We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went there for lunch and took home dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gramma's Kitchen

Gramma's Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Honokaa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clifton Springs, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Went there for lunch and took home dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stopped here for lunch. It was great but so much food we ended up taking home for dinner. We had the Porteguese Bean soup and we both wished we had ordered a bowl and nothing else. I had the fish and fried calamari and it was so tasty. The calamari melted in the mouth - nothing like what you get in NYS. The service was great. They explained everything to you and asked everyone that came in where they were from. And they knew all the locals by name. Very impressed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    42
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Great food with hometown feel. Honokaa is a pretty area of the big island well worth the drive from Hilo or Kona.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Drew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stumbled on this lovely little restaurant while passing through town. As we were assessing whether or not to go in, two customers in the window waved to us and gave us the thumbs up. When we went in, it was the sweetest little restaurant I have ever seen with pictures of notable Hawaiian residents and memories of two Portuguese grandmothers who were the inspiration for the place.

The staff were incredible friendly and made us feel right at home.

The menu was simple but full of delicious meals that were generously sized. It was like we had a meal at someone's house... it was so lovely and cosy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ono Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Ono (Hawaiian for delicious) Fish and Chips - it was also the fish...Friends had the French Toast that was marvelous, so was the Calamari and Chips. Big portions, very clean and friendly atmosphere. They serve breakfast all day. I highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Name says it all.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed lunch here after our ATV tour of Waipio valley. We were welcomed with a friendly greeting and immediately found a table in the small but comfortable dining area. One of the hosts asked where we were visiting from, and then announced our presence to the entire restaurant. What a fun way to start our lovely meal!

I opted for the daily special of beer-battered ono fish 'n' chips. I was not disappointed. The entire menu looked great, and every dish that came out of the kitchen caught my eye on the way to its awaiting hungry guest.

Stop in and enjoy a great meal with a group of wonderful people. You'll be happy you did.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scootyward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gramma's Kitchen also viewed

Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Gramma's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing