We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lilikoi Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lilikoi Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

This is my third time at the Lilikoi Inn and the trip keep getting more and more fantastic! Each time I drive up the beautifully landscaped driveway, relaxation washes over me and I can finally let go of city life. The wrap-around lanai with expansive views of Kona and beyond never fails to take my breath away. Trina and Shai are the best hosts with infinite knowledge of everything there is to do/see/eat on the island. The breakfasts are to die for, snorkel gear is available for a small donation, and there are always fuzzy animals to pet and play with. Each room has a beautiful bed and private bathroom, as well as a TV/cable and wireless internet. The grounds are lush and include a hot tub with a view as well as an amazing outdoor shower coming right out of a tree!

Only a short drive from downtown, this paradise is tucked away- private and peaceful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    41
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
61
325
57
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here in August in the Papaya room for three nights and had a lovely stay. The property is beautiful as is the view. I definitely recommend taking advantage of the outdoor spa. Shai and Trina were beyond helpful. When we had a tour early one morning they gave us some of their delicious coffee in to go mugs and another day gave us directions to a great beach and let us borrow a beach umbrella. The breakfast and the personalization of travel advice makes this a far better experience (and a better deal) than staying in a hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LTWT86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

My first trip to Hawaii! Made memorable the moment I drove up the driveway, through the gorgeous greenery, flowers, fruits, and welcoming greeting from Trina and Shai! The view from the lanai is nothing short of breathtaking - do not miss the incredible sunsets.
Each room is beautifully appointed, with full private baths and comfy beds.
You will not be hungry for lunch, as Shai's breakfasts are both scrumptious and extremely generous. Best Kona coffee grown right at the B&B.
Had an amazing time visiting a new beach each day. Highlight had to be swimming in the wild with about 40 or so dolphins!!! Saw giant sea turtles up close, snorkeled and came upon colorful fish and coral.
I am already planning my next visit to Hawaii - and so look forward to returning to the Lillikoi Inn and Trina and Shai's warm hospitality. Highest recommendation!! Don't miss this island paradise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I'm going to agree with Ron! This is a great place to stay if you are a coffee snob, because Shai's coffee--grown right there at the B&B--is not only genuine Kona coffee, but it's better than most of the Kona coffee we've had! I had 2-1/2 mugs of it both mornings we were there, and that's twice as much coffee as I normally have. We even brought a pound of it home with us. Of course the food was great, too. Freshest eggs I've ever had.

The grounds of the B&B are a lesson in local flora and fauna, and if you love passion fruit (like I do), you will find more of it than you could shake a stick at. Also nestled into this tropical setting is a lovely Jacuzzi, which is kept on 24 hours a day and well worth leaving your room for.

Speaking of the rooms. . . Ours was large and immaculate (I forget the name of the room but it was downstairs). We were seriously impressed! Lovely new finishes and fixtures in the bathroom, too.

One word of advice: If you are arriving at Lilikoi Inn after 9:00pm, be sure to call from the airport first! We did not realize that Tina and Shai went to bed at 9:30 and when we arrived at 10pm, we had no idea what to do. We fortunately ran into some fellow guests who showed us which door to knock on to wake up our poor, sleepy hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vlaurend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Lilikoi Inn, is the place to stay on the 'Big Island'
The Hosts , Shai and Trina are very welcoming and the coffee is pretty good too....Grown on the property and roasted by Shai, its pretty close to the best coffee in the US !
Places to see and must see, and advice on how to best get there are given expertly by Shai, which after a huge and tasty breakfast are easily followed...and to top it all off, the room was clean spacious and the bed great! thx Shai and Trina....

Room Tip: all rooms look great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was my first visit to the Big Island of Hawaii and I was excited for this B&B! With just the drive to the Lilikoi Inn, you can already tell the view would take your breath away. Welcomed with warm Aloha spirit and the family (owners) that's unforgettable, this bed and breakfast is one you should check into when visiting the island! With very nice, clean and welcoming rooms...you'll lay down not wanting to sleep, but explore the amazing grounds you stay on. The balcony views are breath taking, from the sun rise that wakes you up in the morning, along with their freshly brewed home grown coffee! To the sunsets you get right before bed! Every moment is breath taking. Pictures can't describe the feeling you'll get! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davincruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spent 4 nights in the Green Papaya room and really loved our stay there. Shai and Trina are very friendly and accommodating and Shai's amazing breakfasts were always the ideal way to start a long day of exploring all of the beaches, volcanos, coastlines, coffee plantations, and other incredible sites that one can drive to from Lilikoi. Breakfast included great coffee that grown right on the property, fresh papaya with yogurt + granola topping, and extremely delicious frittatas and omelets cooked up every morning. We didn't always know what we would be doing on a given day, but Shai was full of tips and ideas and directions that helped us figure out where to go and pack a lot of amazing activities into our time on the Big Island. Shai even offered us to-go snacks in the form of deliciously tart apple bananas grown right on the property. This place really has a lot of charm and will stick in your memory long after you leave. The crazy steep hill that you drive up in order to get to the inn, the cute dog Decaf who guards the crops and chickens from feral pigs and other threats, the roaming cats, the incredible views, etc. We would definitely stay here again on a future Big Island visit.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
3.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
19.3 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
12.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
21.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilikoi Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilikoi Inn

Property: Lilikoi Inn
Address: 75-5339 Mamalahoa Hwy Apt C, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-8611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilikoi Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small coffee farm set in a lush area near local attractions of beaches, hikes, snorkeling areas yet remote. The breakfasts are gourmet and everyone leaves the breakfast table with great ideas for the day. The big island has a lot to offer and is full of magical places. Come and experience paradise on the big island of Hawaii! We look forward to your visit at the Lilikoi Inn. Trina and Shai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lilikoi Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilikoi Hotel Holualoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing