We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Hale Kukui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hale Kukui
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Simply the most magnificent views on the Island. All of the units are decorated quaintly and adequately stocked for simple cooking. The smell from the fruit orchard and flowering trees is heavenly. The care takers Paula and Dan are so knowledgeable and more then helpful from the booking process to key spots to go. I would highly recommend staying here. Thank You Paula and Dan for all the tips on where to go and what to see you guys are the best.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

This place has new owners, Paula the hostess told me they have had it for about a year. Which wil probably explain why my experience was so different from the bad ones aready listed. First thing you notice when you enter the cottage is the amazing view of the coast, it's absolutely breathtaking and the whole front of the cottage is glass sliding doors so wherever you are you see this incredible view. Then there is the peace and quiet; soothing stillness broken only by the sounds of many birds singing in the orchard just below the lanai. It was just what I needed after the traffic and hustle and bustle of Kona. This place lives up to its name, an orchard retreat, that's exactly what it is, there is no tv but soon you realize that you don't need a tv here to distract you from all the surrounding natural beauty. We had thought we would return to the little town of Honokaa to get something to eat, but once in this cottage I had no desire to go anywhere else. It was enough to sit peacefully on the lanai and look at the ocean and listen to the birds. It's hard to put into words but this place has a serenity to it that you won't find many other places and I was sorry that our travel plans only allowed us to stay one night. It is a bit pricey and if you are looking for a 5 star all incusive resort this isn't it; but if you want simplicity, peace and a gorgeous view of the ocean then book it. Also the fruit trees draw wildlife, Paula told us not to walk in the orchard after dark as there had been wild pigs around but we didn't hear anything at night other than the chirping of many bright green geckos who appeared on the lanai at dusk, and a few birds who sang at night. Had a great night's sleep even with the loudly chirping geckos outside. The cottage itself was clean and had all the necessities, internet connection was good though sometimes lost the cell phone signal but really who cares here. I will definitely stay here again if I return to the area just for the peace and serenity that is hard to find anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CandyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The reviews have all been pretty accurate. This small property is ideal for exploring Waipio Valley and the Hamakua coast. All rooms have a balcony (some with soaking tub) looking out over the cliffs to the north of Waipio Valley- such a great view, and with the changing light & clouds, you never see it the same twice. Accommodations were clean and comfortable, the kitchen has pretty much anything you will need, just stock up at the market in Honoka'a. Do bring your own shampoo, however- this is not a Hilton. Paula was very pleasant, had advise on what to do when we needed her, but left us alone when we wanted that. The property has quite a nice little orchard, so Paula left avocados and fresh fruit on the dining room table, nice touch. Lovely place, highly recommended for a cozy stay on the big island.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fotobrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this lovely cottage overlookong the cliffs of the Hamakua Coast on the Northeast side of the big island. We could not get enough of this spectacular view! It is next to the Waipio Valley, and sits above a beaufitul orchard with a variety of tropical fruit trees. One large room, open and airy, with natural light - It is simply, but beautifully decorated. Leave the wall of sliding doors open all night; listen to the chorus of frogs and creepers sing you to sleep and the birds wake you up in the morning. Take the Waipi'o 4 wheel drive tour; ask for Douglas, whose grandparents lived in the valley. Excellent information about the culture, agriculture and history of this ancient and spiritual place. The only thing missing is a grill.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at hale kukui a few days back, Totally agree with everyone else's review....and to be honest were really just telling the same story - its all good.

The view is unbelievable (unless of course you live on the coast near a huge valley with amazing views). The cottage is spacious and comfortable with a good kitchen (enough to cook your own decent meals). Paula and Dan the managers are great guys and their two dogs are super friendly. The orchard is fantastic, unfortunately some of the fruit is seasonal so not everything is edible all year round....still, we managed to get hefty amounts of lychee and mango without too much issue.

The township of honoka'a nearby is basic, with a good pizza / Italian and a good supermarket. We cooked in the cottage most nights as its a lovely place to hang out with an unforgettable view.

Day trips Into the valley are easy as the lookout is 5 minutes walk down the road...

Most nights we left the sliding doors open with a great breeze coming in, waking us up with the sun in the morning...very tranquil and very relaxing.

We would suggest walking into the valley if you can handle the steep road, it's a nice way to take in the million dollar views.

Room Tip: Take some mosquito repellant, they can be very hungry in the evenings outside. Maybe have a torch ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Egg&Banana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

What an amazing location! Hale Kukui Orchard overlooks the Waipio Valley, with a lovely orchard in the foreground. It's just gorgeous. Our room (Orchard Cottage) was extremely spacious and comfortable. We wandered through the orchard and picked fresh fruit for breakfast. We only wish we could have stayed longer.

Our hostess was very congenial and helpful, but not intrusive. The facilities were all in good shape. The kitchen is more than adequate for cooking meals in.

Room Tip: The Orchard Cottage is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eeyore17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Lovely private studio with beautiful views, pick your own orchard fruit, soaking tub on the balcony.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LFCROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honokaa
18.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
43.8 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
571 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
17.9 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
21.8 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Kukui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Kukui

Address: 48-5460 Kukuihaele Rd, Mailing-P.O. Box 273, Honokaa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96727-7212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honokaa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Honokaa
Price Range: £150 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hale Kukui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
See Hale Kukui's was featured in Aloha Magazine, Sotheby's international and HGTV for its phenomenal views, great service and ranks number 1 in the area. Located in the village of Kuikuihaele just outside of Honoka'a. We have 3 cottages. A two bedroom cottage, studio cottage and orchard cottage all have spectacular ocean and Waipio views on 5 acres of exotic permaculture organic orchard with every kind of common to bizarre fruits, nuts, coffee, cocoa,, orchids and other flowers on the property. We even have our own swimming hole and a 650 foot waterfall above the famous black sand beach in Waipio Valley. Each private cottage has its own private full bathroom, lanai/deck and hot soaking tub on the lanai. Most amazing views can be seen from your bed. Extra air mattresses are possible. Great for a honeymoon or small wedding with best views on the Big Island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hale Kukui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Kukui Hawaii/Honokaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing