We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waianuhea Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Honoka'a Club(Honokaa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kamuela Inn(Waimea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
199
12
2
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
12
2
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2010

My wife and I recently stayed with Waianuhea while on a vacation. We spent 3 nights there, and splurged a little extra for two dinners by Chef Peter (more on that later) and massages for us both. Overall we were very impressed with the service as the ladies were very helpful with everything and would go out of their way to make your stay truly special. The house is tucked way back off the main road making it a little tricky to get to the first time, but it really makes the location very intimate and quiet. From the house, while eating dinner or perusing the grounds, you can clearly see the summit of Mauna Kea. It seems so close that you could just walk right up! The room itself was beautiful and nicely decorated with a large soaking tub and shower, as well as a small private lanai. Also, as a bonus, the inn offers a wine and appetizer (pupus in Hawaiian) hour every night, if you'll be around, which was a great way to unwind after a long day. The massages we had by Shannon were top notch and we would highly recommend. The food was very good. Breakfasts were usually served as a fruit plate and then a main dish. The coffee was not very good and left much to be desired. We had tried lots of different kinds of Big Island coffee by the time we got here and the coffee at this inn tasted stale and like a big-box name brand. But lets talk about dinners with Peter now. The man is an amazing chef. We only planned to have him cook for us one night, but the first night was so good that we asked (on such short notice) if he'd cook for us again. Both meals were wonderful. During the first we all talked about what kinds of food we like, how we grow our own vegetables in the summer, and how my wife is quite a good home cook in her own right. This turned out to be key because for the second dinner Peter prepared dishes based on what we talked about! All of his food was from his own (or a friend's) garden when he could get it, or at least from a local source on the island. For a three course dinner we paid a total of $100 for both of us and I have to say that this is an outstanding deal, and a great bargain. You get top notch food, great service, a personal touch, local ingredients, and you would end up spending much more than this at a decent restaurant. In addition to all these great things, the whole inn is run on sustainable energy. The rain water is collected and recycled and all the power is generated from solar. Amazing! All in all the inn was great and our stay was wonderful. We very much look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eds528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

We enjoyed our stay, the entire place is beautiful, and the surrounding pasture lands and woodlands are lovely with the blue ocean in the distance. Our room was pretty and very quiet, and the food was delicious. The staff is excellent and took excellent care of us. For my husband, however, the place was a little "over the top," meaning full of little things that are not to his taste, i.e., some "designer-y" furniture that is more aesthetic than comfortable, fancy flowery soaps, the wine hour... in his words, "it's very B&B"--which I enjoy more than he does. We liked one couple very much, but found another couple staying there to be a bit pretentious and critical, which definitely impacted our experience. The roosters also bothered him one night, and he was unable to get back to sleep after they started at it full throttle at 4am. None of these things bothered me, and they are certainly not criticism of the establishment, but I mention them because these details might help others choose an accommodation that is suited to their particular tastes.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fivecastles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2009

I delayed writing this review, because Waianuhea is one of those places that you don't want to change. It is a hidden gem - I don't want it to get so popular that it will be hard to get in and the prices go up. But I finally decided, that is not fair to the innkeepers and owners, who do such a wonderful job at making this a perfect place to stay. So, here goes...
We stayed here because it's so close to Waipio Valley. The inn is gorgeous - filled with interesting art and decor from all over the world. The common areas are palatial. It feels like you're staying with very wealthy friends at their country manor. The innkeeper (Ginger) made us feel at home immediately as we sat out on the back deck with the wine and appetizers she provided. And she was so accommodating to any requests we had. During our stay, we had the whole place to ourselves. We chose one of the less expensive rooms (Olu'Olu) which was very comfortable. There is another smaller room that gets a nice breeze through the patio screen door, but it doesn't have much space for suitcases. The other 2 larger rooms are more expensive but quite grand. And there is a suite that's more like a small house (good for families). They have the biggest selection of videos that I have ever seen outside a video rental store. The breakfast is not just fruit and breads - it is a full gourmet breakfast and it was really delicious. There is a little kitchen off the Great Room for guests so you can use the refrigerator, microwave, glasses, etc. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with rolling green lawns that entice you to go wandering. The owner's husband was working in their organic garden and let us taste different herbs, and gooseberries (which are enclosed in pods that look like little chinese lanterns). One night wasn't enough here. You need a whole day to just hang out and enjoy the place. Lots of "Aloha" here! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnowsHowToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We came half way around the world from Israel to this place after doing research. Our visit to the big Island was the final place of a three week tour wich included Las Vegas (stayed at Bellagio) & Maui (stayed at Ritz Carlton).
The service was above any standrd we experienced before. We booked 3 nights to the Olu' Olu room. On our first night there was a problem with the hot water and as a compensation we were upgraded for the whole 3 nights to the larger LI'OLI'O room (no extra charge) even though the hot water problem was imediatly fixed.
The staff was very welcoming, proactive, freindly and helpful. Being local they gave us good tips a important information about the places we planned to visit on the island.
The food was not only very tastefull but also served so beutifuly that we took pictures of our dishes to enjoy their beauty again.
The room was designed in a way that gave a relaxing feeling. The gardens around the Inn are well kept and designed with exclusive good taste(we also took many pictures of the gardens and the ocean view & Mauna Kea Observatory wich we could see sparkel in the morning sunrise.
There is also a massage room, a spa bathtub, free internet.
The only thing we didn't like was the road leading up to the Inn. It's a narrow one lane road were parts of it gave us a feeling of traveling in a tunnel. On our first night we drove through this road in the dark and were not sure that the GPS was taking us to the right place (there were no signs along the rod to give us confidence) and we were very scared.
We recommend you that on the first day you get to the Inn before dark so that you will feel more comfterable driving up there at night.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

For the last four days of our one week honeymoon on the Big Island, we wanted a space to relax, eat good food and still have access to beaches on the west side of the island. We toyed with the idea of one of the big resorts but, in addition to being somewhat (or extremly) out of our price range, the santized environment and hordes of kids just wasn't what we were after. A few detailed internet searches led us to Waianuhea and what a perfect spot.

Tucked into the mountains above the adorable hamlet of Honoka'a, about a 20 minute drive from the town of Waimea, complete with its growing gormet scene, this B&B feels like home, if your home is a gorgeous, eco-friendly house with well-appointed rooms and attentive staff. It is best to arrive during daylight the first time,lest you think you've missed a turn. You haven't- the spot is situated about 4 miles up a hill in a rural residential envirnment. Views stretch out over rolling hills to the sea on one side and the other looks up to Mt. Mauna Kea, where, on the (rare) clear morning, you can see the telescopes forming alien pods high above the island. These are welcome sights at breakfast if you can tear your eyes away from the bounty in front of you.

Each morning, Sonja started us off with a homemade baked good of some sort. One day it was a carrot pinapple bread, another day, a mango muffin and perhaps the next day a strawberry coconut scone. All were served still warm from the oven and I will confess that when we were the only couple there, I queried to my husband- what do they do with the rest?

But it was good I kept my gluttony in check for the second course was either a plate or a parfait of fresh island fruit and homemade yogurt with toasted macadamia nuts to crumble on top.

All of this seems like plenty to start the day, but the main breakfast- something like a tortilla with beans, avocado and scrambled eggs with a tequila lime sausage or a smoked salmon benedict on a bagel with a lemon caper hollandaise was awaiting our knife and fork.

Because the food is made to order, Sonja can easily work around likes and dislikes adn dietary requirements.

After such a meal, it would have been tempting to retire to our room, where an amazing king size bed with high thread count sheets was turned down with chocolates and a note each night. But it was time to leave the 7 acres of well-tended grounds to explore the island or to borrow the boogie board and snorkles Sonja kindly loaned us at no charge.

Most days we came back in time for the 5:00 wine and pupu hour, where salad caprese and pesto toast or shrimp cocktail were served with wine or soft drinks. One night, when we had the whole place to ourselves, we had a dip in the outside hot tub and marveled at the sky. With fewlights reaching up into the hillside, adn Hawaii's Big Island sky known for its clarity, the starts were the best entertainment on the island.

A large DVD collection and flat screens in every room are also available should yu desire. You can cook your own food on their deck but we weer too busy explring the treats of Waimea- two of the states best dining experiences are here as is a new and inexpensive sushi bar. The B&B is not only about a 30 minute drive to the dry side beaches of South Kohala, but is very close to the amazing pristine valley of Waipio, whose black sand beach is well worth the steep hike down (and then up) into the valley.

In all, to us this was by far a much better choice than an impersonal hotel. We had plenty of privacy and seclusion but the staff was also able to make us feel welcome and provide tips when we needed. Don't miss this place!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aspiringnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews