We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remember: book for the dinner!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Honokaa B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Milano - Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Remember: book for the dinner!”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Such a nice, secluded place! We stayed there for just one night, but it was very relaxing. When we've been there, the policy was that you have to tell in advance if you want to stay for dinner. We forgot to tell them. Honokaa, the closest town is very small. If you don't stay in the B&B, you can go there for the dinner and maybe eat at café il mondo, where we had good time. Anyway, back to the topic: the owner is very nice and friendly, she offered us an appetizer, before dinner, that we appreciated. The room are tidy and clean, the property is beautiful and well mantained. And the breakfast was delicious. I couldn't ask more.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aroudthewoooorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    12
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
146
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Our son, who lives on this island, made our reservation & we couldn't have been happier. The 3 course breakfasts are served in a room with views of both the ocean & the mountain. White tablecloths & beautiful presentations made the breakfasts, with daily menu changes, even more lovely. Tropical flowers & orchid plans abound both inside & out. The grounds are stunning & several different sites would be perfect wedding or vow renewal locations! The bed was quite comfy & the bathroom large & tiled in white & aqua with 2 picture windows with views of a pretty lily pond & the ocean. Ours had both a large tub & a large shower. The bedroom had a seating area with a large TV, tho why anyone would stay inside & watch it is beyond me.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2fromtexss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed at Waianuhea for only one night on the Big Island and sadly left the next day wanting more! Our short visit was an amazing experience that we are still talking about 2 months later. It is a wonderful B&B that has the best breakfast, dinner, rooms and the most pleasant staff. We will be back to the Big Island and Waianuhea again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationTravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We had a great stay at Waianuhea. It is in a quiet, remote hillside location yet not too far away from the coast or nearby Waimea. The common areas are extremely spacious and luxurious. Our room was clean and very comfortable. The host/service was friendly and accommodating. Best of all, there was a delicious breakfast in the morning. Our only regret is that we could not stay longer. We would gladly stay here again if we returned to the Big Island.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miaaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Top of the line. We have stayed over the years at many of the B&Bs on the Big Island. This is by far the best. From the views, hot tubs, service, food, wine, and beauty...nothing comes close to topping Waianuhea. Mahalo!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Psyche1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Hidden up in the hills above Honokaa, this small bed and breakfast enticed us with their soft beds, handmade soaps, gourmet breakfasts and generous hosts. Leave your cell phone off because up here Nature is calling - besides you probably won't get a cell signal anyway. The location is secluded, but the driving is easy to Honokaa, Waipio and Waimea. We want to say a special thanks to Peter who cooked us a fabulous 4 course dinner complete with edible flowers from his garden. If you find yourself in the northern part of the big island, we recommend splurging on this special experience.

Room Tip: The A'ala room is a bit cramped - go for the larger rooms listed on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike11201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We normally do not stay in bed and breakfast because it reminds of us being at home, like why go on vacation and stay at a place that reminds us of home. The whole point of vacation (for us) is to experience something that we normally do not. We found Waianuhea to be that something special that was unique for us to explore. We were not disappointed, and in fact, may want to try other B&Bs because of this wonderful experience.

We (2 adults and 1 tween) stayed in the Malamala (spelling?) room that has views of the ocean and mountains. The king size bed was very comfortable, and the room was large. However the twin size sofa bed was not that comfortable. We loved the fruits served at breakfast.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were well decorated. We choose the Malamala because it had a king bed and sleeing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honokaa
2.3 mi away
Honoka'a Club
Honoka'a Club
#1 of 1 in Honokaa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
22.8 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
26.3 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
25.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast

Property: Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast
Address: 45-3503 Kahana Dr, PO Box 185, Honokaa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96727-6901
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honokaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Honokaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A remote yet luxurious bed and breakfast on the big island of Hawaii. Located in beautiful Ahualoa above the town of Honokaa, Waianuhea's five guest rooms combine a sense of remote retreat with modern convenience and sumptuous furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waianuhea Hotel Honokaa
Waianuhea Bed And Breakfast
Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Honokaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing