We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Tasteless Overrated Crap” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Island Brewhaus

Big Island Brewhaus
Ranked #6 of 70 Restaurants in Waimea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasteless Overrated Crap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I rushed home after having lunch to write this review so the passion of my distaste for this place would be "fresh" in my mind which is not a word that could be associated with this establishment. Lets begin with the chips and salsa which are the starting benchmark for any restaurant alleging to serve good Mexican food.......the chips were dry,cold,and unsalted.....the salsa was mild to bland with a strong hint of garlic again lacking the spice and flavor that one expects from a good salsa......I ordered the combination plate with mixed beans and mild salsa......The combination included a deep fried Chile Relleno (I learned it was deep fried when the server delivered it and bragged about the signature quality of their take on a Chile Relleno read on)and a chicken enchilada.......the signature deep fried take on the Chile Relleno qualified it for the worst I have ever eaten as the deep frying destroyed whatever taste the chile might have once had and the fryer method made the cheese taste border on rancid......the chicken enchilada was totally void of any flavor....it lacked seasoning and the sauce over it was totally bland (I ordered the mild sauce but this didn't even qualify for mild) My wife ordered the carnitas tacos.....the same theme continued in her dish......little flavor and beans that tasted like they were straight out of a can......Now I will say the beer served around us looked interesting, particulary the beer tasting flights but they either need to hire a new chef or give up on food. A bag of Maui Chips with beer would be way better than what we experienced.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caltraveler54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    166
    36
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We really enjoyed this nice, cozy Mexican restaurant. We went there right as it opened in the morning, and the staff was really attentive. The food was great!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Passionate about their Brews!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

My 24-year-old daughter and I enjoyed this local, relaxed restaurant and brewhaus. The friendly staff lit up as they explained their varied craft beers. Big Island Brewhaus's menu covered sandwiches, pizzas and salads. The steak and salad combo was plenty for both of us. It was fun watching for Big Island Brewhaus microbrew drafts as we traveled the island. Bar staff spoke highly of the beers and business. Great place to add to your travels of Hawi'i!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Captain Cook, Hawaii
Level Contributor
269 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Mex and a bier-quite the combo and all great stuff in a small town Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Growl for the Growlers. They were going out of the place left and right. Food was tasty and hot. Funk and food with a brew tossed on top. I opted for iced tea and even that was great. I have been there about 5-6 times and each time I try a new dish. The beer is fresh brewed and sent right out of the brewery building next door. Dang good suds. Small but outside seating. Parking is not easy but the whole enchilada was well worth the stop. Right across from the Hospital (if the food is too hot) but the cop shop is there too so be kind to your counts and keep it legal (plus safe of course) Use a DD like me and be real safe but if coming up from Kona the road is windy! Worth a stop and also shop in the town for little gifts and memories... Great fun and nice folks there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food and beer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We chose this restaurant because they brew their own beer. It definitely didn't disappoint! Our waiter was super friendly and helpful. The beer was outstanding, along with their food. The atmosphere was very laid back and it seemed like a lot of locals were there. It was a great choice for dinner!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Island Brewhaus also viewed

Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Big Island Brewhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing