We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waimea Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Waimea B&B and Inns
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to stay!”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We did not want to leave when our stay was over! This is one classy cottage. The cottage is just the right size and perfectly decorated. Loved the breakfast provisions in the refrigerator so we could choose what we wanted and when in the morning. Barbara and Charlie are superb hosts.

Room Tip: We loved the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barlar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
50
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Waimea Garden Cottages is an ideal location for a quite getaway in North Kohala. We had a great time hiking the Pu'u Umi Forest Reserve and it was just great to have the great Pu'u(s) of North Kohala in your own private backyard!

The Waimea Cottage was perfect for us - with its red brick patio and inviting front porch. The nights were cool and we even had a fire place! The location is quiet and very much like home. Breakfast was included and the kitchen was well stocked.

We even had the opportunity to do some star-light time lapse photography right from the patio! All in all we will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We just spent a very pleasant week here. our cottage was a very nice size with a full kitchen.The cottage (the Kohala) is fully equipped with plenty of storage room. large bathroom with out door garden area. It is very quite and peaceful, close to restaurants and stores - a bit to far to walk, but a short drive. 10-15 minutes to beaches. The owners Barbara and charlie were very nice, easy to deal with, provided us with fresh eggs and fruit daily and were extremely accomodating allowing us to late check out as we had a red eye flight.

Room Tip: You must walk across lawn to get to rooms. As it rains there a fair amount be aware that you may hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drbw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nites in Waimea Cottage during a 6 nite stay on the Big Island. It proved idyllic and a great value.

This next bit I owe to Barbara, our gracious host:
When you arrive and she shows you around , do not fall into my trap of starting to ask questions that start as "Does the apt. have...?". "Is there a .....?". Stop right there. Trust me: it is fully equipped in every way. The cottages are overseen by this lady that by virtue of her long experience has seen 'everything' in the hospitality industry and has an answer to your question before you even thought of asking it.

On the purely financial side, think of this: for the price of three nights in this wonderful cottage you could have had just 1 nite at Mauna Kea Resort in their cheapest room. Instead, you manage to drag yourself out of bed in the morning to drive a whole 15-20 minutes to that same said resort --which is by my thinking sits astride the best beach on the Big Island, if not all Hawaii -- to arrive by 8:30 am at the latest to be assured of getting 1 of 38 free parking spots (first come ,first serve) and enjoy its beach, outdoor bar/lunch facility, and general ambience, while grinning back at all those who are paying so much more to frolic on the same beach as you.

Bottom line: come to the Big Island , stay at Waimea Gardens Cottage B&B, spend less, enjoy more.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NCMark45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 555 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed in three B&Bs during a one-week trip to the Big Island. This one was our favorite.

Our cottage (Kohala) is attached to the other cottage, but we never heard any noise, and our privacy was never disturbed. The cottage is well-equipped. It has a whirlpool tub, a full kitchen (small refrigerator only), and a daybed that would suit a child. There's a small table and chairs on the patio outside, and two deck chairs to enjoy the sunshine. Lots of towels, including beach towels. A cleaner tidies up the cottage every day -- not always the case in Hawaii B&Bs.

Waimea is a great location. You can get to two of the BEST beaches in the U.S., Hapuna and Mauna Kea, in about 20 minutes. (Go early to Mauna Kea, as the parking fills up.) The circular drive to Hawi is spectacular -- rolling pastureland on one part of the drive, then the sunny shoreline on the other. Plus a great view of Maui! If you want to go to Waipio Valley, it's a reasonably short distance. So are the resorts -- Mauna Kea, Hapuna Beach, Hilton (like Disneyland, it's so big), and Fairmont.

The center of Waimea town is about a three-minute drive from the cottage. It's sleepy but has some very good restaurants -- Merriman's, Red Water Cafe, Waimea Coffee Shop.

The owners leave a continental breakfast of fruit, cereal, milk, and English muffins in the refrigerator every day. Also freshly laid eggs from their very own chickens. (No roosters! -- you won't be woken up at dawn.) They are incredibly nice, interesting people who have lived in the area for many, many years.

I'm already planning a longer stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SkyeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Barbara greeted us in this cute and extremely well maintained cottage that woud feel just right in the English countryside - Only it's in Hawaii! We only stayed for one night but we were delighted by our stay.

Room Tip: Kohala Cottage is sweet and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank domq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The location was a huge selling point for this lodging. It is literally within walking distance to Hawaii Prep Academy-site of a cross country meet. But it would have been excellent for any trip to this part of the island. The Kohala suite has a complete kitchen, we loved being able to pick up local produce and make our meals- the hostess also provided her own home raised eggs. We've stayed on the coast- Waikoloa/Kohala and did not want to pay $15/day for parking, daily tipping of the valet if you didn't walk 15 minutes to your car, listen to leaf blowers when you wanted to take a nap and all the other tack on fees. We'll be recommending this place to our friends!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hihono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
8.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
8.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
13.0 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
16.6 mi away
Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia
0.7 mi away
Jacaranda Inn
Jacaranda Inn
#4 of 8 in Waimea
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waimea Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waimea Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Waimea Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: 65-1632 Kawaihae Rd, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-8460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Kohala Mountains by a seasonal stream, Waimea Gardens bed and breakfast on the Big Island of Hawaii offers two separate vacation cottages, a studio, and its latest addition, the Ohana Suite. Each has private bath, wood floors, full kitchen or kitchenette stocked with breakfast provisions, WiFi, and all amenities and service one would expect to find at a luxury hotel. Waimea's quiet upcountry ranching community is centrally located, providing the perfect jumping-off spot for enjoying all of the Big Island's unique diversity: beautiful white-sand beaches, lush valleys, waterfalls, the summit of Mauna Kea and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Waimea Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waimea Gardens Cottage Hotel Waimea
Waimea Gardens Cottage b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing