We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and Cool”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kamuela Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Waimea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kamuela Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waimea
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cozy and Cool”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Kamuela Inn is clean, cozy and cool. Waimea rains alot so be prepared for damp, and cold. They have good showers, old TV's but it is OK. Parking is tight. Continental Breakfast in the morning so go early or your out of luck. It is super close to a few good restaurants and stores. Being in Wainea is a good location as it sits between Hilo and Kona so exploring is easy.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank foodie808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    76
    55
    17
    14
See reviews for
55
93
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I thought this place was great for the price and the area. No one really wants to go to Waimea. But when you wind up there, this is the place! Room was cozy, bed was super comfortable, great water pressure in the shower, what else do you need? Oh, their staff is very friendly and helpful, the utmost in professionalism. Just the best! The only thing better than the staff is their continental breakfast. Overwhelming assortment of jams and preserves for their rockin' selection of bread products. Tasty fresh fruit. Yogurt. Granola. Coffee. Tea. Miso soup? Sure!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madelaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I flew into Kona really late, and when I booked my room prior to traveling, they said they would have it ready for me before arriving. They sent me a very detailed email of where to go and what to do when I arrived late. They left the room light on and the key with the registration papers! Didn't have to bother waiting to do papers way late! They are super friendly and full of smiles! The price is by far the cheapest I could find on the island. I recommend this place to anyone who wants to save some money!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casimz1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We enjoyed our time in Waimea and found the Kamuela Inn resonably priced, more than comfortable, centrally located and very pleasant. In fact, it was the best value for what we received during a bicycle tour of the island. There was ample parking for those with cars, the grounds were charming and there were outside spaces to enjoy. The rooms were quiet and the beds comfortable and the breakfast better than average. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Followthesons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mountains Usa
Level Contributor
269 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a nice stay here. It was clean in a good, central location and reasonably priced. They do a good job making your stay most enjoyable. Thie continental breakfast was good also and a good combination of standard items with some local specialties added.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stumpy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a family run inn that is well located, well priced and has beautiful gardens yet being in the town of Waimea. If you are not a resort kind of person, this is a good choice. The prices include plenty of parking, basic breakfast and Wi-Fi (a bit unreliable). There's plenty to do in the town and around.
The rooms can be updated but there's a nice air of being in an old house including small reading corners in different places. The lovely swing on the big tree is such a beautiful touch.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nopar65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Just about gets the job done in vacancy challenged Waimea.

Good sized room but definitely worn and dated. Awful bed with plastic sheeting under the sheets. Makes you wonder what's been done in there before you. Tiny TV. OK sized fridge. Bathroom adequate.

Pluses. Attractive, well kept grounds. Friendly staff. Quiet.

Major negative. The nickel and dime gouging for extras. $5/day for an electric kettle isn't the "nominal fee" described in the room blurb. It's outrageous. Likewise the fees for space heaters (this is Waimea guys; it's cold at night up here), extra towels and blankets, fans and more. I've never seen such an extensive list anywhere. Very, very irritating.

At $99 this motel would be vastly overpriced on the mainland. Being Hawaii, it would likely get an average value rating from me. The extras charges, however, cause me to downgrade it in this category.

You probably won't do better for the money locally but this shouldn't stop you from trying.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin_Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindra M, Manager at Kamuela Inn, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
It is unfortunate that some travelers overlook the fact that we have the best room rates in Waimea and provide free parking, free in-room wi-fi, and a very generous complimentary continantal breakfast daily. They choose instead to focus on our charges for "extras," which is what they are -- extra. It would be foolish and unfair to other guests to provide more amenities because that would necessitate increases in room rates.

The Kamuela Inn is appreciated by savvy travelers who understand the value we provide for the room rates charged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waimea
9.8 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
14.1 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
9.8 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.4 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
388 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jacaranda Inn
Jacaranda Inn
#4 of 8 in Waimea
96 reviews
13.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamuela Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamuela Inn

Property: Kamuela Inn
Address: 65-1300 Kawaihae Rd, Waimea, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Waimea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Waimea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamuela Inn is a 30-room boutique hotel in the heart of Waimea on the island of Hawaii. Located just a 45-minute drive from the Keahole Airport in Kailua-Kona, and hour's drive from the Hilo Airport, Kamuela Inn serves as a great spot for visiting all that the island has to offer. Serving a daily complimentary continental breakfast, our guests start their day off right with a delicious selection of pastries, breads, cereals, oatmeal, fresh fruit, boiled eggs and of course, the famous Roy's Kona Coffee blend. Guests also can't stop raving about their beautiful night's sleep on our Simmon's Felicity pillowtop beds and Natural Comfort allergen free pillows, and being snuggled in our soft Comfy sheets. There's just too much to share. Just come and visit us and see for yourself! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kamuela Hotel Waimea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing