We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sushi”
Review of Aka Sushi

Aka Sushi
Ranked #29 of 71 Restaurants in Waimea
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I love this place. Everything I have tried is delicious. My very favorite is their fried scallop roll, best scallop role ever !!! :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    11
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“so happy we stopped in”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

great service, awesome sushi. my wife and i are staying in waikaloa and we were pretty excited to try this place out after touring the north part of the island. unlike Sansai, this did not disappoint and we'll be back again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank randysavages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very good sushi”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The food was great, sushi very fresh and tasty. Udon come to the table very hot, a bit on the saltier side. The price is very reasonable. Very friendly service. Go check it out if you're in the area. I give 5/5 because overall the price and food is good. I tired other sushi on big island, this one is better than all others. Of course, can't compare to sushi in Vancouver.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stm_eternity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamuela
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing, fresh sushi”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Everytime I go in there the food is perfect. The walls are nearly bare and they usually don't have music playing so the atmosphere is a little weird but the food is excellent!!

Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Truly fresh, generously portioned sushi”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stumbled upon AKA sushi on a recent trip to the Big Island. We're from Seattle where there are plenty of sushi restaurants but AKA was the best sushi we've ever had, anywhere. The portions were generous, too, and the service was friendly. We enjoyed it so much that we went back two more times, lunch and dinner. The second night they were very busy and the wait was a bit long but the staff kept an eye on us and kept us posted on how much time we'd wait. We didn't expect to find a sushi restaurant that rated 5-stars but AKA hit the mark each time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsRandoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aka Sushi also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Aka Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing