in January so didn't need air conditioning, but I don't think the place offers anything but fans (at least in our room #5). If this were anywhere else, I'd give it a worse rating, but for Hilo, it's probably just fine.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

It always makes me a bit nervous going to a hotel for the first time even if the hotel receives excellent reviews. However the Dolphin Bay was even better than my expectations allowed. We rented a 'superior studio' (Room 14) and found a very good sized L-shaped room with a small kitchen complete with a gas stove, standard size refrigerator, sink, cupboards with plenty of dishes and pans; also here was a table and two chairs (where we sat and used our laptops). In the main part of the room was a double bed, good sized desk with drawers, TV monitor, night tables and a large armoire. The bathroom had lots of space for toiletries and a Japanese style tub/shower arrangement--nice hot shower. The grounds are immaculate with a banana "plantation" in the back...lovely trees and flowers, many of these labeled, which was nice. There is a washer and dryer available for a small fee across the street. Now for the best part! The staff are super helpful and friendly. Coffee and tea and homemade banana bread are available very early in the morning and there are always bananas and papayas freshly picked for guests to take. We loved it here and are going back in August.

Room Tip: Room 14 is large, on second floor -- very nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed here a week ago. The staff was friendly and very helpful. They shared great ideas about things to see on our drive to Kona. The price was great and restaurant they recommended was perfect. They have a great garden behind the hotel where they grow bananas that they serve for free. It was great fun seeing the bananas growing and large ferns.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The room was very comfortable and the staff was quite helpful. We enjoyed the fresh fruit and coffee available early each morning. They gave us great tips at breakfast on where to hike, swim, eat, and shop. Furthermore, they provided beach towels and a cooler. We will definitely stay at Dolphin Bay next time we are in Hilo.

Room Tip: Avoid the room closet to the office. Breakfast is available very early which we enjoyed but would no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJDCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had 2 rooms and they were comfortable and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Room 2 gets the afternoon sun so gets quite warm. Room 4 has coffee set up outside it from 5:30 am and unfortunately some guests talked and laughed loudly there and woke us up each morning. There is a lovely grove of bananas out the back with a creek (plus mossies) and frogs sing beautifully at night.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank AussieAdventurer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Many praise the kind and accommodating staff, and while I will not disagree, I will point out that the building, rooms, and other facilities are quite below average. Hilo has few options for travelers as it is, but it is worth mentioning that accommodations at the Dolphin Bay are akin to an old college dorm room. Uncovered cinderblock walls, hard as rock beds, and questionably unclean carpets. Pros include delicious homemade banana bread and fresh coffee and fruit in the mornings, and again, very kind and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Upstairs will minimize parking lot and morning activity noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.2 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
585 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
22 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
426 reviews
59.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay

Address: 333 Iliahi St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2399
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range: £122 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasoned guidance for a wide range of Big Island adventures. Walking distance to downtown Hilo. Clean quiet & reasonable. All rooms with kitchens. Free WiFi Internet available. Rated nicest small hotel in Hilo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Dolphin Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hilo, Hawaii
Dolphin Bay Hotel Hilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing