We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lilikoi Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lilikoi Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, California
1 review
“Amazing B&B!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I had such an amazing stay at the Lilikoi Inn! The property is surrounded by rainforest with an abundance of fruit you can pick fresh and eat off the vine including passion fruit, bananas, avocado, and guava. Our room was beautiful and spacious. The food was absolutely amazing and is served on a lanai overlooking the ocean! Shai and Trina were great hosts and were very helpful about making recommendations for activities to do on the island.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    41
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
61
326
57
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Shai and Trina made my already perfect Hawaiian vacation even better! They were so warm and friendly and truly made me feel at home. They were a blast to chat with and they made some AMAZING breakfast, including a breakfast pizza coked in their newly built brick oven!!
They also had amazing suggestions for things to do each day. They sent me to a beautiful waterfall hike, an incredible lagoon filled with sea turtles, and even a secret beach with dolphins!!
I am definitely coming back with my family, and I can't wait!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haleymgeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were here three nights and our experience was VERY MIXED. It started off really good: Terrific accommodation over the city of Kona and we were welcomed very friendly by Shai. First surprise, breakfast is only served at 8am sharp. So whoever wants to have a good sleep misses the breakfast. The breakfast is indeed very delicious, as everyone writes. The 'famous' day recommendations for all guests then follow. Ours was a FLOP. Shai sent us to the less beautiful beaches in the south. We found out later that the beautiful beaches are actually in the north. We should have followed our own planning then we would not have spoiled a full day. For the second evening we were offered by Shai and Trina, that we could cook in the kitchen. So we did the shopping, cooked and enjoyed a lovely evening on the terrace.

The next day we were surprised that the room was, once again, not made and the towels again were not changed. It was already rather damp in the room by now since the towels never got dry correctly at the high atmospheric humidity on Big Island. In addition, Shai then handed over to us a 60 USD tax invoice to our surprise that he wanted us to pay. This was an impertinence because we had already paid everything in the front-end and were not informed that any amount is still due. Something like that hasn't happened to us at any other accommodation on Hawaii.

On the day of our departure the situation escalated when we informed them that we were not gonna pay the tax amount since this wasn't agreed on in the front-end. Both began to yell and Shai got even aggressive. During this discussion they even blamed us, that we did not clean the kitchen in the evening on which we had cooked. Fact was, that the kitchen wasn't really clean before and merely a pan had been in the sink unit for soaking!

When we sat on the terrace in the last evening, we heard Trina in her room talking bad about her guests. Among others: We and another pair had an early flight (before 8 o'clock!) and Shai had offered us to prepare a breakfast package - Trina has really upset about it – because she does not like to get up early and work.

SUMMARY: The behavior of the two hosts was really outrageous and I am annoyed about it up to today (2 months after the vacation). Altogether, we had such a terrific vacation on Hawaii. One should really avoid coming here. Then your vacation will be a full success.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bettina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilikoiInn, Owner at Lilikoi Inn, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Aloha,
Lilikoi Inn is a small bed and breakfast nestled among the coffee trees in Holualoa, We always treat our guests with respect and aloha as is evident by our almost 300 reviews! EAch of our guests become family and we welcome them with smoothies, soup, and sometimes dinner when they come hungry and late from the airport. This is complimentary and beyond the normal care of a bed and breakfast. Our services do not include daily linen or towel service to keep the cost affordable and to protect our environment. But when asked we can always give an extra towel and have often even changed sheets when it was requested !However, paradise comes with a price and the state of Hawaii has a tax which all guests need to pay. This tax is as real as the website, Transient accommodations tax.com and must be paid to the host and they in turn pay the state of Hawaii!
We find it upsetting when after our warmth,, extra food and hospitality, a guest would refuse to pay this extra tax. We are still troubled by this rareincident but it has only happened once in all of our years running this INN. However, we must look to the future and welcome each guest with aloha. So , if you are reading this, you are most welcome to come experience the Big island, the aloha, we offer all of our guests and the wonderful beaches and hiking that we know so very well.
Ke Akua Ho'omaikai , God bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We arrived at the airport in Kona fairly late in the evening, exhausted and hungry. We called Shai for directions and by the time we arrived at the bed and breakfast he had homemade soup and lovely sandwiches waiting for us! I can't remember ever being offered supper at a bed and breakfast (and we have stayed at many.) The property is a paradise of trees, flowers, birds and a gorgeous view. It is quiet, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is lovely. Shai and Trina are warm and personable. I only wish we could have stayed longer than the 4 days that we scheduled. The combination of pastoral loveliness, intelligent and friendly hosts and a convenient location -- perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 74Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We felt comfortable the moment we arrived thanks to Shai and Trina. It is obvious they love what they do and it comes through. Everything was top notch from the environment, in the tropical rainforest, the incredible food, much of which is grown/raised on the property, to the hosts who helped us with our daily itineraries by providing directions and pointing out additional places to stop and see. The room was large and clean, a large common kitchen area and a deck that surrounds the B&B and provides a lovely view of the mountain, town and ocean.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shandy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

This was our first experience with a B&B. Shai and Trina definitely set the bar high! The food was absolutely first rate and the travel advice they offered was spot on. Their personal attention and friendliness made our trip to the Big Island a memorable experience.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Trina and Shai are wonderful, friendly and interesting hosts, the inn and the rooms are beautiful, and the views are stunning. I highly recommend the Lilikoi Inn to anyone who values getting off the beaten track at least just a little, but still wants to access all that the Kona area offers. And the breakfast is fantastic. Will stay here again, and often.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
3.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
19.3 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
12.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
21.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilikoi Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilikoi Inn

Property: Lilikoi Inn
Address: 75-5339 Mamalahoa Hwy Apt C, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-8611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilikoi Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small coffee farm set in a lush area near local attractions of beaches, hikes, snorkeling areas yet remote. The breakfasts are gourmet and everyone leaves the breakfast table with great ideas for the day. The big island has a lot to offer and is full of magical places. Come and experience paradise on the big island of Hawaii! We look forward to your visit at the Lilikoi Inn. Trina and Shai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lilikoi Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilikoi Hotel Holualoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing