We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect retreat near the Kona coast”
Review of Holualoa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holualoa Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I loved staying here. How often do you get to stay in a first-class inn on a working coffee plantation? The house is a true Hawaiian home that is as stunning as it is relaxing. Hawaiian and Indonesian-inspired decoration constantly reminded me that I was on vacation far away, and the staff is super chill and friendly. I loved taking in views of the Kona coast while eating freshly-made breakfast every morning. My favorite dish was the lilikoi stuffed French toast with lilikoi syrup. There's really nothing like it. Worth every cent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Our 5,100 coffee trees do produce a delicious cup of 100% Estate Kona Coffee. The Hawaiian/French toast is made with locally baked Punalu’u Sweetbread and our homemade lilikoi cream cheese. Top it off with toasted macadamia nuts & coconut, our incredible lilikoi syrup, and you’ll experience one amazing breakfast! We look forward to your return “home” soon. Mahalo for your wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

We divided our trip to the Big Island in two parts: 4 nights in the Kona area, 4 nights in Hilo and Volcano and 7 more nights back in Kona. We are glad that we spent all 11 Kona nights in the Holualoa Inn. The place is absolutely lovely, surrounded by beautiful vegetation and coffee plants (we enjoyed the blossom of the coffee flowers and everything smelled just great), spotlessly clean and with an amazing view of the Kona coast. Staff is very helpful and friendly, they make you feel at home!
I especially enjoyed the breakfast together with the other guests where we had the chance to exchange information on what to do on the island. The breakfast was delicious and the mild Kona coffee was the perfect start of the day.
To go to Kona town you have to drive about 15 minutes down the road, which is no problem at all. If you want to eat within walking distance from the inn, there is a very good place called Holuakoa Café.
When we left we filled out the feedback form and to my pleasant surprise some weeks later I received a letter from Holualoa Inn thanking us for the feedback and commenting on it, which shows how much they appreciate and care for the guests and the inn.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sleser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

As a Senior Contributor we know you have stayed many places and we really appreciate your kind words. We always appreciate our guests’ feedback and do our best to implement any suggestions they may have. It was a treat for us to host you for 11 nights and we’re happy to know we “made you feel at home!” especially since you traveled half-way around the world to stay with us !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed at the Holualoa Inn in April 2012. I would say it is the most amazing experience we've had at a bed and breakfast. The staff are wonderful, the food is unbelievable, and they cater to your every need. The rooms are fabulous, the pool is gorgeous, and you feel on top of the world. I am not sure I've ever had better breakfast anywhere. It is a peaceful, zen experience and truly somewhere you will not regret staying. If I could have brought Brian and his chef skills back with me, I would have done so! If you are searching for a relaxing, romantic place to stay, I wholeheartedly recommend the Holualoa Inn!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lwerosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

We are excited to know your wonderful memories of the Inn and all that it offers are still so vivid and amazing one year later. We appreciate your kind words and want you to know the Inn is still “a peaceful, zen experience” and “a beautiful oasis!” In the last year we’ve built another incredible addition to the Inn, the Malulani Pavilion. Located on the great lawn, the pavilion is home to many special events, from weddings to art auctions. We hope you come back “home” soon for more relaxation and romance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed at Holualoa for the first three night of our honeymoon. We honestly questioned whether it was going to be too far away from the action. As it turns out, we were really thankful by the end of our trip that we had been able to spend some time away from it. While you definitely have to drive to get just about anywhere, we didn't mind. We used it as a home base for our explorations. The only thing we really missed was having a variety of dining options to choose from. We found ourselves struggling daily to find a great spot for dinner.
We booked the Ginger Room and loved every second of it. We'd heard mixed reviews of the roosters and frogs chirping, but I have to say it was rather relaxing. We loved walking the grounds and exploring the inn. If only it had been warm enough for a dip in that cold pool!!
The staff was great and breakfast was delicious. My husband LOVED trying the local fruits and still talks about that cherimoya.
We, too, found the suggested tip portion of the bill to be awkward, but it certainly wouldn't deter us from returning. Those sheets are reason enough to return!!

Room Tip: Booking a room with 'ocean view' isn't really necessary since you're so far away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Mahalo for choosing the Holualoa Inn. Located in the heart of the Kona Coffee growing region at 1,400 feet elevation, we are “above it all.” Our location offers spectacular ocean views. One of the best restaurants around, Holuakoa Gardens and Café is only a 5-minute walk from the Inn. Our Comphy sheets are so incredibly popular many of our guests order a set to sleep on at home. We look forward to serving you more delicious fresh fruit from the property when you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed in the Coffee Cherry Room at the Holualoa Inn for 4 nights in February 2013. it was a beautiful room with private hot tub. Staff were so friendly and helpful, we loved sharing the wonderful breakfasts with the other guests and of course the Inn's own estate Kona coffee. The home baked afternoon teas were a real treat to come back to after a days exploring. The Inn's provides all the beach equipment you need so we grabbed masks, fins and snorkels and headed down to Refuge Bay recommended by the staff. The snorkeling there was very good and we even got to swim with a pod of Spinner Dolphins that came over to investigate. We shall be returning to stay at Holualoa Inn again when we return to the Big Island of Hawaii. In the meantime we are enjoying their estate Kona Coffee at home which tastes even more amazing using our expresso coffee machine. Mahalo to all the staff for making our stay so memorable and special, hope to see you again soon.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BensonSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Swimming with a pod of Spinner Dolphins, relaxing in your private hot tub, eating delicious breakfasts & afternoon treats, and enjoying our amazing 100% Kona Coffee – WOW – it sounds like you had an incredible trip !!! We look forward to your return “home” soon, so we can spoil you some more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

From the tasteful yet beautiful decor to the gentle, generous hospitality, this inn is superlative. We were greeted with fresh lemonade made with lemons from trees on the grounds, then shown to our room, which had easy access to a rooftop gazebo with comfortable chaises and a view of the bay. Breakfast was a delicious two-course affair, again with fruit and juices from the trees on the grounds, and coffee made with the inn's own beans. The pool is unheated, but lovely and clean--the perfect dip on a warm day. The views are terrific, even when it's overcast. There's a kitchen if you want to keep snacks, a barbecue if you want to grill, a laundry for when your clothes get grungy, and coffee any time you want it. Everything is you need is here!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Orchid Room, which has its own balcony plus access to the rooftop gazebo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anisoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

When a “Senior Contributor” writes such a wonderful review it makes us so happy!!! As a seasoned traveler with over 45 reviews, we know your words speak volumes. We’re thrilled to know you enjoyed all the Inn has to offer. We agree, “Doesn’t get better than this!” and “Everything you need is here!” says it all. Hope to see you back “home” again soon!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

we found the Holualoa Inn on tripadvisor, and booked it based on the great reviews and the "coffee estate" aspect (we're major coffee hounds)....we absolutely fell in love with the staff and property. great little touches, like greeting us with cool towels and fresh juice. we felt like geniuses for staying in Holualoa versus a hotel in Kona. the view was SPECTACULAR and it only took a few minutes to get into town. definitely book a massage, it was a highlight. and look forward to amazing breakfasts (some of the freshest and most interesting meals of our whole trip). and the coffee was to die for! it was exactly the beautiful and romantic getaway we were hoping for and if we ever make our way back to the Big Island, we will stay at Holualoa Inn the entire time!

Room Tip: coffee cherry room has exclusive access to the hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Mahalo for your wonderful words of “Even better than expected.” With over 5,100 coffee trees on our 30 acres, we have some of the best tasting Kona coffee around. At our 1,400 ft. elevation, the coffee trees love the weather and our incredible view of Kona. We agree, experiencing relaxing massages in the Hale Luana massage pavilion is an amazing treat. The Coffee Cherry room with the outside hot tub is a favorite of our guests. We look forward to hosting you again for your next “beautiful and romantic getaway!”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
27.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
28.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
14.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
23.7 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holualoa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holualoa Inn

Address: 76-5932 Mamalahoa Hwy, PO Box 222, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-9762
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range: £329 - £461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holualoa Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance with Polynesian luxury... Spectacular Pacific Ocean views, 30 lush acres of well-tended tropical fruit and flower gardens, 5100 Kona Coffee trees, custom-tiled mosaic pool, exquisite inn guest rooms, cottage, covered open-air pavilion, exceptional service, rooftop, pool and garden gazebos and an abundance of Aloha Spirit all wrapped into our Kona bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Holualoa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holualoa Hotel Holualoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing