We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, spacious, and great Aloha Spirit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Holualoa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were here for a belated Honeymoon. Our room was a huge 3 room area with a sitting room with TV, stereo, then a bedroom with a huge king bed and a 2-room bathroom that included a deep bathtub with jet streams, which was very welcomed after a long trip to get there from Indiana! We also had our own private lanai! Lon is an amazing chef and had the most Ono breakfasts! And he was very knowledgeable about the area and my Hawaiian culture, which I very much appreciated! The only thing I regretted was that we didn't plan to stay here at this beautiful place longer. And Lon was trying to sell it, so I'm not sure it is still open! If you get the chance to stay here, I would highly recommend it! Very peaceful and enjoyable! And the visits with Lon were fun too!

Room Tip: Choose the room farthest away from the driveway. The view is the best and there is less noise from t...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeialohaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hubby & I were fortunate to stay 9 wonderful nights in the Cottage at Hale Hualalai B&B.... The cottage was awesome..it was like having your own apartment complete w/ full kitchen, dining, living room, bed and bath AND a washer & dryer, which really cut down on packing & baggage fees. The cottage was very room and extremely clean! We loved every minute in Maui and coming back to he cottage after a full day was the icing on the cake. Our breakfasts were great and our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful. If we ever have the opportunity to come back to Maui, we would only want to stay at Hale Hualalai B&B!

Room Tip: Book early!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelfever55135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. The room was big and we had a fantastic view of the coast from our lanai. Breakfast was fantastic - Lon, the owner, goes out of his way to make delicious, creative dishes. It's only about a 10-15 minute drive to Kailua-Kona, so it's a great location if you like being away from the crowds but close to lots of things to do.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt_98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed for three nights in early December 2013 and loved it! Our host was helpful and informative and he offered us complete privacy and respect. The location is high over Kailua-Kona with fantastic views and easy access to beaches, town and lots of adventures. The breakfasts were phenomenal! We opted to stay out of town because we wanted quiet and privacy - both of which we achieved at Hale Hualalai. Kona town is just five minutes down the hill - big box stores, cozy little dining spots, bars, etc. If you're looking for a fun casual evening, we highly recommend the Kona Brewing Company for pizza, aps and beer!

Room Tip: There are two identical rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charrisdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The host was very friendly. The location is very quiet. You may hear some Coqui frogs in the night. A very nice sound for a good sleep. We never had problems with these sounds of nature. The room was quite spacious and clean. The lanai was lovely as well. You could sit outside and enjoy the view. The breakfast is served on the outside lanai. We liked it although it was rather expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pika_candid_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed here in late October for 4 nights. Lovely B&B with all the accommodations needed. Lonn not only provided a wonderful breakfast but was an excellent source of information and recommendations. The daily visits from the pheasants on the farm were an added plus for those who love fauna and flora. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryandSue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

If you want gourmet food and coffee, stunning views, old fashioned hospitality and to wake up refreshed after a lovely night sleep, stay here!!
Lonn made us feel so comfortable, we actually delayed our sight seeing each morning to linger over breakfast and coffee with him.
Thank you Lonn for helping make our honeymoon a true stay in paradise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holualoa
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
2.9 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,891 reviews
10.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
1.8 mi away
Lilikoi Inn
Lilikoi Inn
#1 of 6 in Holualoa
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast

Address: 74-4968 Mamalahoa Hwy, Holualoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96725-9604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Holualoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Holualoa
Price Range: £132 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha ka kou! Here at Hale Hualalai we embrace the Farm to Table movement and it shines in our gourmet breakfast and our 100% Kona Coffee farmed and served right here on the premises. We have a small upscale Bed and Breakfast with fine suites with views of the ocean, sunset and the beautiful Holualoa countryside. Please, come and enjoy a slice of Aloha here at Hale Hualalai! ~Ricky ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hale Hualalai Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing