We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Dolphin Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dolphin Bay
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Super clean, very reasonable rates. I was concerned about the lack of AC ( I HATE being hot, especially at night), but the fans and the cross breeze made the room really comfortable. It wasn't an issue at all. Besides, keeping the windows open allowed us to be lulled to sleep by the frog symphony outside...it was really amazing. Fresh fruit available all the time and terrific homemade banana bread is served as a courtesy in the morning. Fresh flowers in our room every day...a nice touch! It's dated and there are no amenities ( not even phones). Only a cat is available in the lobby after 8 pm. True story. Eve so, It was a great place to stay for our visit to Hilo.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Pineapplepalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 186 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed for three nights in a one bedroom apartment with four people June 2014.
From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel very welcome and gave us exceptional service - thank you.
Hotel is comfortable, clean and although not air conditioned had plenty of fans to keep cool - a nice chnage.
The gardens on the property are excellent with a nice walk down to a stream past the many flowers, avacdo tree, banana plants etc. Fruit from the property is available at near reception as is a really nice banana bread and coffee.
Great place to stay in Hilo - not far from centre of town
Recommended

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I live in Hilo only one block away and HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hidden gem to all my family and friends when coming for a visit.

CLEAN
CLOSE TO TOWN
CLOSE TO ME
FRIENDLY
KITCHENS

You guys rock!


Thanks to the staff for keeping my friends and family comfortable!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Mikala T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Not fancy but very clean, friendly and home-like. Very quiet and sounds at night are like you are sleeping in a rain forest.

Bed was comfortable, bathroom clean. The room has fully equipped kitchen.

Don't miss the garden behind the hotel.

It has a nice location in Hilo.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Reutye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were one of those who stayed in one of those high rise hotels on Bay Front over looking the Coco's Island - every year, but then they changed the bed spreads and curtains and up the price by $60 a night + ! Then we discovered Dolphin Bay ! We were so happy for our almost 2 weeks stay. The staff is just like family! John was most personable and very hands on. Fresh flowers were in our room! Clean and very homely! We are returning for two full weeks again and plan on being back there every year in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We liked this little gem so much that we came back for our honeymoon. Unpretentious, off the tourist routes (which is what we like), welcoming. Once again our expectations were surpassed. We love being in the heart of Old Hilo, with people who seem to genuinely care about us, and who are full of local knowledge of fun ways to spend our time. No need to pack a cooler or beach chairs, the hotel has them for you, along with freshly picked papaya and pastries and coffee every morning. If you're a resort hotel kind of person this won't be a good fit, but if you want a more authentic Hawaii experience this should be your home base for Big Island exploration.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank LSBPHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in a one bedroom apartment. The first impression was of a dated place, a bit out of the way however, that impression only lasted until we checked-in. There we met John, who was a wealth of knowledge and gave great suggestions about what we could fit in during the time we had. He also makes great coffee and gladly made us afternoon coffee soon after we arrived. There's an abundance of banana and papaya, grown on site, the best we've ever tasted! And the morning coffee starts at 5.30am, thank you very much. Dolphin Bay is walking distance to Hilo and while there are some gems in town (like the sushi restaurant John suggested), the surroundings area had so much to see and do that we didn't spend much time at the hotel. Three nights was only enough to get an overview of the area. We'd love to visit again and would gladly stay at Dolphin Bay.

Stayed: June 2014
4  Thank C8M3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hilo
1.5 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
3.2 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
559 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.7 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
52.4 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay

Address: 333 Iliahi St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-2399
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Hilo
Price Range: £118 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasoned guidance for a wide range of Big Island adventures. Walking distance to downtown Hilo. Clean quiet & reasonable. All rooms with kitchens. Free WiFi Internet available. Rated nicest small hotel in Hilo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dolphin Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hilo, Hawaii
Dolphin Bay Hotel Hilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing