We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff!”
Review of Dolphin Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dolphin Bay
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Come to Hilo for its proximity to the volcano, the candy store and to meet the wonderful staff at Dolphin Bay. This hotel is well located, clean and offers free parking. This is no luxury multi storey hotel it's an honest, well priced place to stay that's just fine for a couple of nights.
I can highly recommend the fudge balls from the candy store!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kitkatwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 679 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

What a great hotel experience! The staff was superb: friendly, customer oriented, helpful with restaurant selections and knowledgable about local attractions. It is an older facility, but that adds to its charm. It is quiet, clean and functional with all the amenities except a/c. The unending hot coffee, the freshly baked delicious banana bread, bananas from the tree and the papayas made for an excellent breakfast every morning. We will plan to stay there on our next visit to Hilo.

Room Tip: Room 12 in the main building was quiet, spacious and had the capability for a cross breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jande36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

There was something special about this lodging. We spent a week at the Dolphin on both ends of a trip around the island. The Dolphin staff and owners were welcoming, the grounds more extensive then they first appear and one of the staff gave me a tour pointing out all the orchids in bloom. The lodge is older, not fancy, but very clean and well maintained. We appreciated that the kitchen was well outfited. Banana bread and lots of hot coffee along with bunches of apple bananas and papayas for the taking greeted us every morning. There seem to be an asortment of rooms to chose from. We had a standard room on the first floor which was fine. Our friends had a room with a lanai which was even nicer. The lodge is close to downtown old Hilo with many restaurants, shops and several supermarkets.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Followthesons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Great location in a regular neighborhood, but close to downtown. Great atmosphere and very comfortable. Felt right at home with the staff. Being a 'man that loves cats', I really enjoyed 'Rubble'. The coffee and pastries in the morning were great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zackkirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

May have been built in the 50's and no A/C - but we found it very clean, rustic and the friendliest & most helpful clerks we have ever met. Helped answer all our questions concerning Hilo, restaurants, places to visit, etc. but their secluded area behind the hotel blew us away! Made our trip to this side of the island.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngelBoyfromOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

If you are into casual this is your spot. It's the "old Hawaii". Reminds me of the sweet little places I stayed as a kid with my family. Clean, welcoming. A good base for exploring the Hilo side of the Big Island.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mahlonjanwhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Hilo is the spot where you'll find the old Hawaii, a laid back atmosphere and personal touches in your accommodation. We weren't after a resort - too expensive and too impersonal. We came to Hilo for a short visit to explore Volcanoes National Park and wanted somewhere not too far away to stay. Stumbled upon Dolphin Bay by accident on the net and was at first a little sceptical because the price was so good for what was on offer. We booked a two bedroom apartment for our family of 5 and it was great! One bedroom with a double bed, the second bedroom had 2 twin beds and then two day beds/lounges in the main room. There was also a full bathroom and a kitchen - smallish but with all appliances and a full-size fridge.

The highlight was the complementary all day coffee and fresh tropical fruits (home grown in the property's large gardens) and the amazing banana bread for breakfast. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Tell them what you want to do and they'll help you plan it. They can also suggest great places to eat. I think it was an old-style diner called Kenny's they recommended and it was fabulous! Huge variety of meals and very generous portions.

The only downside was the continual noise of bats/insects/something(!) all night long in the gardens, but after a day of hiking the volcanoes, we slept regardless.

I would stay there again without hesitation and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kuuipo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.2 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
572 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
22.0 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
418 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay

Address: 333 Iliahi St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2399
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range: £119 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasoned guidance for a wide range of Big Island adventures. Walking distance to downtown Hilo. Clean quiet & reasonable. All rooms with kitchens. Free WiFi Internet available. Rated nicest small hotel in Hilo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Dolphin Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hilo, Hawaii
Dolphin Bay Hotel Hilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing