We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable and quiet”
Review of Waipio Wayside B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Honokaa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waipio Wayside B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Honokaa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We spent 2 nights here and enjoyed it very much. Very convenient to Waipio Valley and perfectly located between Kona and Hilo, if that is your touring route. Jacqueline, the host is very friendly and accomodating. Love the assortment of teas! We stayed in the Plantation room. Very comfortable beds. The sound of the coqui frogs lulled us to sleep after a full day of hiking. The many books in the front room kept us interested in the evening. The patio and gazebo in the back is a very relaxing area. We would definitely return on our next trip to Hawaii!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Pals_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

So, we rolled into Hilo, took one look at a hotel selection from 1984 and knew we needed a plan b. Having passed the waipio wayside earlier in the day when we visited the rim, we called and were graciously offered a. Room by Jacqueline. It was charming, clean and the frogs at night sing a wicked lullaby. Breakfast is creative and fresh, conversation pleasant and the local directions excellent. Zero complaints!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WCfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We decided to stay close to Waipio Valley to hike down to the fantastic black beach down below. Jacqueline was a fantastic hostess. Her home is inspirational, designed to make you feel good. The giant library of books on Hawaii and Japan that is available for reading is a great feature as well. We were very sorry to miss the breakfast that we heard so much about as we had to depart early but Jacqueline even arranged a takeaway breaky for us. Overall a lovely retreat.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jtizorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Charming B & B in a great location to use as a base while exploring the Waipio Valley and the NE side of the island. Jacqueline is a wonderful host who serves a great breakfast and is also very helpful in making suggestions for things to see and do in that area. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Outlandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Enjoyed a two night stay at the B&B late March.
Jacqueline was a charming host who assisted us with helpful advice for activities . The room was comfortable, immaculate and charming.
Lots of beautiful, stylish touches, especially loved the locally hand blown juice glasses that accompanied the yummy breakfast !!! I would highly recommend this B&B.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ravisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is a nice, quiet B&B with easy access to the Waipio Valley. Jacqueline is a lovely host who makes the experience of staying at her place feel like visiting old friends. The house has a large, centrally located sitting area and open dining area that encourage the guests to sit and chat. Jacqueline's breakfasts are very good, and not your typical fare. We had a very nice time staying here and would do so again if we ever get back to Hawaii.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We read wonderful reviews about this place, but decided to stay at another establishment as it was in the heart of Honokaa. After checking in, our hearts sank as our accommodations lacked the basic things it promised. We checked out the next day and were greeted at Waipio Wayside with fresh baked cookies and hot tea. We enjoyed our little treat on a beautiful community deck, where we chatted with other visitors. Due to our last minute reservations, we had to settle for the smallest room--but it was clean, well furnished and perfect for our one night stay. Our breakfast was excellent, and Jacqueline was the most gracious and accommodating host. Loved this little gem. Definitely a hidden treasure.

Room Tip: The Moon Room is near the shared living area and has a private detached bath. If you want privacy y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honokaa
2.2 mi away
Honoka'a Club
Honoka'a Club
#1 of 1 in Honokaa
75 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
22.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia
29.5 mi away
The Palms Cliff House Inn
25.4 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipio Wayside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipio Wayside B&B

Address: 46-4226 Honokaa Waipio Rd, Box 840, Honokaa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96727-7053
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Honokaa
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Honokaa
Price Range: £72 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waipio Wayside Bed and Breakfast is a traditional B&B located along the stunning Hamakua coast. Minutes from Waipio Valley, the Hawaiian valley of the Kings. Waipio Wayside is a relaxing retreat for those of you looking for "old Hawaii." We are happy to offer 5 bedrooms all with private bathroom. A great organic breakfast all with local ingredients and a tea bar open all of the time. WIFI, Hawaiian Library & DVD library. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waipio Wayside B&B Hawaii/Honokaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing