We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be prepared to socialize” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gramma's Kitchen

Gramma's Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Honokaa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Be prepared to socialize”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The owners of the restaurant are very nice folk. They work hard and take very good care of you. They will make every effort to offer you what you want. The husband works the kitchen and the wife runs the floor. Very pleasant place to sit and enjoy a healthy breakfast.
Middle of the road prices. Wide variety on the menu. Went there several times and would go back just to meet the folks.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tarahblahsiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    42
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
91 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great little hidden treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Went for lunch, they worked the tables fast, seated, ordered, served, all very fast - in a good way.
Small town atmosphere, friendly, food was excellent - this is definitely a keeper on my list.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KonaLance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stopped here for lunch, delicious fresh salads. My daughter loved the macaroni cheese and my husband loved his fried chicken. Very tasty food of high quality which is excellent value for money with friendly service. Lots of healthy options and kids' options too. Would definitely recommend :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RMWSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best hamburger on the Big Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I both had the burger and both want to keep coming back.

Whether you're on your way up to Waipio Valley, on your way back to the highway after seeing the valley, or just plain hungry, this is worth the stop as you roll through Honokaa.

Helpful?
1 Thank AustinAnalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I ate here on our way from Hilo to the Kohala Coast based on the Tripadvisor rating. We weren't disappointed at all. We both ordered burgers - my wife had the standard cheeseburger and I had a bacon and blue cheese burger. We upgraded our side orders to onion rings and garlic cheese fries. The burgers were perfect - cooked medium rare with just a bit of pink so that they were juicy and flavorful. And both the onion rings and french fries were a cut about the ordinary as well.

Service was quick and attentive. Would eat here again for sure if we're ever in the neighborhood again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertBeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gramma's Kitchen also viewed

Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Gramma's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing