We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Waimea Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waimea
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I was reluctant to stay here after reading the reviews. However, it is in such a convenient location for my needs that I gave it a try. The nicest thing I can say is that "It is not the worst place I've ever stayed." The employees in the office were nice, especially the woman on duty late in the evening. But the rooms are not very clean. My room had a very odd odor like a room freshener had been over sprayed to hide bad smells. I had a very large room with two king beds and a full kitchen. My first surprise was that there was no closet, not even a rack to hang clothes on. The beds have old bedspreads and I took the spread off the bed I intended to use and pulled back the covers. The sheets were old, thin and stained. On top of that there was a long black hair in the bed. I decided to sleep in the other bed. The bed was not very comfortable and I could hear the neighbor's TV until very late. The room had a full kitchen with four burner stove, full size oven, microwave, refrigerator, toaster, but NO coffee maker. Coffee is in the lobby starting at 7:00 AM. The stove was covered in grease. It had not been cleaned for a very long time. The bathroom was old and in need of a update and a deep cleaning. This is an old motel badly in need of an update and desperately in need of new housecleaning procedures.

Room Tip: To get a nice clean room I suggest you stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islandguy808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We entered our room and were overwhelmed by the smell of mold. Looking around the room there was dirt or mold on the walls, the curtains were stained, moldy, falling off the rails. The shower was pitted and moldy. We should not have stayed. We have been scratching ever since.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianAirliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Booked a room with a kitchenette, but the only appliance was a mini refrigerator so that was a bit
disappointing. The room itself was very large and that was a big plus, the room was clean, and it was nice to park the car right outside our room. It's very reasonably priced to stay here and it's pretty close to quite a few eating places and also a few stores.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olollyberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Got very sick and was hospitalized from my stay here at what I like to call the cockroach cottage. Save yourself from a miserable stay and a ruined vacation and head to Hilo for a nice cheap room or to a real nice hotel on the west side. This place was sickening and smelled of chemicals, yet still had rat poop all over and cockroaches, not sanitary or even remotely nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is a tired old motel that is in a perfect location for a newer building. It's located about 100 yards from the main intersection in town, which it shares with the main shopping center. The property itself, however, has seen better days and suffers from toommuch deferred maintenance, with rotted rafters, window sills, peeling paint, chipped shower tiles, and musty, stained carpets. The room smelled very strongly of chemicals and/or disinfectant when we got there, and leaving the windows open to air it out for the afternoon while we went sightseeing didn't improve things. Most of the other "guests" seemed to be construction workers and day laborers, so the "hotel" seems to have transitioned over to being a dormitory/bunkhouse rather than a vacation accommodation...

Room Tip: Avoid the place if you want a good room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed two days cool spot, clean and handy to shopping,only NO patio .price was good ,huge rooms and all tidy good parking free wi fi and free ice , Great front desk people, very helpful
Would return.

Room Tip: Room with a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 686john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I am never happy when i pay for a hotel room and there is hair & blue soap scum in the bath tub from previous guest. It really grosses me out, even the toilet hadn't been cleaned and a drinking glass had toothpaste residue from the previous guest. No matter the price, location, or type of accommodation, every travel accommodation should make hygiene & cleanliness their top priority!!!!!!
The room was spacious with high ceilings.

Front desk worker was not to helpful!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yamas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
45.4 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
558 reviews
10.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
49.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,206 reviews
33.9 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
492 reviews
44.1 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Waimea Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Waimea Country Lodge

Address: 65-1210 Lindsey Rd, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-8438
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Waimea
Price Range: £69 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Waimea Country Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waimea Country Lodge is a rustic 21-room lodge located in historic Waimea Ton, the center of Paniolo (Hawaii cowboy) country. Amid cool air and rolling grasslands, the lodge offers spacious rooms, studios with kitchenettes and a friendly "down home" atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Waimea Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waimea Country Hotel Waimea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing