We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop looking and book now...you won't regret it!”
Review of Holualoa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holualoa Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stop looking and book now...you won't regret it!”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

My husband and I just returned from the Big Island and we can't stop talking about our experience at The Holualoa Inn. The pictures don't do it justice...it is more beautiful in person. And then there's the amazing team that delivers nothing but above and beyond, top-notch service. Don't get me wrong...this is not a "stuffy" place. Quite the contrary. The Inn and surroundings are authentic and the staff is genuine. It is perfectly situated on a coffee plantation overlooking the water and Kailua-Kona, it is convenient to beaches and town and is within walking distance to one of the best restaurants on the Island. But you will also want to carve out some down time to just enjoy this beautiful place. It's simply amazing!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holualoa Inn O, The Turtle Team at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Mahalo for your wonderful review. We are delighted to know you had a beautiful experience at the Inn. Our Team was excited to read, “And then there's the amazing team that delivers nothing but above and beyond, top-notch service.” We look forward to your return “home” soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    18
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
222
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

This was our third (now yearly) visit. They just keep getting better. This year we chose to renew our vows and Kat arranged all the details for a ceremony that would be special and customized to us. It was a truly perfect celebration. Of course, the inn's sense of privacy, over-the-top food (special thanks to Chef Brian) and complete attention to detail will keep us coming back. I honestly believe that you can't do any better anywhere in Hawaii.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank grabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandSerenity, Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
We are thrilled to know your vow renewal was special and unique! Kat and Chef Brian exude the real “Aloha Spirit” and were so happy to provide you with an incredible experience. When you wrote, ”I honestly believe that you can't do any better anywhere in Hawaii,” you brought smiles to our souls. We miss you and hope you come back “home” soon! Mahalo nui loa, Noelani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This B&B is a little off the beaten track, it is situated off a main road through a small town. But it is beautifully situated - high up the mountainside it has a wonderful view of the ocean and coastline. The Holualoa Inn is an open, inviting sprawling wooden plantation style building. It is richly furnished with lovely wooden antiques, paintings and statues. It has quite a few common areas - the foyer, the living room, a rooftop look out, and downstairs by the outdoor pool is a recreational room if you want to do some cooking (including a bbq), watch a movie or play boardgames. The grounds contain beautiful gardens as well as fruit trees and coffee plants. The staff are friendly, helpful and knowledgable. If you want to go snorkelling or just lie on the beach - they have masks, snorkels, fins, towels, etc to borrow. Fantastic! The breakfasts are freshly made with local produce including fruits from their own garden. In the afternoon and evenings a table is laid out with snacks in the living room; fruit juice, mixed nuts, cookies, dried fruit, etc. There are six guest rooms, each with their own theme and scattered around the building so there is some privacy. The rooms are clean, the bathrooms up to date with excellent shower stalls, and the beds very comfortable. We stayed in the Ginger room, one of two on the upper floor. I recommend this as a beautiful, romantic and serene get away.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra of Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
WOW!!! Your choice of words and how they describe the Inn reads like an outline for a wonderful video. We’re thrilled to know you gave the snorkel gear a “Fantastic!” rating. As a Senior Contributor to TripAdvisor we know you have seen many incredible places. It is an honor for us to read, “I recommend this as a beautiful, romantic and serene get away.” We hope you come back
“home” soon !!! Mahalo Nui Loa, Noelani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Staying at the Holualoa Inn is a delightful way to get to know the history of Hawaii. The property was formerly owned by one of the first missionary families who settled in the Islands.Located on a coffee plantation high above the town of Kona you will actually see the steeple of the first church in the Islands that was built by the family and experience living near a small former plantation- workers town still maintaining a post office, inn and general store in addition to various art galleries and a very good restaurant where you can dine outdoors in the garden. All are in walking distance through the gardens and paths of the Inn.
The Inn is the essence of peace and zen like beauty. All the rooms are elegantly decorated with Polynesian and Asian antiques and objects. All with beautiful private bath rooms.
The very best part of your stay will be the best breakfast on the planet waiting for you each morning with Chef Brian using home grown fruits and local ingredients to put you in the mood for various adventures that are awaiting you. Or you can relax by the pool with a good book and let the gracious staff pamper you. The view of the island and the ocean is fantastic from there.
A generous tea is served in the afternoon with Brian's home made cookies and other snacks.
What am I doing here when I could be there!!
terry and michael from NYC

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tgoldman60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Mahalo for your amazing words which create a wonderful visual pictorial of everything the Inn has to offer. It truly is a historic and magical place. Our 30 acres and over 5,100 coffee trees are fun to explore. Chef Brian and the rest of staff are thrilled to know you had a great time. When you need a break from New York, please come back “home” for another “Immersion in Hawaiian History.” We look forward to greeting you with our warm aloha, a glass of fresh fruit juice and a refreshing cool hand towel. Get ready to be “pampered.” Mahalo nui loa, Noelani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I procrastinated writing this review because I was concerned that my writing skills would not do the place justice. I’m long overdue. I know, I know, it sounds corny, but I have to say it: It's a piece of paradise.

This Inn is situated on a fruit plantation. When you exit off the main road and drive through the plantation, the scenery is so lavish and plush with foliage that it feels like you have warped to a different time. My son's exact words as we were driving through the oasis: “Mommy, I’m scared. Where did we go? “ We had never seen anything so beautiful. Arriving at the Inn, or better described as ‘the house that Zen built’, I knew that we would now be forever spoiled.

The rooms are spa like and immaculate – high end, but not arrogant. The ambiance is welcoming and peaceful. The views and grounds – SPECTACULAR. We are dedicated travelers, and frankly a bit finicky. This place knocked our socks off.

Last note: The breakfast was the best meal of our entire trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Tx_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Mahalo for your thoughtful and descriptive words. We loved the part where your son says, “Mommy, I’m scared. Where did we go?” Coming down the Inn’s driveway does “feel like you have warped to a different time.” We like to think of it as entering “the relaxation zone.” To hear you say “the breakfast was the best meal of our entire trip,” makes Chef Brian smile from ear to ear! Please come back “home” to your “Piece of Paradise” soon. Mahalo Nui Loa, Noelani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My wife and I have enjoyed the Inn on several occasions in the past but it had been nearly 5 years since our last visit (much too long to be away). Although recent reviews had been flattering, we were a bit apprehensive that the Inn would be as wonderful as we had remembered. Our fears were unfounded as the Inn still has that special Polynesian ambiance of an old Hawaiian plantation. The owner, Cassandra Kazen, has maintained the special Hawaiian environment and has updated with impeccable furnishings and décor. Also, she continues to enhance the grounds and gardens, creating a wonderful environment for strolling through the property viewing the tropical plants, fruit trees and coffee plants.

The staff was gracious and accommodating, as always, while maintaining an unobtrusive approach. Noelani, Brian, Kat and Chris, besides their normal duties, are each fantastic concierges; Always helpful and eager to make us feel welcome. Brian, the Chef, created a very special breakfast each morning, with my favorite being the stuffed Hawaiian toast. On our next visit I hope to take advantage of his “dinner for two” offering.

Breakfast is a special time that offers an opportunity to converse with the other guests staying at the Inn. I have always found the other guests to be very engaging and typically well traveled.

On this visit we had dinner at the nearby Holuakoa Restaurant which is a short walk from the Inn. What a great find as the dinner was probably the best we had experienced on this trip. Holuakoa is a definite repeat for our next stay at the Holualoa Inn.

The Holualoa Inn is a place to rejuvenate the soul!

Room Tip: We love the Gardenia Suite because it has great coastline views as well as garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank First_Town_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
It’s amazing how the Inn has grown and blossomed in the last 5 years. Our owner Cassandra Hazen, has a vision for how she wants the 30 acres to look and feel. She will be happy to know you think it is “Paradise Revisited.”

Chef Brian’s breakfasts and especially his “dinner for two” are such special treats. We loved your comment, “The Holualoa Inn is a place to rejuvenate the soul!” Please come back “home” to rejuvenate soon! Mahalo Nui Loa, Noelani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

A completely amazing B&B ... my husband and I were sad to leave! Breakfast was amazing, with fruit grown on the grounds. If you stay here, definitely try to guava juice at breakfast. The beds were incredibly comfy. There also is a rooftop "crow's nest" with lounge chairs that is perfect for watching the sun set with a bottle of wine or cup of Kona coffee. The grounds are gorgeous and the house is beautifully decorated. The staff members were incredibly friendly and helpful. The only downsides are that it's kind of expensive and not that close to the beach. However, after spending our days on the water snorkeling, swimming, exploring, my husband and I enjoyed heading back up into the cool hills above Kona each night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaDR2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IslandSerenity, General Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Mahalo for your wonderful review! We agree the Inn is “a completely amazing B&B.” You provided excellent tips to guests about what to do at the Inn and in Kona. Breakfast with Chef Brian, a day at the beach and then back to the Inn. No wonder you “didn’t want to leave!” Please come back “home” soon. Mahalo nui loa, Noelani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
27.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
28.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
14.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
23.7 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holualoa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holualoa Inn

Property: Holualoa Inn
Address: 76-5932 Mamalahoa Hwy, PO Box 222, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-9762
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holualoa Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance with Polynesian luxury... Spectacular Pacific Ocean views, 30 lush acres of well-tended tropical fruit and flower gardens, 5100 Kona Coffee trees, custom-tiled mosaic pool, exquisite inn guest rooms, cottage, covered open-air pavilion, exceptional service, rooftop, pool and garden gazebos and an abundance of Aloha Spirit all wrapped into our Kona bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holualoa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holualoa Hotel Holualoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing