We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Grandma would be proud! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gramma's Kitchen

Gramma's Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Honokaa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
A TripAdvisor Member
“Grandma would be proud! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Our family of 4, plus grandma, had a late lunch while traveling to see the lookout. Service was friendly and timely. Restaurant is small but clean and casual. Food was better than expected. My daughter enjoyed the chocolate chip pancakes even offered after lunch for the kids. Beer battered Ono and the 1/2 lb burger were excellent. We would definitely recommend stopping at grandma's when you are on the north side of the island.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    40
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
898 reviews
654 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 575 helpful votes
“Broke the Mouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

That's an old Hawaiian expression for the most delicious food and it applies here.
We met Larry and his daughter in law as soon as we arrived here.
Larry was born in Honoka'a and never left. He's the personification of the Aloha Spirit. You cannot not love this guy. We share a common love for old rock and roll music circa 1950s. Every time one of us came up with the first part of an oldie but goody, the other one finished
the stanza. The crowd loved it.
Now, about the food here. They served a grilled Ono plate for breakfast that comes with five good-sized pieces of Ono grilled in Grandma's special sauce, scrambled eggs, rice, and toast for an amazing price.
The hamburger steak is two large hand-made patties of grass fed beef, scrambled eggs and two big scoops of brown rice. This was the best burger on the Big Island and costs half of the resort burgers.
The most important feeling I got after being here was the sense of Ohana.
Larry has a saying: "If you eat at Grandmas within two days, you'll feel like a Kama'aina."
There were folks here from all over and they were all having fun.
Don't miss visiting Grandma's Kitchen if you're in Honoka'a and say hi to Larry for me.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank bobemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME FOOD AND YOU FEEL LIKE YOU'RE FAMILY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We eat out quite a bit. Restaurants can have great food, ambience, etc., but what we look for most is feeling like we're family. Gramma's DOES IT ALL! Awesome fresh made-to-order food, awesome food, and a feeling like you're part of their family! Thank you for opening your doors and hearts to all of us to enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Honolulufunfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Bomb!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Best breakfast place we've been to on the Big Island!! Friendly, speedy service - The Ignacio family has hit another home run right out of the ballpark! Decor is charming and quaint - makes me wish I was Portuguese - if you are, you really need to make a visit there no matter where you live on the islands. Real comfort food prepared just like in "Grandma's Kitchen" - you leave feeling full and satisfied and wanting to return often.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malolo Island, Fiji
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Clean restaurant, good food, great service, cheap.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

FBI. The Big Island isn't known for particularly good grinds. Grandma's Kitchen is a welcome exception. There's nothing not to like about this restaurant. It isn't haute cuisine, but it's tasty and fresh and well presented. The owners and staff work their tails off and it shows. It's worth the drive either from Waimea or Hilo to have an enjoyable meal that won't break the bank. I just have to say again that this place is clean!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nature_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gramma's Kitchen also viewed

Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Gramma's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing