We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in Kona!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens

Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Holualoa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Holuakoa Gardens and Cafe. We are a Slow Food establishment committed to "a food system that is based on the principles of high quality and taste, environmental sustainability, and social justice." Sit back and relax in our lush garden setting and experience Slow Food at its best, locally grown and lovingly prepared. For the best cup of coffee in Kona, visit our famous coffee shop, located right out in front of the restaurant in the historical town and artist community of Holualoa.
Nosara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Kona!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

The Holuakoa Gardens & Cafe is, in my opinion, the BEST restaurant in Kona. Their farm to table organic ingredients contribute to the exceptional flavors and offerings. Whether for lunch, dinner or Sunday brunch, you will be well pleased. The garden setting and koi pond lend to a relaxed dining experience and the white lights in the trees make for a romantic setting after dark.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Renaldo6899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    142
    36
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dining In the Trees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great restaurant, with some of the dining set outside by the large house, back away from the road a bit. We ate here in the evening and it was perfect for a special meal "out" during our stay in Holualoa. The food was fresh and uniquely prepared. The serving sizes were just right. I would definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NanSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great food and service. Just take bug spray. No ocean view but worth visiting. I ate there several times since I stayed at the nearby Holualoa Inn ( wonderful B&B)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Run
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We went here our last night on Hawaii and had a wonderful meal. The food is so fresh and uniquely combined. Very flavorful and the portions just right. The atmosphere is very nice and
I can see having a special occasion here, especially upstairs where there is more of a view
of the ocean. I am glad this is a bit unknown since it wasn't touristy at all. Highly recommend it.
Great locally grown coffee and nice outdoor seating.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maynard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming, worth a short drive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Love the quaintness of Holualoa. Met some really friendly locals and the store keepers were helpful and fed the kids cookies :)

This is our third time going to Holuakoa Cafe and it was a wonderful experience. The food and atmosphere is fantastic and the staff went above and beyond for me. There were eight of us and we ALL enjoyed our meals. Well done!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RachelleA75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Holuakoa Cafe & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing