We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holualoa Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
US$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$161
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$314
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manago Hotel(Captain Cook)(Great Value!)
US$82
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,514
US$1,256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort(Kailua-Kona)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village(Kailua-Kona)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
294
18
9
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
18
9
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgardenia suitecoffee plantationb bthe big islandworks of artsitting roomkona coastprivate residencecommon areasprivate hot tubother guestsfruit treesour honeymoonprivate homeeach morningginger roomguest laundry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
165 - 170 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed in the Coffee Cherry Room at the Holualoa Inn for 4 nights in February 2013. it was a beautiful room with private hot tub. Staff were so friendly and helpful, we loved sharing the wonderful breakfasts with the other guests and of course the Inn's own estate Kona coffee. The home baked afternoon teas were a real treat to come back to after a days exploring. The Inn's provides all the beach equipment you need so we grabbed masks, fins and snorkels and headed down to Refuge Bay recommended by the staff. The snorkeling there was very good and we even got to swim with a pod of Spinner Dolphins that came over to investigate. We shall be returning to stay at Holualoa Inn again when we return to the Big Island of Hawaii. In the meantime we are enjoying their estate Kona Coffee at home which tastes even more amazing using our expresso coffee machine. Mahalo to all the staff for making our stay so memorable and special, hope to see you again soon.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BensonSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Swimming with a pod of Spinner Dolphins, relaxing in your private hot tub, eating delicious breakfasts & afternoon treats, and enjoying our amazing 100% Kona Coffee – WOW – it sounds like you had an incredible trip !!! We look forward to your return “home” soon, so we can spoil you some more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

From the tasteful yet beautiful decor to the gentle, generous hospitality, this inn is superlative. We were greeted with fresh lemonade made with lemons from trees on the grounds, then shown to our room, which had easy access to a rooftop gazebo with comfortable chaises and a view of the bay. Breakfast was a delicious two-course affair, again with fruit and juices from the trees on the grounds, and coffee made with the inn's own beans. The pool is unheated, but lovely and clean--the perfect dip on a warm day. The views are terrific, even when it's overcast. There's a kitchen if you want to keep snacks, a barbecue if you want to grill, a laundry for when your clothes get grungy, and coffee any time you want it. Everything is you need is here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Orchid Room, which has its own balcony plus access to the rooftop gazebo.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anisoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

When a “Senior Contributor” writes such a wonderful review it makes us so happy!!! As a seasoned traveler with over 45 reviews, we know your words speak volumes. We’re thrilled to know you enjoyed all the Inn has to offer. We agree, “Doesn’t get better than this!” and “Everything you need is here!” says it all. Hope to see you back “home” again soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

we found the Holualoa Inn on tripadvisor, and booked it based on the great reviews and the "coffee estate" aspect (we're major coffee hounds)....we absolutely fell in love with the staff and property. great little touches, like greeting us with cool towels and fresh juice. we felt like geniuses for staying in Holualoa versus a hotel in Kona. the view was SPECTACULAR and it only took a few minutes to get into town. definitely book a massage, it was a highlight. and look forward to amazing breakfasts (some of the freshest and most interesting meals of our whole trip). and the coffee was to die for! it was exactly the beautiful and romantic getaway we were hoping for and if we ever make our way back to the Big Island, we will stay at Holualoa Inn the entire time!

Room Tip: coffee cherry room has exclusive access to the hot tub
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Mahalo for your wonderful words of “Even better than expected.” With over 5,100 coffee trees on our 30 acres, we have some of the best tasting Kona coffee around. At our 1,400 ft. elevation, the coffee trees love the weather and our incredible view of Kona. We agree, experiencing relaxing massages in the Hale Luana massage pavilion is an amazing treat. The Coffee Cherry room with the outside hot tub is a favorite of our guests. We look forward to hosting you again for your next “beautiful and romantic getaway!”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We recently stayed at the Holualoa Inn for 2 nights after having been elsewhere on the island for a week. I was impressed by the grounds as we arrived and the common areas of the Inn were lovely. The room we stayed in was clean and the sheets were divine, but it was average otherwise. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and the staff did a nice job welcoming everyone and making introductions. In our room, I could easily hear neighbors moving around their room, but I felt that was to be expected. I did not expect however, to hear roosters at 4:30 a.m. There were ear plugs in the bathroom but it had not occurred to me they were there for a good reason. Another guest commented on the roosters as well, so it wasn't just a bad dream. My greatest disappointment was at checkout when I was asked if I had completed the Invoice left in our room. I hadn't, so I went back to the room to get it and was horrified to see suggested gratuity amounts of 10, 15 or 20%. At $400/night, our minimum suggested tip was $80--up to $160. Really? I am a good tipper, but we were there for 2 nights and had 2 meals there. We parked our own car and carried our own bags, so I felt the suggested amounts were not reasonable and the way it was handled made me terribly uncomfortable; and I didn't appreciate feeling that way on vacation. There were a few other pros and cons, but all-in-all reflecting on our time there, it felt like staying with a wealthy family member--the thing you have to decide is if you want to spend your vacation with your family, or if you go on vacation to get away from them. :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank debbie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

Mahalo for your feedback, we view all feedback as a gift. We are happy for the most part that you enjoyed your visit with us. We apologize for your feeling uncomfortable in any way. Perhaps there was a misunderstanding in that you were asked to fill out our “Guest Comment” form, not the invoice. For this reason we will be changing our policy and no longer be asking our guests to fill out the “Comment” form and will leave that to their discretion. In regards to the gratuity formula on the invoice which states, (“Many of our guests have asked about our tipping policy. While gratuities are not required, they are greatly appreciated and are distributed among the staff. The following gratuity guideline is meant to assist you. Mahalo!”). The formula on the bottom is meant to be a helpful guideline as many of our guests have asked what is customary. Our goal is always to make our guests feel comfortable and enjoy their visit at the Inn, and again we apologize for any misunderstandings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

just to keep the place a secret because it is really that good. Lovely grounds, great view, comfortable and well appointed rooms. A welcome relief for the beach/hotel ghetto of every Hawaiian island. I do not have one complaint. I am going back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cest243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

We love your sense of humor! Many of our guests feel exactly the same way. When we say we hope to see you again soon and please be sure to tell your family and friends about us they reply, “No way, we want to the keep the Inn a special place just for us.” We promise to keep the Inn a special and memorable experience for all of our guests. See you back “home” soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews