We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, spacious, private” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golf Villas Mauna Lani

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golf Villas Mauna Lani
Haines, Alaska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean, spacious, private”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our family of four stayed here (O-23) for 2 weeks. Normally, we stay in the Waikoloa Beach Resort area but we decide to stay at the Golf Villas for something different. The condo was clean and well stocked with extras. The beds were comfortable and we loved the river rock lined shower in the master bath. The loft provided the perfect area for our kids to play without taking up the living space. There were boogie boards, beach toys, umbrellas, and 2 bikes available in the garage. We enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. The pool, while not huge, has a few lagoon areas which the kids enjoyed. The Mauna Lani Beach club area was spectacular, with soft sand, plenty of walking trails through the fish ponds on the right, and clear water for snorkeling. It was so easy to drive to the beach with sufficient parking that we never bothered walking there (although you could in 10-15 min). In general, the Mauna Lani area does not have the bustle of people, shopping, and restaurants as the Waikoloa Beach Resort area. But if you want peace and quiet, and access to a private beach with a nice restaurant nearby, this condo at Golf Villas is the one to choose.

Room Tip: Make sure your condo has dedicated wifi and isn't just sharing someone else's service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spottednewt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    3
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We found this 2 bedroom ground floor villa through VRBO (http://www.vrbo.com/351443). This is our third visit to Mauna Lani- we stayed before at Fairways Villas and Kulalani. While we enjoyed all our stays at Mauna Lani which has beautiful fishpond preserves and petroglyh fields, this villa has been the best in terms of comfort and value.

The villa is spotless and perfectly set for a comfortable stay, including a well equipped kitchen, TVs in the living room and bedrooms, as well as boogie boards, snorkeling gear, beach towels and chairs, which are not usually provided in similar rentals.

The Golf Villas property has a small but well equipped fitness room, nice swimming pool, and an excellent jacuzzi. It is about 1 mile away from the Mauna Lani Beach Club and 1.5 mile away from a beautiful black sand beach which can be reached through another nearby property. Both have well preserved corrals and are arguably among the best snorkeling spots on the Big Island.

The interactions with the owner were very friendly and efficient, the rent is one of the lowest in this resort, making this rental an excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jog4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville,WA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

We rented D-3 thru VRBO, and could not be more pleased with our townhouse! Not only was it spacious, comfortable, clean, but the location was perfect for us. The furnishings are first class, and the unit had most everything one would need. This unit overlooks the golf course. The pool area is beautifully landscaped, and we enjoyed meeting other visitors there. We loved the location, as it was quiet, yet within 20 minutes to Kona, and less to Waimea for shopping and other restaurants. Best for families with small children or couples. Hope to stay here again, it was wonderful!

Room Tip: D-3 which is a 3 bedroom handles 8 people easily. Also has garage and extra parking spot as well as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvgr8trvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

My family of four and I stayed at Pineapple Villa for a two week Christmas vacation last year. It was our fourth year celebrating the holidays in the Big Island and we stayed in a smaller Golf Villa condo the year before. We found Pineapple Villa through VRBO and were very happy with our choice. The amenities were perfect, the condo was well appointed and very roomy. We did not have upstairs neighbors like the year before so it was very quiet and relaxing. There were toys for the children and lots of beach stuff to use. The owners were accessible and very friendly. Though last year we experienced epic trade winds, the beach club was the best place to spend the day. We snorkeled, paddled and lazed around in the sand. There were a lot of families and children that our kids were entertained every day. The reviewer who mentioned roaches in Pineapple Villa stayed around the same time we did. I personally didn't see any during our stay but having grown up in the Pacific Islands, roaches don't freak me out. It's part of island life. BTW we booked Pineapple Villa again for this coming Christmas and can't wait to go! Highly Recommended for sure!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariahOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

Love carrying all of you own luggage up a long narrow staircase the minute you arrive for your vacation in Hawaii? The The Golf Villa's Unit J-22 is just for you.

We have stayed in the Mauna Lani for 10+ years and list was hands down the worst unit we have ever stayed at. THIS IS NOT A UNIT FOR ANYONE WITH ANY PHYSICAL ISSUES, even if it's just being tired after a round of golf. All the stairs in this unit get real old real fast!

The pictures look nice in all the ads but the la out of the unit is entirely dysfunctional, you can't see the televisions from the chairs in the living room or loft. There are NO televisions in either bedroom. There is no pantry space for your food items. The Freezer door doesn't even open all the way. We even had to call to ask for a standard sized trash can! (Which was provided to us promptly.) The management company we rented through even "required" that we do all laundry - including sheets and towels (leaving no more than two loads). Finally, the wireless was very spotty. Cheap! And the unit shows that is not not very well made - we could hear more than we wanted to from our neighbor's downstairs!

We will continue to vacation at the Mauna Lani, just not at the Golf Villas. We will stay at the Point, the Islands, Kulalani, Ka Milo, anywhere but here!

Room Tip: Never stay at any condo that says simply "second floor", or "penthouse" be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JeffreyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

The Villa
I don't enjoy writing negative posts so when I have to ...I dont intend to go into the detail. Suffice to say ...the owners of this property are doing themselves and their property a diservice. It has so much potential but the broken, tired (battered!) appearance of most of the furniture, linen and kitchen crockery and utensils lets it down. Most of the towels we were provided were threadbare ....proving completely useless when you were wet! They had a damp smell to them and despite putting everything in the wash on day 2 ....we discovered it was actually the washing machine that had this damp, mouldy smell so we stood no chance. The fridge was packed with previous guests condiments .... the entire door in fact .... so chockablock that even if you were brave enough to venture into one of the bottles (how old?!?!?) ...you'd struggle to pull it out. The crockery was mismatched, chipped and don't even get me started on the frustration of trying to find a knife that would cut.

Fortunately we checked the gas level for the BBQ on arrival before the cleaner departed ....it was empty. We managed to get a replacement two days later.

The Resort
Reading these reviews its obvious that there are some pretty stunning villas and we just had the bad luck of booking a poor one. So ...assuming you've secured yourself one of the better villas then this resort will make a good vacation. There are only two negatives for us ....which I think are more a personal preference so might not bother you :

(1) You need a car to get everywhere. We like being car-free on vacation so were a little dissapointed to see that we needed to drive to the beach, the shop, the coffee shop ....everywhere. The reading material says there are footpaths ...we tried this one day and called our friends to collect us at the end point because we were so exhausted and sun exposed. The paths are rocky and exposed .... we landed up using the road in the end as it was more direct and easier for walking.

(2) A number of the villas have terraces to the rear overlooking the golf courses and lava field ...sounds nice but they're actually quite dark and windy. We never seemed to enjoy sitting on the terrace as it was too cool ...which might be good on a searing hot day but as we were experiencing normal Hawaiin temps .... this would not be ideal. In hindsight we would look for a villa that had ocean or garden views next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank NZ_SandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

We rented the Pineapple Villa in Golf Villas building K through vrbo.com/302993. The condo was infested with roaches. As the days went on it just kept getting worse and worse. Even our rental car got infested as the roaches moved from the condo to the garage. They knew about the problem because there were roach traps everywhere. Advised owner and manager, they offered us 3 free days in the future and never gave any sort of refund on the over $1800 we spent renting their condo. Unbelievable, we would never set foot in that place again. The only positives were the beautiful swimming pool at the condo complex and ocean beach club. Other than that It was the worst vacation we ever spent on the island.

It is so unfortunate this condo was such a disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank milesjh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
4.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.4 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
5.0 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
0.1 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
2.0 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golf Villas Mauna Lani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golf Villas Mauna Lani

Property: Golf Villas Mauna Lani
Address: 68-1310 Mauna Lani Dr, Mauna Lani, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Waimea
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Golf Villas Mauna Lani Hotel Waimea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing