We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed for three nights in early December 2013 and loved it! Our host was helpful and informative and he offered us complete privacy and respect. The location is high over Kailua-Kona with fantastic views and easy access to beaches, town and lots of adventures. The breakfasts were phenomenal! We opted to stay out of town because we wanted quiet and privacy - both of which we achieved at Hale Hualalai. Kona town is just five minutes down the hill - big box stores, cozy little dining spots, bars, etc. If you're looking for a fun casual evening, we highly recommend the Kona Brewing Company for pizza, aps and beer!

Room Tip: There are two identical rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charrisdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

The host was very friendly. The location is very quiet. You may hear some Coqui frogs in the night. A very nice sound for a good sleep. We never had problems with these sounds of nature. The room was quite spacious and clean. The lanai was lovely as well. You could sit outside and enjoy the view. The breakfast is served on the outside lanai. We liked it although it was rather expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pika_candid_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed here in late October for 4 nights. Lovely B&B with all the accommodations needed. Lonn not only provided a wonderful breakfast but was an excellent source of information and recommendations. The daily visits from the pheasants on the farm were an added plus for those who love fauna and flora. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryandSue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

If you want gourmet food and coffee, stunning views, old fashioned hospitality and to wake up refreshed after a lovely night sleep, stay here!!
Lonn made us feel so comfortable, we actually delayed our sight seeing each morning to linger over breakfast and coffee with him.
Thank you Lonn for helping make our honeymoon a true stay in paradise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The rooms are large, nice, and clean, but the rest of the house was a bit of a mess. The breakfast was good, the host was helpful and was happy to share local knowledge but overall this was about an average stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank virtualfruitcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We can only second what other people have said about this B&B, the breakfasts were excellent and filling, the pancakes were amazing!
The room was comfortable and cool with great views over the sea below.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ju M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed here for four night and it was great! Lonn the host is an amazing chef who cooked scrumptious breakfasts each morning and served his homegrown coffee (the only coffee I liked in the US). He also has an amazing knowlege of the area and is happy to share. The accommodation was spacious with great vistas down to Kona. Would totally recommend to anyone who passes through to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Han-Mike_2dine4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.9 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,939 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holualoa Inn
Holualoa Inn
#2 of 6 in Holualoa
307 reviews
10.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast

Address: 74-4968 Mamalahoa Hwy, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-9604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range: £136 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha ka kou! Here at Hale Hualalai we embrace the Farm to Table movement and it shines in our gourmet breakfast and our 100% Kona Coffee farmed and served right here on the premises. We have a small upscale Bed and Breakfast with fine suites with views of the ocean, sunset and the beautiful Holualoa countryside. Please, come and enjoy a slice of Aloha here at Hale Hualalai! ~Ricky ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing