We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of Our Top B&Bs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hale Ho'onanea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hale Ho'onanea
Ranked #7 of 8 Waimea B&B and Inns
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of Our Top B&Bs!”
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Just returned from a two-week trip (Big Island and Maui) during which the two of us spent two nights at Hale Ho'onanea. Can't reiterate enough what great hosts Melanie and Bruce are. Melanie actually got three kinds of lactose-free milk from which I could choose when I mentioned that I was lactose intolerant! Her homemade fruit breads are great (blueberry and pineapple were the ones we tried), and the whole pineapple for breakfast was quite a treat that lasted several meals.

We stayed in the Bamboo Suite and were amazed with the spaciousness, the accommodations, and all the little details, e.g., DVDs (we watched "Over the Hedge"), beach towels, boogie boards, snorkeling equipment, and beach chairs, that we could use. Melanie gave us great tips for food (Foodland in Mauna Lani and the L&L Drive Inn in the Parker Ranch Shopping Center). And we also benefited from her expertise with snorkeling sites.

The kitchen and bathroom were very well equipped, and we didn't want for anything. We were also fortunate that it rained before we arrived so the landscape was green. Unfortunately, it also brought out some mosquitoes but they weren't bad at all. The ocean and sky views were spectacular and the quiet nights with the breezes blowing made it so easy to relax and sleep after a full day out.

All in all, we'd have to rank Hale Ho'onanea up there as one of the best B&Bs where we've stayed!

  • Liked — Spaciousness, location, and amenities
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccsantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    9
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas,TX
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2007

My wife and I stayed in the Palm Suite for three nights at the end of September and enjoyed our time there. Bruce and Melanie are friendly, helpful and inobtrusive. The suite was VERY clean, the appliances were new, the simple breakfast basket was perfect for our needs (the breads-mmmm!), and we particularly like the locally made soap. The bed was one of the best we have ever had at a B&B. The grounds are very well done with a large hammock and a great sunset viewing bench next to a large area they are developing as a recreation/croquet lawn. Be sure to visit the sheep/goats in the adjacent pasture - quite entertaining!

We do recommend this property, but would add one caveat - it is warm to hot during the day. This B&B is located in the desert climate of Kohala so it gets quite warm during the day then cools nicely at night. If you have little tolerance for heat, you probably would be uncomfortable until the late evening. The fans definitely help, but just take this into consideration. We were never there during the day so it didn't bother us.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank BigEye2Kauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2007

We really enjoyed our stay in the Bamboo Suite. I wish we had more days there. The views of the sunset from the lanai are amazing. There is no A/C but they have a ceiling fan in the living room and a standing fan in the bedroom. The first night was a bit warm but the second night was much better. The owner delivers a basket of breakfast items each afternoon for the next morning. She also supplies this really nice exfoliating bath soap.

The suite has a nice collection of books, magazines & videos as well as internet (wired) & satellite TV.

This was a nice place to come home to after a day of sightseeing.

  • Liked — The suite was really nice and well equipped.
  • Disliked — No A/C
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lissete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2007

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights in late December. This was our second stay at Hale Ho’onanea. Melanie and Bruce are friendly hosts and do a great job managing their B&B. The area is very peaceful with good views of the ocean. It is also a great location for watching the sunset and star gazing at night. We stayed in the Bamboo Suite which is very clean and spacious. We always have a relaxing stay here. The bed and fluffy pillows are very comfy. The bathroom is very clean and has a spacious shower. The large fluffy bath towels are great. Breakfast is good and is provided in a basket the day before. This is great for us since it allows us to have breakfast whenever we like. Breakfast includes freshly baked delicious homemade bread (varies by day), fresh tropical fruit (pineapple or papaya), cereal, oatmeal, yogurt, juice, coffee (or tea if you prefer), and milk (Melanie is happy to provide skim milk if you prefer). Snacks are also included (microwave popcorn and macadamia nuts). Hale Ho’onanea is an excellent value for the Big Island. We will definitely continue to stay here. In fact, we have already booked our next stay!

  • Liked — Peaceful location and views of the ocean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dolce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2006

We were very pleased with our visit to Hale Ho'onanea. The pictures do not do it justice. Our group of 4 adults stayed in the Palm and the Bamboo suites. We could have been comfortable in the Bamboo Suite but it was nice having 2 bathrooms.
The weather was hot when we arrived but once the winds picked up, the cross ventilation and fans made the suite very comfortable. And the birds singing and fresh breezes made the mornings so delightful.
The suites were spotlessly clean and held anything that we needed. The audio system - cable I think - is great and greeted us with beautiful Hawaiian music. So we had music in one suite and TV in the other. That made us all happy. In both suites there are lots of books, games and videos and local information including history of the island.
The view of the ocean off the Bamboo Suite deck is beautiful. I really wanted to just veg on the deck for a day or two.
Every day Melanie would bring us fresh fruit, juice, cereal and homemade breakfast breads and mac nut snacks for the day. We were totally satisfied with breakfast. I asked for skim milk and POG juice and she happily provided it for us.

We would definitely go back.

  • Liked — Ambiance
  • Disliked — No air conditioning
  • Tips/Secrets — Sunset from deck, milkyway at night
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkonu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2006

We've gone back to Hale Ho'o'nanea several times now, and it keeps getting better. Hosts Melanie and Bruce Biddle are a delight. At 1000 feet elevation, it's cooler and way less humid than the resort coast (which we've sampled at length), and you can see sunsets in the Pacific every day of the year. We like the Milky Way at night and the occasional bleat of a lamb during the day. If there's a better buy on the Big Island, we haven't found it yet, and that's not for want of looking.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 332pjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 May 2006

The "Tranquility" room we stayed in had a converted basement or garage feeling. The owners should have furred-out the cinder block foundation walls for a warmer feel and less basement like. They have let untrimmed oleander bushes block much of the ocean view from the patio unless you are standing, and they have you park your car in front of the patio, so you are looking at your car when lounging. Not my idea of tranquility. We felt that the owner was not very friendly, but down to business, got our VISA card, and was gone for the rest of our stay, kind of like we were imposing on her. The breakfast that is left in your room the afternoon before, was mostly junk food. We are frequent Big Island visitors, so we expected the arid, desert like environment at this part of the island, but others might have other expectations in Hawaii. Lots of tiny ants quickly apear for the smallest crumb of food, and chances are that they will get to your breakfast basket before you do. On the plus side, the Kohola coast down the big hill is fantastic, and the rate is not to bad as an alternative to the beach resorts. The bathroom was nicely done. Maybe one of the other units that have adjacent lawn, instead of dirt and gravel would be better. I think much of the ambience, or lack of, is a reflection of the owners, who choose to emphasize the cable TV, sugar flakes, and parking right next to your door, more than aloha.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
5.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
10.9 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hawaii Island Retreat at Ahu Pohaku Ho`omaluhia
32.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
9.6 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Ho'onanea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ho'onanea

Property: Hale Ho'onanea
Address: 59-513 Ala Kahua Drive, Kohala Estates, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing