We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhhh the View”
Review of Makai Hale

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Waimea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Makai Hale
Ranked #2 of 8 Waimea B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We were the guests of Audrey and Jerry for two nights with two 17 year old boys and our stay could not have been better. The web site does not do this place justice! I can't imagine a better view on any of the islands and we have stayed at some pretty great places. You basically have a house with a million dollar view all to yourself. The hosts' house is completely separate and connected by a walkway to the two bedroom, two full bath guesthouse. We had the pool and the hot tub to ourselves. This was perfect for the teenagers and we could relax in one of the many lounge chairs and read or sunbathe. There are great beaches within a few minutes and Audrey had boogie boards, chairs, umbrellas, mats and towels that we could borrow. She also provided a fabulous breakfast which included a hot entree and a great fruit plate. She stocked the frig with milk and juice and there was cereal, granola bars and popcorn if you desired. The house is in a gated community and it is secluded however you can get to restaurants and shopping within a few minutes. The star gazing at night is fabulous! We sat in lounge chairs and saw more stars than any of us have ever seen without trees and city lights to interrupt the view. Love this place and wish we were able to stay longer. Don't waste your time looking any further than Makai Hale.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lewis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at several places on the Big Island, but this was by far the best. The hostess, Audrey, leaves no detail overlooked. She provides everything to make your visit pleasant and supplies others to enhance it. From boogie boards and beach chairs to woven mats and plenty of towels. The rooms were immaculate, tastefully decorated,and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and linens luxurious. Audrey supplies coffee and snacks and a great breakfast. She is a warm and gracious "hostess with the mostess."

Room Tip: OOPs There is no fitness center, but I can't delete the rating!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelingL0l0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This guesthouse was outstanding. Audrey and Jerry made us feel really welcomed. The two bedrooms and baths were spacious. Makai Hale has a panoramic view of the oceans and the volcanoes. You can see a beautiful sunset each night from the location. The pool and hot tub were nice to use each day and the place is near many of the locations we wanted to visit at that end of the island. Audrey was helpful to give suggestions of places to visit and eat. Breakfast was fantastic with plenty of local grown fruit as well. In seven days, there was never a repeat of the breakfast. Audrey is a great cook. There were many different types of snacks also available. Many of the things we needed for the beach were also provided. We enjoyed reading many of the books on Hawaii that were in the rooms were able to learn some Hawaiian History. It is defintely a place we would stay at if we returned to the island. Audrey and Jerry

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NanaGeorgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

I'm not sure it's correct to call Makai Hale a bed & breakfast because doing so implies that it is larger than it is. I think this would be more aptly called a "guest house with breakfast" because the other reviewers are absolutely correct - you are completely by yourself! The guest quarters are completely separate from the main house and you never see or hear Audrey or Jerry or anyone for that matter (we spoke more to the security guard at the front gate than to Audrey!). So it's a pretty romantic location.

If you are a couple, you'll get the main room that fronts the jacuzzi and the ocean. The views are breathtaking - you're up on a hill and oversee the whole bay. It's great to wake up to and have breakfast watching the water. Apparently later in December you can see whales, but we were too early. If you're with family or another couple, there is another spacious room at the back of the guest quarters and they have a bathroom too, it's just not adjoining. There is a kitchenette with a fridge that Audrey stocks for you with milk (2%), juice, a water bottle and some fruit. She also stocks a great pantry (with everything neatly boxed so not to attract bugs) with snacks and silverware. There is a microwave and a coffee pot, but no sink (that would be a great addition).

The place is completely spotless and Audrey's breakfasts are great (she asks if you have any allergies). As another reviewer mentioned, they all come with a plate of fruit and the fruit is so good! The only complaint we had was that the fridge makes a really loud humming noise. But if you close the door to the bedroom and turn on the ceiling fan, you can hardly hear it (I am sensitive to noise, though, and it didn't bother my husband as much). Also as a warning, the room does get quite warm in the afternoon sun, although cools off very quickly once the sun sets. So you really only want A/C for like 1-2 hours, but if you're not planning to be in the room then, or you're okay with hanging outdoors in the pool or jacuzzi, you should be fine. One more note, Audrey does tend to leave the breakfasts out for you quite early (she'll put the fruit in the fridge and cover the breakfast plates with saran wrap) so you need to be okay with microwaving your food (it's usually eggs of some sort, one morning we received an egg mcmuffin-type of sandwich and the other morning sunny side up with fried rice, yum!).

It's a bit pricey, but you'll totally feel at home! Oh and the pictures on the website are completely accurate!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank LMC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Why stay at the resorts just south of here when you can stay here and it's all your own? And for much less money!
We used the beach chairs and mats and spent a few hours at Hapuna Beach, but it was hot - the sand was almost unbearable to walk on. We came back here to our own private resort where the heat was much more tolerable - 500' elevation makes a difference - the breeze and pool were the cure we needed. The only thing that would make this place better is an air conditioner. The rooms are nice, clean, but simple.
As far as food in the area - there is a Cafe Pesto location in Kawaihe. Their main location is in Hilo and we ate at both - both excellent food. Audrey's breakfasts were delicious. I wish I had known there was a mini-fridge - threw out a lot of perishables before coming here from the previous stop on our trip.
Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smiles_for_miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

There isn't much that I can add to the superlatives in the other reviews. Extremely relaxing, fabulous views, excellent breakfasts, nice room, and a really kind hostess. The only disagreement I have with other reviews relates to eating options - the restaurants in the nearest town (Kawaihae) are lousy. The food is way over-priced, poorly done, and you get to eat it while looking at a view consisting of oil storage tanks and a cement factory. But Makai Hale makes up for it. And there are some nice places to eat in Kapauu, although it's a little far and most places are open only for lunch. We paid $150/night at Makai Hale (I think it's an off-season rate). Definitely recommended.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
6  Thank mizuhito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

If you're looking for a quiet and peaceful place, this is it! My wife & I spent two nights there in late-May of 2010 & really enjoyed the quiet atmosphere. There's a pool & jacuzzi for your use. The owners live in the house (on the other side of the pool) but, if it weren't for the delicious meals that Audrey left us in the morning, we would have never known that they were there. There is a kitchen area with snacks, fridge and coffeemaker. The bathrooms look brand new; in fact, the whole building looked fairly new. There's a great back porch for taking a book and mindlessly gazing out at the Pacific Ocean (a few hundred feet below). Also great for bird and cat watching. The neighborhood is residential and very spread out. You can drive down to the Mauna Kea resort and use their white sand beach (about a 15 minute drive away). There are also some really good restaurants about 5 minutes away. There is a back way out to Kahola Mountain Road. It's about 30 minutes north of the Kona airport. It's a very romantic and family-friendly place for those looking to get away from the crowds!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 7JoePublic7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
6.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
10.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
9.2 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
10.9 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makai Hale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makai Hale

Address: 59-411 Pupu Pl, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-8524
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Waimea
Price Range: £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing