We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone”

Skyline Eco Adventures - Akaka Falls
Book In Advance
More Info
US$187.45*
and up
Hilo Zipline over KoleKole Falls
More Info
US$239.53*
and up
Hilo Shore Excursion: Hamakua Coast Zipline over KoleKole Falls
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Honomu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Skyline Eco-Adventures was voted the #1 Zipline Company in Hawaii 2017 by Hawaii Magazine's Best of the Best Readers Choice Award and Skyline Akaka Falls was voted the #1 Zipline tour in the Hawaiian Islands. Skyline Eco Adventures near Akaka Falls is the best Zipline Tour on Hawaii Island. Cascading nearly 250 ft. privately owned KoleKole Falls is one of the World's most spectacular waterfalls. KoleKole Falls passes under your feet as you glide effortlessly 500ft high through the air. An adventure which is unmatched in Hawaii, with ziplines that pass above jaw dropping scenery along unrivaled spans - Skyline Eco Adventure sets a new standard for family adventure along the Big Island's famed Hamakua Coast. Our ziplines start off small and gradually increase in length and height, allowing zippers to prepare for line #7 which reaches a length of over 3,000 ft! Number of Ziplines: 7 ziplines. Tour length: 2-2 1/2 hours. Location: Honomu, Big Island (Near Akaka Falls State Park)
Morristown, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

If you are a novice, the easy starting line and the successive building of length and heights will make you feel like a seasoned zipper by the end when you do one of the arguably most spectacular runs in zipdom. If you are already seasoned suck it up and show off on the early lines and be prepared to have a top run at the end.

Found the guides (thanks David) to be very helpful, with appropriate humor and knowledge and with good tips based on skill and comfort levels. I had a long chat with the owner and came away very impressed with concern for safety and the high level of effort to keep his lines so.

As others have noted when you can no longer see the person ahead of you at the end of the line over a roaring falls you KNOW you are going to have a great experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank s1jag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkCity0001, Owner at Skyline Eco Adventures - Akaka Falls, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
I appreciate your comments about our zipline. We stress fun but safety is our number 1 theme here. Our oldest zipper was 95 years old and said it best, "Now I've done it all".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    892
    81
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“woo hoo!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We did 7 zip lines, starting small and getting comfortable, ending with over 1,000 feet over the waterfall. I always felt safe, the guides were efficient and kind. A lady was hesitant and they waited until she was ready. They explained the fields, flora and waterways, and gave us fresh-off-the-tree bananas to eat as we waited at one site. We all loved it, teenagers to us oldsters. The teens were hanging upside down. The host, Kelley, was friendly and helpful.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Awesome and exhilarating experience!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

A must-do on the Big Island...amazing experience...our guides were very professional and really fun. Would love to do it again!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ValerieObrien2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkCity0001, Manager at Skyline Eco Adventures - Akaka Falls, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
We are so glad you had such a great time on our zipline. We were glad to be able to share a little bit of Hawaii with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hilo
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fun Zipline in Honomu”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Last 2 lines were awesome. Great guides, very informative and professional. Beautiful views. Had a great experience.

Helpful?
Thank kcitygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a blast”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

7 runs through banana groves culminating in a 3/4 mile line over a beautiful gorge with views of an impressive waterfall. Guides were excellent with an emphasis on safety. Would highly recommend, even for those of us of advanced age.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Curt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkCity0001, Owner at Skyline Eco Adventures - Akaka Falls, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
I have to tell you that we also have a great time meeting our visitors like you. We love to share the thrill and the environment with our guests. An amazingly crazy last line like #7 does bring it all together though doesn't it. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skyline Eco Adventures - Akaka Falls also viewed

 
Hawi, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Skyline Eco Adventures - Akaka Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing