We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Place was fine, people and service was great!”

Hilo Airport Hostel : Pineapple Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hilo Airport Hostel : Pineapple Park
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Place was fine, people and service was great!”
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Stayed here for a week while on the Big Island. Mark, the attendant, was as helpful and friendly as can be. He and some other guests helped me plan the whole trip and they had fantastic selections. Location could be better, but most of the time you will be driving to different locations around the area anyways, so I never really found it to be an issue.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mango1816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
2
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Yes, this hotel was pretty clean, had an available kitchen and living room space but it was empty. I saw no guests. It was a bit depressing and weird for us to be the only ones. The one man on staff was fine. The location was ok. I probably wouldn't stay there again...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hobbesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kealakekua, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

cars, planes, dogs barking, etc...what a waste of money. hilo bay hostel is way better and no so crappy feeling, its very industrial at hilo airport hostel..im not happy i chose it, my wife is mad at me ruined our vacation

Room Tip: pick hilo bay hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hilo hotels

Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I just finished a visit at this hostel for the first 2 weeks of a 6 week visit to the Big Island. Annie and her staff are really great. Feel like family now. I loved staying there and how helpful they all were every time I needed directions, help or assistance for what to see and how to get around. Facilities are very clean and comfy, everything I needed. Lots of hot water : ) As a single woman traveling, I felt very safe. Especially with her little dog Lilly on the watch! LOL I plan on staying again when I go back to the Kona side. I really DO recommend a car. The bus stops right out front and runs the Kona Alii drive road, but car makes seeing the sights much easier. She provides pick up and drop off for a much cheaper fee than a taxi - take her up on it!

Room Tip: I stayed in the front smaller bunk room and it felt very private, quiet, and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

There's not much to say about this hostel (or it's sister Hostel in Kona). It was a standard hostel in most respects (common kitchen stacked with everything you need, good location, pretty standard rooms.

The manager, Scott, was really great, friendly, and helpful when we needed directions and suggestions. Funny too.

It was clean, there weren't crazy rude people like some have written, and overall it was a standard visit with no problems.

The nearby farmer's markets were wonderful and excellent for stocking up on amazing food.

The Pineapple Park Hostels (Kona and this one) do charge, however, and additional fee which was not on our reservation. When I asked, they said it was a tax of some sort. Not sure what that was about since other hostels booked through the same company didn't have that.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepparton, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I got to stay at both hostels on the hilo side and kona and i really enjoyed my stay at both hostels. I got to know the manager at the time scott and he is a very helpfull, nice and friendly. I found both hostels to be very tidy and clean and the long term stay people were very nice and they made me feel very welcome. I met the owner annie and got along with her very well, she made my stay a great one and treated me very kindly. We had great conversations and many laughs together. If your a down to earth person you will love annie. She keeps her hostel very clean and organized, all she asks in return is for your respect and understanding of her buisness, which is very easy to do. Over all i have nothing to complain about, as i enjoyed my stay at both hostels. I would stay again :) Cheers.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Jeez- what can I say that will be a positive? Not much.

The place was a filthy, nasty, drunken, potsmokers paradise. A young man "managing", nightly pokerfests complete with plenty of booze, language and disregard for the guest. We originally book 4 nights but could not stomach more than 2. When asked for refund to relocate....the owner(?) Ann became hostile and aggressive. Being told to get the [...] out in front of our small children was delightful. We were "to picky, trying to steal her things(?) and not welcome any longer." Enter the husband.....nasty, drunk and agressive, in the company of some older Madcow person.........delightful if you are looking for that type of entertainment. Our possessions were THROWN out into the street. Police took report but civil suit is only recourse....not worth the effort. A very BAD lesson learned.

We have since looked into this business. They actually own three...some positive reviews but overall the rating are poor and wesuggesst other options. Hostelworkd.com removed their listing after numerous complaints but they managed to relist under a diffrent name.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank countingsheeptoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hilo hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
0.8 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
1.8 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
515 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.6 mi away
Hilo Bay Hostel
Hilo Bay Hostel
#4 of 9 in Hilo
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilo Airport Hostel : Pineapple Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilo Airport Hostel : Pineapple Park

Property: Hilo Airport Hostel : Pineapple Park
Address: 860 Piilani St, Hilo, Island of Hawaii, HI 96720-4621
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Hilo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Hilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilo Airport Hostel is a Hostel that is everything a hostel should be and better. We have Free airport pickup and take away also free shuttle to markets and local grocery stores. We also rent kayaks for the day. We also have bicycles to rent. A basic breakfast is available like fruit coffee. The establishment is clean, comfortable and always here to direct the travelers to site seeing trips or just basic directions to and from a specific location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hilo Airport Hostel : Pineapple Park Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing