We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Splendor”
Review of Holualoa Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holualoa Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Volcano Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Anniversary Splendor”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We live on the Big Island and when we moved here we decided to travel to the other islands each year for our wedding anniversary. Once we found the Holualoa Inn, we didn't want to go off island for our special day since we found such loveliness, beauty and personal service there. We loved our recent stay, the massage, dining in the small town, shopping in the artist's studio and relaxing by the pool. We do feel as if we are coming home each time we stay. We cherish the very special moments we have shared, it is a world of its own.

Room Tip: We love the intimacy of the Orchid Room with a great view of the Kona Coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VRRVolcano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We are honored that you've chosen Holualoa Inn for your annual anniversary celebrations! It's a pleasure to welcome you home each year, to share the beauty and tranquility of the Inn with you. Mahalo for posting such a wonderful review, and we look forward to seeing you next spring. A hui hou, Kathryn and your Holualoa Inn Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    18
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
225
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here in the coffee cherry room for two nights after our honeymoon recently. We had an amazing time, just the two of us, and the Holualoa Inn was perfect for relaxing after the hectic wedding week before. It is in a lovely artsy town, and the nearby Holuakoa Cafe is a short walk and does great food and mango mimosas!

The fresh cooked breakfasts at the Inn were delicious, with fresh fruit and local coffee, as well as lovely hot dishes. The staff were very helpful in catering to my husbands dietary requirements.
The views from the deck and pool area are amazing and we enjoyed our champagne that we ordered on arrival, overlooking the gorgeous sunset over the Kona coast.

We also enjoyed the afternoon iced tea and biscuits/cakes as a nice treat!

I had a great massage in the very lovely private pavilion with Annalee, who was just fantastic and helped to melt away all of the wedding stress!! Definitely request her if you are looking to get a massage while there.

It's not a cheap option, but was absolutely worth the price and was perfect for our special occasion. I rated sleep quality a little lower as the first night I was woken by roosters at 2am, however, was fairly warned about this possibility on check in and then afterwards made use of the earplugs that were provided. Roosters are everywhere in Hawaii so this wasn't really an exception on our holiday.

The cooler weather in Holualoa was a lovely relief from the baking heat down on the coast. Overall it is a lovely, chilled out, private location perfect for a romantic getaway and I am so glad we chose this place out of the main tourist town.

Room Tip: The private hot tub with the coffee cherry room was a lovely bonus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiibride28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
What a pleasure it was to welcome you to Holualoa Inn for your Big Island honeymoon celebration. We were happy that you took advantage of some of our romance packages, like our Love Affair package which provides a rose-petal strewn bed, bottle of chilled champagne, box of chocolate-covered macadamia nuts and bouquet of fresh tropical flowers from our gardens. Our Indulge and Save package offers our Love Affair package and a one hour couple's massage for a savings so perhaps next time you're here your husband will join you. We also now offer a delicious Fruit & Cheese platter with a complimentary bottle of wine! Much mahalo for taking the time to post such a wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you home someday, perhaps for an anniversary celebration. A hui hou, and ho'okahikahi ke aloha (be one in love), Kathryn & your Holualoa Inn ohana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I actually stayed here in June 2008 for our honeymoon. It was the most beautiful and romantic Inn. The location is great for couples looking for a quite place to stay and the breakfasts were fantastic. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Mahalo nui loa for posting your review. It's been too long since we welcomed you home for your honeymoon celebration. We've made many improvements since your time here, including Hale Luana, our private, open-air massage pavilion to our new hot tub with breathtaking views of the Kona coast. Holualoa Inn offers the ideal Big Island romantic getaway, whether lounging on our hammock in our Blue Jade garden or toasting one another as the sun sets from our rooftop gazebo. We hope to welcome you home once more. Your sixth anniversary is coming up! Ho'okahikahi ke aloha (be one in love), Kathryn and your Holualoa Inn Ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Submitted this earlier but it didn't show up for some reason...trying again. Spent two nights here in March 2014. It's not cheap -- ~$450/night for a room for two people - but it's in line with the Kohala Coast resorts, & it's worth it for a very nice, quiet, high quality experience.

- beautiful property in the hills above Kona-Kailua. ~10 min drive up the hill on windy roads through the neighborhood.
- plenty of parking on the property
- feels more like a personal residence than an inn / hotel. Supposedly it was a family home before it was purchased by an antiques dealer who turned it into an inn.
- great views up and down the coach, see the sunset etc. You can spend all day just hanging out and enjoying yourself here.
- beautiful rooms with sitting areas in addition to the bed space, large bathrooms
- very quiet
- outdoor swimming pool (unheated), heated outdoor hot tub with views
- gardens and various places to stroll and sit outdoors
- downstairs "family room" with TV, movies, kitchen etc. You can buy groceries and/or wine/beer & leave your items downstairs
- rooftop covered sitting area with views
- good breakfasts
- walking distance uphill to the local restaurant for lunch/dinner
- only downsides: it's not directly on the beach and it takes ~10 min to drive downhill for shopping, dining etc.

Bottom line I'd stay here again for a very nice, special event vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hibachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful review...twice! We are delighted that you found the Inn's open floor plan and inviting style of Polynesian elegance so enjoyable. It is a pleasure for us when our guests appreciate the serenity of the Inn, spending time on our makai lanai rocking chairs or rooftop gazebo reading, relaxing or watching the sun set. We look forward to welcoming you home once more, perhaps for that special occasion vacation you wrote about. A hui hou, Kathryn and your Holualoa Inn ohana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Pictures and reviews online cannot prepare you for the actual thing. Celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary called for a special place: and we found it! Upon arriving you are greeted by a cool beverage, a hug , and breath taking scenery. The entire house is open with cross breezes possibly making air condition unnecessary. The decor appears to be straight out of magazine , but everything is encouraged to be used and lived in. The inn has 6 rooms, each with private baths. Depending on the location of the room, your views varies from looking over Kona to viewing the gorgeous gardens every morning when you wake up. One room even had a private hot tub - although you do have to go out side and up a short path to get to it. The Inn has everything you would need to make your visit as complete as you would like it . They supply snorkel gear, boogie boards, beach chairs, mats for your attempts to find a sandy beach. If you want to eat out every meal - they have many recommendations and directions typed out that you just take a copy and go. If the high cost of dining has shocked you in the islands - you have a full kitchen and grill at your disposal for dinning in . Laundry facilities present also . A beautiful pool- although as mentioned in other reviews, not heated. The Inn is located higher in elevation than expected thus always approximately 10 -15 degrees cooler than at sea level. Not quite sure if the pool water ever gets enough direct sunlight to heat up. Would recommend this B&B very highly. I might be spoiled now.....
A few negatives- snack at 4 pm needs to be heavier. 2 cookies does not quite sustain grown men until dinner. Also need to find those wild turkeys that gobble outside of your window at 5 am. Thank goodness Anita showed us where the ear plugs were. I though she was joking.....

Room Tip: The gardenia suite has a private living room and the best views overlooking Kona. The rooms on the u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 361dana8324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Mahalo for choosing Holualoa Inn for your 20th anniversary celebration, and for taking the time to post such a marvelous review. The Inn is ideal for romantic Hawaiian getaways and special occasions so we're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and even indulged in a couple's massage. It is a pleasure to hear that the Inn's amenities - our guest rooms, furnishings and views of the Kona coastline, pool and hot tub, guest kitchen and laundry room, complimentary beach gear - were used and appreciated. It was a pleasure spoiling you for other B&B's and we look forward to welcoming you home again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holualoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Holualoa. To think that just a short time ago, my tongue stumbled over the pronunciation. Now the syllables flow fondly from my lips like clear water flowing over smooth stones in a gentle brook. I'm waxing poetic, aren't I. That's the Holaloa Inn effect. The decor of the place is beautiful and elegant, yet relaxed. The rooms are spacious and clean. The view from 1400 feet looking down to the Kona harbor is fantastic. And breakfast is to die for.....delicious and artfully presented. But the heart and soul of this jewel of a B&B is the staff. Crystal, Kat, Steve, Carole, Braylene, Lindsay and Anita......wonderful souls each and every one. In my eight days there on a house-hunting trip, everyone was helpful and kind. And it wasn't simply that they went above and beyond expectations on helpfulness, but that they acted in the authentic aloha spirit.
The Holualoa Inn is the antithesis of big resort hotels. It's very small, very quiet, and very peaceful. Amenities include a hot tub with the view of Kona (which I used almost every morning at dawn), a pool, laundry facilities, and an Ohana (family) room equipped with TV and fridge. Each afternoon, iced tea and some snacks were set out for the guests and remained out until morning, just in case of late night snack attacks. There is a cabana set up for couples massage. The staff will arrange for a masseuse to come to you if you want a massage.
The drive into town was short. My sister and I enjoyed Jackie Reyes and Sam Chow's. We also had a handful of fine meals at the Gardens, a short walk away from the Inn.
I was in the Hibiscus Room and my sister was in the Ginger Room upstairs. My only complaint about the room was that there was another guest room above me, and even barefooted, it seemed that the upstairs guests tread heavily on the floor a couple of nights.
I heard coqui frogs calling in the evening, but the sound didn't bother me. Being a country girl, I rather liked the frog calls. And the Inn routinely has coqui round ups to minimize the noise level of calling amphibians.
Wild chickens are an island fixture and roosters do crow in the pre-dawn hours. Again, the sound was distant and didn't interfere with my sleep.
My sister was mosquito bitten during our trip. Most of her bites were sustained during evening outdoor dining away from the Inn. Bring your repellent if you're a mosquito magnet.
In conclusion, the Holualoa Inn and the people associated with it occupy a fond place in my heart. I highly recommend it. It is a place imbued with the aloha spirit.
I

Room Tip: All lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
The word "aloha" has several meanings - hello, goodbye and love. More importantly, aloha is a way of life. We here at Holualoa Inn are so fortunate to welcome such wonderful guests, whether celebrating a special occasion like a honeymoon, birthday or anniversary, exploring the adventure of the Big Island or, in your case, finding your new home. It is our amazing guests that elicit the authentic aloha spirit. Mahalo nui loa for your beautiful and poetic review. We miss you already and look forward to welcoming you home, to the Inn and to the Big Island of Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
290 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is indeed a special B & B. The Hibiscus Room is beautiful: wood paneling on walls and floors, huge bed, large bathroom, great amenities, awesome view. This is the perfect place to "chill out" with a partner or by yourself. We actually met two women traveling alone when we were here who loved the setting. The decor is Asian and the common areas upstairs seem to flow peacefully from one room to the other. Great attention to detail. You also have use of a communal refrigerator and kitchenette/TV room just off the pool. We especially appreciated the use of the washer and dryer. Pool is overlooking Kailua-Kona town and ocean. Wish it were heated. Enjoyed the hot tub. Just two criticisms: would have liked greater choice at breakfast and my husband got annoyed about having to remove his shoes every time he entered the building.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank activenretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holualoa Inn O, Guest Relations Manager at Holualoa Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Much mahalo for taking the time to write and post such a wonderful review. We are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed Holualoa Inn's furnishings and décor. We strive to provide a sanctuary for our guests, a place to relax and rejuvenate. After a day on the ocean or down in Kona town, It's always a pleasure to come home to the serenity of Holualoa Inn. Mahalo nui loa, and we look forward to welcoming you home again. A hui hou, Kathryn and your Holualoa Inn ohana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
27.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
28.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
14.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
23.7 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holualoa Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holualoa Inn

Property: Holualoa Inn
Address: 76-5932 Mamalahoa Hwy, PO Box 222, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-9762
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holualoa Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance with Polynesian luxury... Spectacular Pacific Ocean views, 30 lush acres of well-tended tropical fruit and flower gardens, 5100 Kona Coffee trees, custom-tiled mosaic pool, exquisite inn guest rooms, cottage, covered open-air pavilion, exceptional service, rooftop, pool and garden gazebos and an abundance of Aloha Spirit all wrapped into our Kona bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holualoa Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holualoa Hotel Holualoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing