We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malasada”

Tex Drive In & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Honokaa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Newbury Park, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Malasada”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Had to taste the malasada and local food as instructed by our LA relatives. The bakery viewing window gave us a free demonstration how pastries were prepared

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kumafu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    286
    102
    33
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
229 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“All malasadas all the time”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

On our way between Hilo and Kona, we had to stop for malasadas. We had heard they rivaled Punalu'u Bakery for the best on the island. We tried to order mango since we hadn't seen those at Punalu'u, but they were already out of several flavors by lunch time. I am not surprised, the line was long early in the day. We did manage to get plain and apple, and WOW, they were huge and hot and delicious. We were covered in sugar after just one and were very glad we stopped (and sorry we missed it on our first time round the island). We did not order any other food, but loads of people were there getting curry soups and other entrees to eat outside on the patio area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie_B_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
157 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Delicious and fresh malasadas!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

A local in Kona recommended Tex’s when he heard that we were exploring the area near Waipio valley and northeastern part of the Big Island for the day. We don’t usually make “doughnuts” part of our diet but actually stopped twice at Tex’s in one day! It’s a regular walk-in, order at the counter restaurant and very popular with the locals. The menu is large and varied including more traditional Hawaiian dishes, typical burger fare and malasadas. You can watch them make the malasadas, a lightly fried rectangular doughnut with a space inside, throughout the day. When you order one, you pick a filling from a list of 8 to 10 choices and they hand it to you warm and freshly filled. We had the cream and strawberry jelly fillings which were both good as well as an order of onion rings which were okay. On our return trip by Tex’s we shared an apple malasada which was filled with something close to apple sauce and not that great. I’m sure we’ll stop by Tex’s on a return trip to the Big Island.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank farish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver BC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Malasadas!!!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

A great stop to Waipio Valley for a coffee and a fresh Malasada! Budget friendly and a wide variety of breakfast and lunch options. But the malasadas are the main attraction. Plain or fresh guava were the favorites!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twinmum2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Malasada Heaven”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is the only place on the Island, maybe in the world to have the best malasada! I only ever get the original ones, as I don't want to ruin the 'donut' by filling it with a too sweet filling. If you bring the fixings home to cook, it never tastes the same. However, you can take them on a car trip and eat them later and they are still wonderful

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank llvassoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tex Drive In & Restaurant also viewed

Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Tex Drive In & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing