We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bed and Breakfast, ever!”
Review of Holualoa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holualoa Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2012

My husband and I along with my dad stayed at Holualoa Inn Thanksgiving week and we had a wonderful stay. Kat, Noelani, Brian and staff were great. My dad loved Chef Brian. Breakfast was good and rooms were lovely, comfortable and clean. The Inn is peaceful and gorgeous with fantastic views. The property is amazing with tropical gardens, Kona coffee plants, fruit and avocado trees and even cute chickens enclosed in a nice area behind inn. You will love Holualoa Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocdclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Mahalo nui loa for such a complimentary review. To be called the “Best Bed and Breakfast, ever!” is such an honor and makes us so proud. I am so glad that you finally made it to Holualoa Inn. We’re excited to know we helped make your Thanksgiving visit with your husband and father a special and wonderful time. Kat and Chef Brian love to share the "Aloha Spirit". Please come back and visit us again soon! Mahalo and Aloha, Noelani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2012

The Holualoa Inn - is a truly wonderful place to stay. We stayed there for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon and wished we staying on for longer. As soon as you get there you know you're going to be happy.

On arrival we were met by Kat and given the nicest welcome ever. Fresh Guava juice a cool face towel after the long drive and then a tour of the property. You're made to feel incredibly welcome from the moment you arrive and pop your shoes off (hawaii style) and you'll have that feeling each time you get back there after a day out exploring.

Either before or after breakfast the pool was a nice way to wake up a bit - a bit parky but hey it's good to cool off! Talking about breakfast - WOW. Brian the chef - well you've probably read the other countless reviews that all say how good the place is and mention the lovely staff and how amazing Brians food is - but seriously - it's like a breakfast for royalty. Not only a great chef but he's also a really nice bloke too.

The room itself was perfect. We stayed in the Orchid room. Super comfy bed, amazing sheets a beautiful view out on to the garden and beyond to the coast. And some really nice extra little touches too.

Theres always coffee throughout the day and little cakes put out in the afternoon for the guests to tuck into whenever you like. The grounds themselves are lovley too and well worth a little wander through.

We found the other guests really nice friendly folk too. Might be weird to review the other people who go there but I think it tells something about the place.

Late evening after getting back to the house, we made the most of the roof terrace and loungers and spent a couple of lazy evenings up there after dinner with a bottle of wine and views over the coast. Great place to sit and relax and take it all in.

Overall, the staff go out of their way to make your stay the most relaxing stay you can have. The house is beautiful, as are the rooms. If you're going to Big Island do yourself a favour and book in here - you'll have no regrets, except leaving.

Room Tip: We stayed in the orchid room - but i don't think you'd go wrong with any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

We love to share our Aloha Spirit and create special memories for our guests, especially those on their honeymoons. Knowing you traveled all the way from London to Kona to stay with us is incredible. Your kind and thoughtful review highlights many of the characteristics that make the Inn so unique. We are thrilled to know you had a “Wonderful!” experience. Kat and Chef Brian are the best and all our guests love them. The Inn’s 30 acres, filled with a variety of fruit trees, over 5,100 coffee trees, and a refreshing swimming pool make for exciting adventures as you wonder around and explore its natural beauty. Enjoying the sunsets on the rooftop lanai with your favorite beverage is a special treat. We hope you return “home” for your 1st anniversary! Mahalo and Aloha, Noelani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Our second visit and as excellent as ever. Three nights in the Gardenia Suite.

This visit we also took the private dinner option. Chef Brian offers you in advance choices for appetizers and entrees. He also sources the wine for dinner. Brian's attention to detail and absolute fastidiousness in sourcing the highest quality local produce made the meal additionally special. He is an immensley talented chef and a very nice guy. And... he will cook any dessert you wish to nominate.

Highly recomended as an additional treat for one night when you stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney_Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

We’re thrilled you enjoyed your “Private Dining” experience. It’s a special and memorable event for all guests when Chef Brian prepares his magical dinners. He loves to create a wonderful ambiance and pamper the guests with attentive service and fun conversation. Kat used her pastry skills to make the pineapple upside down cake you selected for dessert. We look forward to providing you with another “excellent” experience on your next trip. Mahalo nui loa, Noelani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

We were two couples and selected this Inn from a Lonely Planet recommendation. We could not have been more pleased! The setting is beautiful, the interior decor tasteful and interesting. The staff surely was composed of more but we only met three and they were very accommodating and aside from breakfast time we felt like the whole place was exclusively ours (this was reinforced by the staff telling us it was OUR house). The chef was very skilled and creative with his breakfast creations as well as being fun! We highly recommend this Inn. It wasn't cheap but proved the adage "You get what you pay for"

Room Tip: All of the rooms are very nice but be sure to use the rooftop gazebo after dark. Great view and wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eaposte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2011

Mahalo for staying with us and writing a “Real Quality” review. We want our guests to feel like the Inn is their “home away from home.” Chef Brian is very talented, entertaining, and a favorite with the guests. We agree the rooftop gazebo has a “great view and wonderful place for a nightcap.” It also is the prime location to watch amazing Kona sunsets or to sip our wonderful Kona coffee in the morning. We look forward to hosting you again on many future visits! Mahalo and Aloha, Noelani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Our five night stay at the Holualoa Inn made our vacation to Big Island. We could not have imagined that the house could have been so beautiful and well-maintained. The pictures do not do it justice.

But more than that, the people of Holualoa Inn - Chris, Catherine, Brian and, most especially, Noe - went out of their way time and time again to make sure we were well-cared for.

Staying at Holualoa Inn felt like the ultimate in luxury without ever stepping over the line to invasiveness, intrusiveness or being over the top.

Our room was lovely with an insanely comfy bed and a great shower. We had endless supplies of beach towels, PM snacks and anything we needed at any time.

Did we bring jackets for the summit of Mauna Kea? No - but Noe and Chris lent us theirs. Our plane didn't leave until 730 pm, and Noe made sure we had use of the late departure room so we didn't lose a minute of our last day in paradise.

Laundry on the premises, tons of private indoor and outdoor space and the amazing food - sumptious breakfasts that leave you stuffed and delectable afternoon cookies - made this Inn a highlight of our stay.

We will absolutely return and recommend this place to our friends.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeRabinowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Aloha my friends! Wow.. “Amazing hospitality in a beautiful setting.” Thank you so much for your generous compliments. Ho’okipa is the Hawaiian word for hospitality. Our goal is to provide genuine ho’okipa and make our guests comfortable at their “home away from home.” Your words that mean the most are “we will absolutely return and recommend this place to our friends.” We look forward to your return “home” soon... and who knows I may need to borrow a jacket when I come to your home town! Happy Holidays, Noe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed here for three nights during our honeymoon and enjoyed it very much! The staff is incredibly accommodating and the property is breathtaking. A wonderful experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Plumeria suite, don't leave without at least looking into purchasing their amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CristaandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Aloha Crista & Tom! Mahalo for your kind words. We’re thrilled to know that we provided you with a wonderful experience. Our incredible sheets are a big hit with our guests and we are glad you will enjoy them back home. We liked reading your review about Jackie Rey’s Ohana Grill and know the owners Angie and Paul will be happy with your compliments. Please come back “home” to Kona soon! Mahalo nui loa, Noelani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Like many gushing reviewers note, Holualoa Inn is a unique property. In a recession climate, however, this inn might not be the best use of your travel dollars. This B&B seems to depend on tips - to this end, your bill at the end even includes your, ahem, "expected" contribution to the staff's salaries. Nothing illegal or immoral with this, but you should know this upfront, so that you are not surprised on the last day and blow your budget. Feel free to ignore the pressure to tip. Sorry to be such a Debby Downer, but one other issue about Holualoa Inn puzzles me. Why are so many of their reviews written by people with only 1-2 TOTAL reviews on TripAdvisor? Really? Personally, if I read a 5-star extravagant review and the author has ONLY written that review or 1 other, it makes me suspicious. Just saying.......
Happy trails to all, but get your money's worth!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank teton-view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Inn and the team of people who care for it. We are grateful that you gave us the opportunity to serve you recently. Regarding gratuities, many guests have asked us "what is your policy?" In an effort to assist guests, our departure folio reads: “While gratuities are not required, they are greatly appreciated…”

Many people rely on your experience and the experience of other travelers to help them determine where they will stay; therefore, reviews have become a vital part of planning a successful vacation. Words alone cannot express how thankful we are for the 100 + awesome reviews we have received over the years. I agree with you that our future guests should read other reviews from the contributor to gain a full perspective.

It is our sincere desire to provide our guests with an exceptional experience at Holualoa Inn. Mahalo for your contribution and best wishes from us all. Aloha, Noelani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
3.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
27.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
14.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
4.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
21.6 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holualoa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holualoa Inn

Address: 76-5932 Mamalahoa Hwy, PO Box 222, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-9762
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range: £322 - £473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holualoa Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance with Polynesian luxury... Spectacular Pacific Ocean views, 30 lush acres of well-tended tropical fruit and flower gardens, 5100 Kona Coffee trees, custom-tiled mosaic pool, exquisite inn guest rooms, cottage, covered open-air pavilion, exceptional service, rooftop, pool and garden gazebos and an abundance of Aloha Spirit all wrapped into our Kona bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Holualoa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holualoa Hotel Holualoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing