We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The plumeria trees were in bloom....”
Review of Holualoa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holualoa Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
1 review
“The plumeria trees were in bloom....”
Reviewed 24 August 2008

The plumeria trees bordering the Inn and close to the pool were in bloom and the scent of the fragrant blossoms was lovely. This was our second stay at the Inn in two years and we were happy once again to step into the peace and tranquility of this well maintained property. From the breakfast room and outside terraces the panoramic view of the ocean and Kona coastline was stunning. The breakfast menu was thoughtfully prepared and served along with fresh juices and local fruit artfully arranged - in a word it was all "delicious." And in the afternoon there were freshly baked cookies or brownies available for guests to snack on. It was fun to walk around the landscaped property and find pineapples, mango trees, coffee plants, along with a gorgeous variety of flowers. The staff was knowledgeable and willing to help in any way to make our stay pleasant. They even arranged for a seamstress to come to the Inn to alter a dress at the last minute for a wedding we were participating in. A walk up to the top of the driveway leads directly to the main road where we enjoyed the shops and galleries of the town of Holualoa.

  • Liked — The beautiful views, open & airy design, gentle breezes, clean and well-maintained rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    18
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
228
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2008

We had a pleasant stay at the Holualoa Inn as part of our honeymoon. It certainly is very serene and beautifully furnished with many details considered. It is a short, 5 minute walk to the small village centre where you can pick up a few provisions from Paul's Place or browse the several art galleries. There are plenty of spaces for parking should you require it, no valet - hurrah!

One thing worth noting is that you are not allowed to wear shoes on the wooden floors at the property so have to remove them at the entrance. This wasn't a problem for us but isn't to everyones taste. The place has few doors so is very open so when the staff leave at 5pm-6pm each night, you are on your own with the nature! If you like to lock yourself away safely then this may not make you feel too secure. The room itself was gorgeous and very, very clean. We did feel that the sheets felt a little damp at night though but think that was more to do with the atmosphere as the rooms do not have air conditioning.

It is a lovely get-away place but one can feel like it is too perfect that you cannot truly relax, almost like you are intruding. The breakfasts were very nice with a fresh fruit starter and then another course of pancakes etc. There is no choice with the breakfast but they were very nice but not everyone will like what is served, as I didn't one morning.

To echo previous reviews, the final bill contained details of recommended tipping levels and amounts (eg. 10% - 20% of your overall room charge) which we found left a very bad taste in our mouth. We have never experienced this on any of our US trips in the past and found it let the place down. We were aware it was going to happn due to other reviews on this site so felt quite anxious about how we would approach the situation. Others staying there felt the same.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorks_nameless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2008

We stayed at the Holualoa Inn in June '07, for one night (wish it had been more!) to cap our honeymoon. We spent five days at a resort in Maui, then flew into Hilo, rented a car, spent an overnight touring around Volcano, and then drove to Kona and the Holualoa Inn before flying back to the States.

The building itself is lovely. Gorgeous inlaid wood, art, and furniture. We arrived in the middle of a sudden rainstorm, and appreciated the carport for unloading luggage. We stayed in the Gardenia Suite. Loved the exceptionally comfy bed, closets, very plush towels, bathroom, and view from the sitting area.

We walked up the driveway in the afternoon and found champagne at the liquor store just up the street. Stored it in the communal fridge downstairs, and then enjoyed it in pretty flutes in rocking chairs on one of the balconies at sunset. We used the hot tub, and my husband enjoyed the lovely pool (too cold for me!). The grounds were spectacular and it was fun to see so many things growing (I'd never seen a coffee plant!). We wrapped up the evening with a puzzle that we borrowed from downstairs. A wonderful night.

We were amazed to show up to breakfast and realize that there were 5 other couples staying there! We arrived at the same time as one other couple, but didn't see them for the rest of the evening and just assumed that the place was empty. Breakfast was spectacular. We were the first to arrive and last to leave. It was exceptionally hard to pack up and head to the airport -- we really wished that we'd alloted a second night. The entire experience was beautiful, detailed, comforting, peaceful and rainy-side-of-the-island atmospheric. Hopefully we'll manage to come back -- such a memorable, wonderful experience.


ps. Phoning Hawaii from a cell phone in the continental US counts as a national call -- I was concerned, but it ended up being just fine with Verizon. :-) Amazing, since it's so far away!

  • Liked — The most luxurious place I've visited, privacy, loveliness
  • Disliked — No downsides -- wish we'd stayed longer.
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slw71881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2008

In the August 2006 "member list" for the Hawaii Island B & B Association, the Holualoa Inn room rates were listed as $175-$225. I have no idea what value has been added to this property in 20 months. But in evaluating your different lodging options, bear in mind that this B & B gives you a bill at the end of your stay that makes it awkward to not tip. The invoice suggests tips (with actual amts in case you can't do the math ) ranging from 10% to 20%. We struggled with this - the staff was delightful, likable and helpful - but we weren't sure that we had received service above and beyond the usual expectations of a premium B & B. We saw another couple also experiencing angst over the tipping dilemma.

Honestly, the situation left me with a sour taste. Personally I felt like I did not get value for my money. While it is not Holualoa Inn's fault that I did not use the lovely pool, nor the romantic hot tub or that I didn't appreciate the caloric bombs for b'fast - still, my lasting impression is "wow, we spent too much money at this B & B."

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank AtlantaJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaiiinn, Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2008
We get many international travelers. The Hawaiian islands are the most remote islands in the world. Many of our guests asked about tipping and how they could leave a tip for all of the staff, so we felt it necessary to include a statement about tipping on the invoice, it reads, “Gratuities are not required or expected by staff. If, however you are inclined to leave a gratuity, our staff graciously accepts and appreciates your generosity. The gratuities are distributed among the innkeepers.”

Stay awhile and give yourself a chance to take advantage of our services, dinner reservations, activity reservations and recommendations, the pool, the romantic hot tub, the beautiful rooftop gazebo, in-room massages, and the many relaxing packages we have to offer. Make time to indulge in the many amenities and services we have made available for you. When you visit the big island stay awhile, we offer extended stay discounts so that you can take the time to soak in island aloha and the spirit of Holualoa Inn.
Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2008

We just came home from spending a wonderful 3 days at the Holualoa Inn and I couldn't recommend a better place to stay. It was our 30th anniversary and it was a memorable place for a memorable occasion. Because there are few walls in the common spaces the scents from the flowering trees are everpresent. There are beautiful gardens and an artistic tiled swimming pool. The floors and walls are made of beautiful wood and everyone takes off their shoes to walk inside, which gives an air of quiet and peacefulness. There was a covered sitting area on the roof which was my favorite place to read and absorb the view of the ocean and town below. Our flight left late at night and they provide you with a small room with bathroom facilities and a key to keep your suitcases in after you have checked out. That was such a great thing. The staff was quick to help schedule a trip or with helpful info about the area. We got a personal little tour of their coffee plantation and of course drank lots of it with their exquisitely prepared and served breakfast every day . Breakfast was innovative and delicious using fresh local foods and it was so nice conversing with the other guests at the table. We stayed in the hibiscus room and the view and accomodations were perfect. Although it was a bit pricey , it was worth it because of the special feeling you got being there. The ambience was the key...serene, tranquil, meditative and beautiful down to the smallest detail. Hopefully we can return someday for a longer stay.

  • Liked — the feeling of the place
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JBBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

We stayed in the Gardenia Room and I highly recommend it. Holualoa is beautiful, the pictures here don't capture the relaxing atmosphere or beautiful view. There are windows and open doors everywhere, giving the place a constant pleasant breeze as if there were no walls. The breakfasts were fantastic, overlooking the breathtaking view (Holualoa is in the hills, so you can see the whole coastline).

The rooms had every convenience I could have wanted and the bed was incredibly comfortable, with wonderful bedding. While it's not on the beach, it does have a pretty pool and hot tub, and it's an easy drive to nearby beaches.

They only have 6 rooms (half of which were taken when we were there), so we practically had the place to ourselves. It was complete paradise, and I would go back in a heartbeat. I had been deciding between the Four Seasons and Holualoa, and I'm very happy I chose Holualoa!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 532rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2007

We went this year to Hawaii for the yearly Kona coffee festival. While there we stayed at this inn for a full week. While pricey it was much more than we could ever hope for. Peaceful views, quiet above the buzz of Kona, close proximity to coffee farms, helpful staff and great breakfasts were just the beginning. We loved either just hanging out here reading on the perch above the inn with great views down to the coast or returning here after a long day of exploring to relax and wind down. Our room was very well kept and extremely tasteful in design. We will return here again.

  • Liked — Great views, staff, wireless Internet
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nino001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
27.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
28.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
23.7 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
23.3 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holualoa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holualoa Inn

Property: Holualoa Inn
Address: 76-5932 Mamalahoa Hwy, PO Box 222, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-9762
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holualoa Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance with Polynesian luxury... Spectacular Pacific Ocean views, 30 lush acres of well-tended tropical fruit and flower gardens, 5100 Kona Coffee trees, custom-tiled mosaic pool, exquisite inn guest rooms, cottage, covered open-air pavilion, exceptional service, rooftop, pool and garden gazebos and an abundance of Aloha Spirit all wrapped into our Kona bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Holualoa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holualoa Hotel Holualoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing