We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The rooms are large, nice, and clean, but the rest of the house was a bit of a mess. The breakfast was good, the host was helpful and was happy to share local knowledge but overall this was about an average stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank virtualfruitcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

We can only second what other people have said about this B&B, the breakfasts were excellent and filling, the pancakes were amazing!
The room was comfortable and cool with great views over the sea below.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ju M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed here for four night and it was great! Lonn the host is an amazing chef who cooked scrumptious breakfasts each morning and served his homegrown coffee (the only coffee I liked in the US). He also has an amazing knowlege of the area and is happy to share. The accommodation was spacious with great vistas down to Kona. Would totally recommend to anyone who passes through to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Han-Mike_2dine4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I can only second the other reviews on Lonn's fantastic breakfasts and the location of the accomodation. This is a great out-of-the-way but still convenient location. The two rooms are on each end of Lonn's home and completly private. They share a very large lanai, where breakfast is served, with the home but each room also has a small private lanai. There is a large selection of DVDs if you are looking for evening entertainment.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eailman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed at Lonn's bed and breakfast for our first four days on the big island, and it was a perfect home base to explore the island at your own pace. It's like having a private house, except that Lonn prepares an amazing breakfast every morning and offers countless tips for beaches, attractions, dining etc. Our suite had a jacuzzi and a private veranda overlooking flora and the ocean. Though it's not on the beach, the B&B is a quick drive to many different types of beaches as well as numerous Kona town highlights. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MysteryofThings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Lonn's B&B is near the airport up in the hills with a spectacular view and delicious but near overwhelming breakfasts.

There are only two large units at opposite ends of the main house and Lonn does not intrude at all unless asked. You feel like you have your own personal pied a terre with a knowledgeable local to guide and direct you as needed.

All roads beyond downtown Kailua are twisty/turny and getting to Lonn's is no exception but once used to it everything you need is right there after a few minutes drive.

We stayed 6 mights before renting a house in Captain Cook and it was the perfect base to do the box store shopping and explore North Kona and Kahala. Especially for first timers this is the perfect introduction to the Big Island. Landing at the airport things can look pretty grim and for a certain type of traveller driving into K-town is downright awful. Lonn's solves all that. You're up above and away from it all living with long time locals.

Lonn has worked many years as a professional chef and the breakfasts reflect his love of cooking. They are delicious and huge. You truly do not need to eat again till dinner after these. We got take out and/or deli fare as we were heading back after our day out and would then watch the sunset from our own personal lanai. The quiet (other than a celestial church choir half a mile away) is as peaceful as millions of forest critters can be but going to sleep and waking up to these natural sounds was almost as priceless as the view.

There are many places to stay in this heavily visited area of Kailua but staying here makes you feel like you live here. Many visitors to the Big Island are doing some sort of around Island tour and this would be the perfect 3-7 day base for this side. The roads from the airport are easy to find and easy to drive until the final turn when you go on to the Kona Historical Highway for .4 mile. Lonn's driveway will surprise you in it's steepness but the parking is ample and well designed. You simply roll your luggage into your room, admire your own view of twinkling city lights and stars, go to sleep with the critters and wake up with the birds, ideally with an enormous appetite.

Room Tip: Either room is excellent but the wi-fi doesn't reach into the south end room and you have to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AKaziranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Conveniently close to the Kona airport, but off the beaten path in the hills above the shoreline is the location of a not to be missed bed and breakfast experience. The expansive view from Lonn Armour's dining room lanai is surpassed only by the gourmet breakfasts and delicious home grown coffee he serves. With only two guest rooms on the premises, the personal attention his guests receive personifies the true aloha spirit of the big island. The accommodations are spacious with a private lanai, king size bed, and luxurious bathroom. We looked forward each morning to having Lonn join us for coffee and answer all our questions about what to see and do. His years of experience living in Hawaii and his excellent culinary skills made for a memorable stay we hope to repeat in the years to come.

Room Tip: Both rooms enjoy the same view, and the furnishings, walk-in shower, and spa tub are identical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriciaLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
2.9 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,234 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,959 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holualoa Inn
Holualoa Inn
#2 of 6 in Holualoa
310 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lilikoi Inn
Lilikoi Inn
#1 of 6 in Holualoa
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast

Address: 74-4968 Mamalahoa Hwy, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-9604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range: £135 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha ka kou! Here at Hale Hualalai we embrace the Farm to Table movement and it shines in our gourmet breakfast and our 100% Kona Coffee farmed and served right here on the premises. We have a small upscale Bed and Breakfast with fine suites with views of the ocean, sunset and the beautiful Holualoa countryside. Please, come and enjoy a slice of Aloha here at Hale Hualalai! ~Ricky ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing