We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cowboy up.”
Review of Dahana Ranch

Dahana Ranch
Ranked #4 of 47 things to do in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A working cattle ranch that allows tourists to drive cattle.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cowboy up.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Spend the time and get to know the Ranch as well as herding Cattle. Great Horse Patch. Would love to take her back home. Well Trained and extremely responsive. A great Wrangler Dustin. What's more to say. Mahalo

Helpful?
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    23
    4
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kalama, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great and memorable experience!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I and our 17 year old daughter booked a 2 1/2 hour range round-up experience. Our guide / wrangler was Dustin -- one of the sons of the owner. He was great with all of us. He first took us out for a quick ride to evaluate our riding abilities, and then offered some great riding tips to improve our control of the horses (tips never given before on any other ride we'd had). Then he had us ride, trot, cantor in various places -- even had us compete with each other for trotting to a location without letting our horses 'shift down'. Then -- we were ready for the days work. We rounded up 3 groups of cattle all located in various corners of the huge ranch. It was a great experience - there were lots of moms and new babies, adults, and different kinds of herds (longhorn, angus, etc.). At one point, we had to go through a riding pen that was set up for barrel racing, and he let each of us do the barrel racing course -- great fun, since we all love watching barrel racing in rodeos. We will definitely be back. A real highlight of our trip!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank wishIwasthere99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great ride on the ranch”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a horse back ride that was not your usual tail to head trail ride - this was it. Our guide constantly encouraged us to wander on our own, trot or cantor and enjoy the vast ranch. For two hours we traversed the ranch. Near the end he spotted cattle that were in the wrong field and we spent the final 20min herding about 30 cattle. Very fun for novice cowboys!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Onetreegroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic horseback riding”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Thank you Dahana Ranch, particularly Cami, on a great ride for our family! We found this ranch on a tip from from friends, and it seems to be the only place on the Big Island where my kids could ride (ages 4 and 6). Not only did they each have their own horse which was led by the trip leader, but she even let my 6-year old direct his own horse for the last leg of the ride. The view are gorgeous, and the horses are very calm.

Both of my kids ranked horseback riding with Dahana as one of their favorites for the trip. Highly recommend checking it out!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No nose to tail but a walk in a square”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The horses are well trained and gentle and the staff friendly. However, the 1 1/2 hour ranch ride is nothing more than walking -with 2 very brief opportunities to trot or canter- in straight lines along the boundaries of the property. The scenery is thus kind of monotonous considering the fabulous location. Expensive considering.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dahana Ranch also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Honokaa, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Island of Hawaii, HI
 

Been to Dahana Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing