We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth considering!”
Review of Hale Ho'onanea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hale Ho'onanea
Ranked #7 of 8 Waimea B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Currently staying here in the tranquility suite which is below the Bamboo suite. Very, Very quiet other than the other people above us. Suite is well set up with more than adequate food left ahead of time. We had it for dinner since we plan on going to waimea's Farmer Market tomorrow and will eat a big breakfast! Beach towels, mats and umbrellas provided. There is a BBQ outside so can bring food to cook. Restaurants are back a ways but within reach or do the Costco stock up. Only disappointment is the main road is closed tomorrow due to Ironman. We wanted to see some historic sites and beaches and will need to go a more circuitous way to waimea and Hawi.( would have been nice to told the road was closed when we booked.)
Other than that sunset and peacefulness are lovely!

Room Tip: Bamboo looks lovely but we are pleased with the less expensive unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ResourceTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

The room we stayed at for one night was downstairs and had great decor inside, and a nice view of the ocean. The blueberry muffins provided for breakfast the night before were maybe the best I have ever had and i dont think any were left for the morning after i wolfed them down. I would have preferred a larger fridge, but it was adequate. The internet worked perfect, and all other needs were met for me.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bballew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We planned a CCW circuit around the Big Island starting out down in the Kona area and stayed at a total of 5 B&B's over a 2+ week period. In the early planning stages of this trip I was hoping our final B&B (Hale Ho'onanea) would be something special - 'the icing on the cake' so to speak of our visit to the Big Island. Excluding it being a little warm during the daytime it cooled off nicely at night. The Bamboo Suite where we stayed was everything we could of wanted for our three night stay. Bruce and Melanie are not only wonderful as host and hostess but are also very nice people.

I'm one of those who rarely give out a 5 star rating to any B&B but even with the slight heat problem I'm still giving this place a 5 star rating. Its location, elevation, closeness to premium beaches & Waimea, the inside architecture and interior design work, the delightful change in breakfast presentation from the other B&B's we stayed at definitely rate this as a 5 star B&B.

Room Tip: I didn't see the downstairs suite so I can only vouch for the Bamboo Suite where we stayed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Our family of three stayed here for a few days and found it to be a true treasure. We were the only ones booked during our stay, so it was incredible quiet and peaceful - truly a house of relaxation as it is named. The views from the Bamboo Suite lanai were absolutely incredible. Watching the sun set over the ocean each night was definitely a highlight. The Bamboo Suite itself was stunning - from the hardwood floors, to the antique wood furniture, to the high vaulted ceilings, to the large tiled open shower - the owners have paid a great deal of attention to detail, and it was worth it. The homemade breakfast loafs and fruit each day were delicious, and the snacks were perfect for taking to the beach each day. If you're thinking of staying here, splurge for the Bamboo Suite - it's worth the extra money just for the view alone, but even more for the extra space and quiet that comes with being at the top level.

Room Tip: It's all about the Bamboo Suite here. The other rooms can't touch it in comparison.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mangClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The bamboo suite and its bed were very comfortable. I think it would be especially nice for an extended stay. The views were magnificent and the beaches relatively close. Some communication issues re. Reservations.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohannaDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Located high above the ocean, this spectacular B*B is more like a large one bedroom apartment. A great breakfast (there was enough we could have had dinner, too) was provided the night before so we could eat at our leisure. The apartment was beautifully decorated, with a kapa cloth piece hanging in the living room. Comfortable cou ches and chairs, comfortable bed, no water saver on the shower. Really pleasant stay. This would be great for a place to come for a week or two to relax.

Room Tip: Bamboo room was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

This was our favorite of the 10 B&Bs we stayed in during a 5-week trip in Hawaii. For the same price we had a little apartment instead of just a room. We found it pleasantly decorated, clean and functional. We stayed in the Palm Suite, the smallest and least expensive, but from reading other reviews it sounds the most pleasant. The living room couch is a futon bed so a family of 4 could stay here. The little kitchen isn't designed for serious cooking, but has both a new toaster oven and a microwave so simple meals can be prepared. We enjoyed the basket breakfast, with its daily surprises. The first day there were 4 cereals, 3 sugary ones and Raisin Bran. I wrote a note asking if we could trade in the frosted flakes for raisin bran the next day, and there were 2 raisin brans each day after that (as well as a delicious granola, a perfectly ripe mango or papaya or pineapple , homemade blueberry bread, and lots of snacks that could be taken for lunch.) There was a half gallon of 1% organic milk in the fridge and each day two bottles of 100% orange juice. It's true that we didn't see the hostess often, but I found leaving notes was a good way to make requests. It might be a nice touch to ask guests their preferences for breakfast when they register, to avoid the problems some reviewers expressed. The Kohala coast has wonderful beaches which are a short drive from here, and few alternatives to the expensive mega-resorts. We enjoyed the many extra touches provided here. It suited us perfectly..

Room Tip: Palm Suite was quiet, pleasantly decorated, and not connected to the other units. It didn't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waimea hotels
10.4 mi away
Jacaranda Inn
Jacaranda Inn
#3 of 8 in Waimea
103 reviews
9.7 mi away
Mauna Lani Terrace Condominiums
6 mi away
Wai'ula'ula at Mauna Kea Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Islands at Mauna Lani
9.7 mi away
Villages At Mauna Lani
9.3 mi away
Fairways at Mauna Lani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Ho'onanea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ho'onanea

Address: 59-513 Ala Kahua Drive, Kohala Estates, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Waimea
Price Range: £74 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing