We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as it gets” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mauna Kea Resort Golf Course

Mauna Kea Resort Golf Course
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered one of Hawaii's most unique challenges, this highly-rated 18-hole championship golf course offers dramatic elevation changes and spectacular views; under renovation until December 2008
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I had the opportunity to play two rounds recently and the experience was great. Friendly staff, top notch course conditions and a challenging layout made my golf bucket list.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bill l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    33
    7
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Mauna Kea Golf Course definitely a ‘must play’ during your Hawaii golf cruise around the islands.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

GolfAhoy arranged play at the Mauna Kea Golf Course at The Mauna Kea Beach Hotel during our circle Hawaii cruise. Transportation from the ship, pre-reserved tee times and pre-paid greens fees made playing #31 on Golf Digests America’s Top 100 Greatest Courses a breeze. Bring your camera with you or you’ll regret leaving it on the ship.

Robert Trent Jones, Sr. reportedly told Mr. Rockefeller at what would become the 3rd hole site, “If you allow me to build a golf course here, this'll be the most beautiful hole in the world.".

The Mauna Kea Golf Course overlooks one of the world’s most beautiful beaches on the west shore of Hawaii’s Big Island and was recently ranked as the number one course on the island by Golf Magazine.

It gained worldwide fame as the site of a memorable televised match among golf’s “Big 3:” Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer and Gary Player.

From the back tees this Par: 72 course stretches to 7370 yards. The Mauna Kea Golf Course features holes that are right at sea level like number 3 and 11 and others that rise to nearly 300 feet above. There are over 120 well placed bunkers and as you would expect from Trent Jones Sr. the greens are large and undulating.

Definitely a ‘must play’ course during your GolfAhoy Hawaii golf cruise around the islands. Other ‘must play’ package upgrade courses offered by GolfAhoy golf cruises are temptations like: Club at Hokulia ; Hualalai Golf Course ; Mauna Kea Golf Course ; North Course at Mauna Lani Resort ; Poipu Bay Golf Course ; Prince Golf Course at Princeville ; The Experience at Koele ; The Challenge at Manele ; Gold Course at Wailea Golf Club ; The Plantation Course at Kapalua Resort.

You can play 7 challenging championship Hawaii golf courses during your GolfAhoy 10 day Hawaii golf cruise and you only have to unpack once when you get on the ship.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank iGolfTravelNews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS COURSE BUT PUNCHING WAS IN EFFECT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I love to play here but this was the first time I was here in september and they just punched the greens i think i will wait until october to go next time or come in august.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JFEARN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bar None, the best on the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I'm a avid golfer and I golf here every year! The ultimate and most photographed hole is #2, a breath taking Par 3 that rivals Pebble Beach! The rest of the course is awesome! It's a golfers paradise and must play on the island!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Two days after the miserable course conditions at Waikoloa, we spent a day in Paradise - aka Mauna Kea. We had an 11:00am tee time, and when we arrived at the resort, we were kindly guided to the clubhouse. Once we arrived at the clubhouse, we were warmly greeted by the golf staff in the parking lot. They loaded our bags and directed us to the pro shop for check in. The pro shop was almost as beautiful as the course itself. We picked out a hat and shirt, and were directed to the practice facilities. After hitting balls for a few minutes, we were kindly approached by the starter with a reminder that we will be on the first tee momentarily. The course conditions were superb.....including the fact that the grounds crew was working on the rough in a few areas. The views were incredible, and we could not have had a better time on the course. One hole in particular - #11 has the green right off the Mauna Kea Beach, and we took way too many pictures. After a fantastic round of golf on this most beautiful golf course, we stopped at our car in the parking lot and swapped out our golf clubs for our snorkel gear, then walked the short path down to that same beach we had so admired off the 11th hole and spent another hour or so in the crystal clear and calm waters of the Mauna Kea cove where we were treated to a great swim with the local sea turtles. What an incredible day!! I can't wait to do it again. Thank You Mauna Kea Resort!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SLNerheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mauna Kea Resort Golf Course also viewed

 
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Mauna Kea Resort Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing