We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful, cozy, beautiful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waimea Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Waimea B&B and Inns
Ipswich, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Restful, cozy, beautiful!”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We had such a wonderful stay here earlier this week - we didn't want to leave! Barbara and Charlie, the hosts, have been at this a while and it really shows with their attention to detail, both in the property (impeccably maintained) and in the guest suite itself. We stayed two nights in the Kohala Cottage. The website doesn't do it justice! The full kitchen was perfect for us to cook dinner in (Waimea restaurants can get a little pricey, but the local KTA grocery store has the best provisions), and the breakfast fare left in our fridge (breads and gorgeous fresh fruits) allowed us to eat as early or late as we wished.
The inn has such a pleasant, relaxing, cozy atmosphere, combined with the hosts' genuine warmth and friendliness, that makes it feel like staying with friends, but the bathroom and the amenities feel more like a first-class resort. Everything was absolutely spotless. We had everything we needed to explore around the area, including a full set of beach gear to borrow, and a crib for our one-year-old son. Some places simply won't accept young children as guests, but Barbara welcomed our baby literally with open arms. I talked with Barbara at one point, hoping that Baby's crying hadn't disturbed our neighbor, but she said they had done a very careful job of insulating between the cottages so sound won't bother guests. I was relieved!
I just can't say enough good things about Waimea Gardens. You may notice that I have marked only four stars for "value," but take that with a grain of salt: we are typically budget travelers who are happy to sleep in a tent, so this place was a bit of a splurge for us. But it probably is a very good value for such a prime location. Really everything was just right. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OutdoorMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
50
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, HI
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Exceeded all our expectations. Serene setting, well furnished and probably the cleanest place I have ever stayed - far better than hotels. Daily replenishment of papaya and lime, starfruit, bananas, OJ, milk, granola and eggs from the back yard, plus Kona coffee and a peach tea my wife loved. Only regret is that we did not have time to make a fire in the stone fireplace in the cool evenings. Several excellent restaurants are about a mile distant. Barbara and Charlie are fine folks and run an outstanding B&B!

Room Tip: All three cottages are fine, but the Waimea has a stone fireplace and wood on hand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC Metro area
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My wife and I recently stayed 4 nights at the Waimea garden cottage. We chose to stay in the town of Waimea as a home base for seeing the north and west parts of the island. The cottage was fantastic and above our expectations. The cottage had everything, kitchen area, wood fireplace, small seating area, flat screen tv, comfy bed, large closets, double sink separate from bathroom room, brick patio. The decor was very nice and the owners seemed to have thought of every detail. There were beach towels and chairs, extra towels, bug spray, flashlights, radio and cd player, dvd player, blankets, pillows, etc. Felt right at home here. Every morning there was fresh juice, eggs, and slices of bread in the refrig for breakfast. The surrounding yard is nicely landscaped. The only negative thing I can say is hearing the round noise in the morning, other than that, nothing but positives. The owners are very friendly. The location was great, as you are less than 30 minutes to the beaches (easy access down Hwy 19 to any of the beaches going towards Kona), and about 20 minutes to the northern coast via hwy 250. The town has two supermarkets (we liked the Foodland)and plenty of restaurants. If you're there on a Sat, go to the farmers market downtown, the local vendor food was fantastic. It was a great place to come back to every day after touring the island. We would highly recommend both the town and the B&B. We compared everything else on the island to both.

Room Tip: The town is at 2,500 feet elevation, so it can be a little chilly at night as compared to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mkjbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

This was our second trip to the Big Island and returning to Waimea Gardens was one of our best decisions in planning this trip. Barbara and Charlie, our delightful hosts, made us feel like family returning after a long absence. The cottage was spotless, the decor was tasteful and the fresh fruits and bread were always there for breakfast. The lush and quiet natural setting is most welcome after an active day. Thank you, Barbara & Charlie!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HHI_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We just returned from a lovely vacation on the Big Island, highlighted by our stay at the Waimea Gardens Cottage. We stayed in the largest cottage, and just loved it. The bathroom is heavenly, including lots of thick towels, spa products, and the best smelling sandalwood soap I've ever used, the bed is extraordinary, and the housekeeping service is splendid. The hosts, Barbara and Charlie, are so friendly and welcoming. We really love the self-serve breakfast concept. Delicious fruit, granola, coffee, juice, toast, and even fresh eggs from the garden chickens. Being able to make our own breakfast each morning was convenient and relaxing. Too many B&Bs, in our experience, have breakfast schedules that are not always convenient. This was perfect. The grounds are beautiful, and the location is very conducive to hiking and snorkeling in the area. Hanupa Beach State Park, about 8 miles down the road, is one of the loveliest beaches in Hawai'i, if not the entire U.S.
We would not hesitate to stay at Waimea Garden Cottages again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seg94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed four nights in the "Waimea Cottage" and can highly recommend it. It felt like a second home. There is plenty of room, everything was very clean and nicely decorated. We liked the fact that we got to do our own breakfast, on our own schedule. The fridge is re-stocked every day with fresh fruits, cereals and their own eggs. Barbara and Charlie are great hosts. Unfortunately, they do not accept credit cards, which was a slight inconvenience for us as non-US guests. However, they readily accepted the traveller's cheques we brought along. Waimea served as a perfect base for trips to the great beaches such as Hapuna, which is only 15 minutes away. And there are high class restaurants just down the road! We will certainly be back.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dbruehlmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed in the studio cottage and found the room to be excellent. The studio is decorated with many built-ins and is stylish and modern. The large bed, light and airy feel in the room and bathroom, and the small kitchenette exceeded our expectations. There is plenty of space and even a small outdoor sitting area with a small table for meals and a small sauna. Breakfast was cereal or eggs and bread, jam and fruit and was replenished each day. Charlie and Barbara were very kind to us, letting us store our luggage when we arrived early from the airport, inviting us to enjoy wine by the brook behind their home, and even helping us diagnose a problem with our rental vehicle. Charlie took us on a hike to a waterfall near the cottage and showed us another hike up a large hill to see a view of the island. We will definitely remember this experience. What we liked about Waimea Gardens was we had a very private, comfortable space to ourselves, but if we had any questions or problems, Charlie or Barbara were there if we needed them. We will definitely stay at Waimea Gardens again when we come to the Big Island.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna32761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
8.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
8.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
13.0 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia
33.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jacaranda Inn
Jacaranda Inn
#4 of 8 in Waimea
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waimea Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waimea Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Waimea Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 65-1632 Kawaihae Rd, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-8460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Kohala Mountains by a seasonal stream, Waimea Gardens bed and breakfast on the Big Island of Hawaii offers two separate vacation cottages, a studio, and its latest addition, the Ohana Suite. Each has private bath, wood floors, full kitchen or kitchenette stocked with breakfast provisions, WiFi, and all amenities and service one would expect to find at a luxury hotel. Waimea's quiet upcountry ranching community is centrally located, providing the perfect jumping-off spot for enjoying all of the Big Island's unique diversity: beautiful white-sand beaches, lush valleys, waterfalls, the summit of Mauna Kea and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waimea Gardens Cottage Hotel Waimea
Waimea Gardens Cottage b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing