We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, remote B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Honokaa B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This is a modern, comfortable home, well well WELL off the beaten track. This side of the island is so rural and almost cold...but the lovely fireplace, wine and hors d'oeuvres made it warm and cozy. We added the optional dinner which was exceptionally tasty (and very handy). Homemade Lavendar ice cream, with Grand Marnier and Waimea strawberries...amazing. I wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OCMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

This was our third visit and we couldn't imagine visiting the Big Island without a stop at Waianuhea. The building, artwork and decor are awesome but pale in contrast to the hospitality and warmth of the innkeepers. Definitely plan on having one of Peter's dinners on site. His homegrown food, attention to sauces and meal personalization make for one of the best dinner dining experiences on the island.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My wife and I love this place and have stayed there 10 times. We can't stay away. The staff is always helpful, welcoming, and friendly, treating guests as family rather than clients. The location is lovely and well off the beaten tourist path, the absolute opposite of a large noisy, overcrowded chain hotel. For those who want sophisticated peace and quiet in a beautiful property on quiet country roads this is the place. The breakfast served in the mornings is hearty and delicious and the evening pupu and wine hour (which often extends beyond an hour) offers the traveller a generous selection of delicious treats and the chance to meet, chat with, and get to know both fellow guests and staff. In addition, Waianuhea offers a special dinner by Chef Peter, an inventive chef (in my opinion the equal of the celebrated Merriman) and an organic farmer who grows much of the produce he serves, along with main courses of fresh fish or grass fed beef, all of which are sourced locally, followed by fabulous home made deserts (lavender ice cream, for example). A wonderful and romantic evening awaits those who schedule a meal with Peter. Attention to detail is evident throughout the stay, from the elegance of the home's furnishings to the chocolates and orchids awaiting the couple on their turned down bed each night.

GarlandKailuaKona

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarlandKailuaKona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed here for three nights midway through a two week exploration of the island. While some may view the property as pricey, it is comfortable (both the rooms and the public areas), has an accommodating and attentive staff, and the meals available are worth the additional cost and the convenience of not having to go out at night. In addition to a generous breakfast in the morning, every after noon at 5PM there is a wine and snack reception that has tasty munchies. The setting is idyllic -- in the middle of nowhere -- with no light pollution, meaning the stars at night are wonderful (almost too many to be able to clearly discern some of the constellations). While some may use this as a base for exploring this area of the island, the property is comfortable enough that is worth just hanging there for a day of R&R.

Room Tip: Each room has its relative positives -- the website gives a fair description and depiction of what t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My wife and I recently visited the Big Island and started-off at the Waianuhea B&B - accomodations were great, the property is absolutely gorgeous, and the staff are friendly and knoweldgeable. The breakfasts are amazing, the best we've experienced at a B&B. The locaton is a bit removed, but that's what we were looking for - some peace and quiet! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

As reflected in the vast number of positive sentiments conveyed by previous reviewers, yes, Waianuhea is special. Very comfortable and thoughtfully managed. It sits astride lonely country roads that are great to walk or jog on, and is in a great location to stargaze in the evenings (if cloudless). Fantastic meals (definitely go with Peter's dinners; he can personalize according to dining preference, and we found his dinners a better overall experience than anything we've had elsewhere on the Big Island). We will absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlohaLah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My wife and I spent our first two nights on Hawaii at Waianuhea. It was a great way to start our vacation. The locale is wonderful and the service superb. Randi is a gracious and knowledgeable host. We had Valentine's Day dinner prepared by chef Peter. He went out and got fresh fish that day- it was superb. One note- the A'ala room is quite small. I would opt for one of the other rooms,if available.All in all it was a great experience and we would highly recommend it.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank billcarr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honokaa
2.3 mi away
Honoka'a Club
Honoka'a Club
#1 of 1 in Honokaa
79 reviews
26.9 mi away
The Palms Cliff House Inn
26.5 mi away
Kohala Village Inn
Kohala Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Hawi
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
8.2 mi away
Hale Kukui
Hale Kukui
#1 of 1 in Honokaa
38 reviews
44.4 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast

Address: 45-3503 Kahana Dr, PO Box 185, Honokaa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96727-6901
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honokaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Honokaa
Price Range: £140 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A remote yet luxurious bed and breakfast on the big island of Hawaii. Located in beautiful Ahualoa above the town of Honokaa, Waianuhea's five guest rooms combine a sense of remote retreat with modern convenience and sumptuous furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waianuhea Hotel Honokaa
Waianuhea Bed And Breakfast
Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Honokaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing