We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a B&B”
Review of Lilikoi Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lilikoi Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Really, Lillikoi Inn is like staying with a family member who has a home in Paradise. Shai & Trina treat you like family, and you quickly come to see them that way too. You are guests in their home, not anonymous hotel visitors.

Travellers need to consider what’s important to them. You need to be OK with being a houseguest, not just a guest. If you want to be in the city, or walk to things, need lots of privacy, or plan to have frequent loud sex, some other B&B might be a better choice. Because yes, Lillikoi Inn is not in-town, but is easy to find after the first couple times (the road to the inn is scary-steep though, unless you come from San Francisco), and noises do carry through the house.

But if you value fun conversations and genuine caring concern for your enjoyment, are laid-back, like meeting people, and enjoy fantastic breakfasts with home-grown ingredients, then stay with Shai & Trina.

Pretend your fun Aunt and chef Uncle have a home on the Big Island. You can borrow any gear (snorkeling, beach umbrellas, chairs, etc.) you may need. Plenty of advice on what to do and where to go is always available. Breakfast is at 8:00, not at 7:00 or at 9:00, because there’s no staff here – it is only Shai & Trina. You therefore also know you can’t make messes for them to clean – you willingly clean up after yourself. You get to play with oh-so-friendly Izzy (aka Decaf) the dog, and the house cats. You are embraced and loved and wonderfully fed.

At Lillikoi Inn, the place you are staying and the people you meet there are as much a part of your trip as the things you see and do - which is awesome. We will surely come back again.

Room Tip: We stayed in Lillikoi Room - wonderful and big, but probably the least private. Downstairs rooms ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike90808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (612)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 612 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

If you are looking for something different of high quality, go to Lilikoi Inn in Kona.
This B&B place is located in a coffee and tropical trees plantation. The view is superb, the food is unmatchable , the rooms are unique and the owners were extremely helpful and pleasant.
You get eggs that are collected minutes before breakfast. The owner/cook is an experienced chef,so the food tests great.If you love animals--there are plenty of them around. The place is small and you will have a chance to meet guests from all over the world. .I am sure you will be super happy there. just relax and enjoy the experience which you will never forget.

Room Tip: you need to book early, the good rooms go fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Efraim2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Lilikoi Inn is situated in the hills overlooking the coast. There are beautiful views and lush plantings everywhere not to mention the occasional hen strutting around.It is the perfect place to relax or to start out from to explore the island. The inn is a little farm and a coffee plantation run by hosts Shai and Trina who are wonderfully hospitable and a fountain of information. The rooms are comfortable, quiet and spacious.The breakfast is superb- a different menu every day with fresh local fruit baking done by Shai served at the big table overlooking the views of the world below. It's worth it just for the fresh coffee and Chai's ( who is a retired chef) unique dishes.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Shai and Trina are absolutely great hosts! They are extremely helpful as to directions around the island and sights to see. Unbelievable food, a great setting, and the most relaxing time we have ever had, anywhere. We will be making reservations to go back the next time we are in the islands. You become 'family' immediately. The coffee is as smooth as you'll ever taste. We heartily recommend The Lilikoi Inn if you want s great place for several days or several weeks. Superb value all the way around. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: Any room is great. Breakfasts are always great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was the perfect start to our Hawaii holidays! Our room was very clean and spacious. We loved the surrounding forest and coffee field, screens kept the mosquitos out of the room. Trina and Shai were the most gracious hosts one could imagine. We loved the tips Shai gave us every morning, for planing the perfect day (including driving instructions). The breakfast was great too, everyday something different with fresh fruit and coffee from the garden.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martina_rosanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

For the past 4 years I visit at least two of the Islands each year in the Hawaiian chain and for the third time I stayed at the Lilikoi Inn for a pleasant, relaxing vacation. The ambience of the inn, its location and the hospitality of my hosts Shai and Trina are exceptional.
Their inn offers a tropical setting away from the hustle and bustle of the city but also with a view of the harbour where from the lanai you can relax, read, or converse with other guest. Location, location is always important, and the Inn meets my criteria as being centralized for me to pursue other island sites: excursions, snorkelling or being just a tourist. Without exception of all the Bed & Breakfast locations that I have stayed at (Kauai, Maui) Shai provides one fantastic breakfast, smoothies made from the his fruit trees (Mangos, Apple Bananas, Oranges), and his fabulous fresh Kona coffee grown around the acreage of his property. If you are a "Bed & Breakfast" traveller, this inn will meet your criteria.
Jim N.

Room Tip: All rooms face the same direction and provide a "sunny morning" and each can be seen on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed at Lilikoi Inn in the Torch Ginger room for a week. You couldn't ask for a more comfortable place to stay! Shai and Trina are the best hosts and make you feel like family. And I can't gush enough about the amazing breakfast served each morning on the spacious lanai with beautiful views. Breakfast kept me full until well on into the afternoon. The room that I stayed in is supposedly their smallest however it was more than enough for me and I slept soundly each night. The quality of service is unmatched and when I do come back to the island I will be staying here again. Thank you, Shai and Trina, for making my trip even more special with your hospitality, good conversation, and caring ways.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilikoiInn, Owner at Lilikoi Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thanks so much for coming!
We really enjoyed having you and sharing our home in paradise!
You truly understand the bed and breakfast concept
And we are so glad you decided to stay with us!
We hope you can come again in the near future!
With aloha
Trina and Shai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
3.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.8 mi away
Holualoa Inn
Holualoa Inn
#2 of 6 in Holualoa
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
2.8 mi away
Ohi'a Park Estate
Ohi'a Park Estate
#2 of 13 in Kailua-Kona
196 reviews
49 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilikoi Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilikoi Inn

Address: 75-5339 Mamalahoa Hwy Apt C, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-8611
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range: £145 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilikoi Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small coffee farm set in a lush area near local attractions of beaches, hikes, snorkeling areas yet remote. The breakfasts are gourmet and everyone leaves the breakfast table with great ideas for the day. The big island has a lot to offer and is full of magical places. Come and experience paradise on the big island of Hawaii! We look forward to your visit at the Lilikoi Inn. Trina and Shai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lilikoi Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lilikoi Hotel Holualoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing