We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should be rated #1” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Keaau Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Keaau Place
Ranked #1 of 8 Keaau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Should be rated #1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

The staff was exceptionally friendly. The studios were as clean as I keep my own home, Maybe cleaner. We loved the attention to detail. Very clean hot tub,barbecue and kitchen accessories. This was a very tranquil Place. The beds were so comfortable. The keaau place is such a value plus we saved even more money by being able to cook our own food in own kitchen. The owner thought of everything picnic supplies, Coolers, Beachtowels, And beach chairs. We highly recommend the Keaau place.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    6
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
70
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VA Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Tip when arriving: If arriving at night, once you turn on S26 off of Shower Drive it is 1/2 mile down the unpaved road on the left. The street is VERY dark, but there is a street sign like sign at the base of the driveway that says 'Keaau Place' that reflects when you headlights hit it so just look for this sign because the house numbers are very difficult to read at night.

I can't say enough wonderful things about this studio. It has everything. We saved so much money by being able to 'eat in' the 5 days we were here. The central location makes it very easy to get anywhere you want. From the small cooler that we packed lunch in everyday to the washer & dryer to the caretakers getting us a new tank of propane for the grill ~ this place is perfect. Every detail is thought out. Groceries is the only thing Keaau Place doesn't include.

With the white curtains and frosted decal on the windows, it does get mighty bright as soon as the sun comes up, but I found it helped give us an early start to our day. The saltwater softub on the patio was a bonus treat to be able to soak in after a long day of hiking.

If we every return to the Big Island, we will be staying here. I will be recommending Keaau Place to anyone who asks me where they should stay.

Room Tip: Studio 1 is on the far left end of the house - feels more private than Studio 2 that is sandwiched i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DivaRnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Keaau Place is beautiful. You will not be sad when you walk into this studio and see how well it is out-fitted. Tanna provides more than just the essentials; she thinks of the little things, like paper towels and plenty of toilet paper and dishwasher soap- things I have had to purchase when renting other studios and apartments. Then there's the lovely hot tub- you will enjoy this when you come back from hiking the calderas in Volcanoes national Park (be sure to put at least two days aside for exploring the park). The studio is immaculate as well as comfortable. We were sad to leave.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfarrell52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Keauu Place has the same quality and feel about it as Tanna's place on Maui. It is quiet, off the beaten track but still close enough to attractions, restaurants, supermarkets etc. However, you will need your own car, but that applies to anywhere on the Big Island. Our studio had everything we wanted from superb bed to well set up kitchen to quality TV. A bonus was the free wi if which proved invaluable when we had to make major changes to our flight bookings home to Australia. The price for this fully self contained studio is a bargain. We doubt you will get better value for your dollar anywhere on Hawaii. We would use the studio again if we are holidaying on Hawaii.
Greg and Rob, Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms. Either one is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

Went here to celebrate my sweetheart's birthday in early December. We both loved the studio, it was immaculate and very well maintained. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean and nicely decorated, the kitchen has everything you need, and the gas grill on the deck is a nice touch. There is a table for two inside, and a patio table for four on the deck, it was nice having the choice to eat inside or out. The house is located in a quiet residential area and you'll need a car to get into town. It took us 15 minutes to get to the grocery store and restaurants. The private hot tub has a view of the expansive back yard, it gave us the feeling of being completely alone. It was amazing soaking in our own hot tub on a warm Hawaiian evening after a beautiful day exploring Mauna Kea. I chose this studio partially because of its proximity to Mauna Kea. There's a flat screen in the studio but we didn't watch it much. The internet connection worked well. The studio has everything you need for a comfortable extended stay - we didn't want to leave. It's a great value for the price. If you want a peaceful, private, quiet and romantic getaway, this is the place to come.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geisha4LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

My husband and I visited Keaau Place in Feb. of 2012 and found it to be an excellent "headquarters" for exploring the Big Island. It is very private and quiet with a soft hot tub on the lanai and a BQ grill as well. The place was extremely clean and very well appointed with a nice kitchenette, sofa bed and very comfortable queen size bed. The studio is decorated in the island motiff, you feel the tropics even if you don't go outside. The host of Keaau Place are very accommidating. If you forgot something they will get it for you or tell you exactly where you can find it in town. Even going so far as to loan you a GPS so you can find it easily. We enjoyed our 2 weeks at Keaau Place on the beautiful Big Island, and would recommend it highly. M and J

Room Tip: Saw both studios and would be comfy in either one
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ptuj, Slovenia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed there for 6 days and did not regret one of them - even if it rained the whole day.
The place has 2 studios (our studio was No1 - the one with a little porch). It was fully equipped to meet our needs while vacationing on Hawaii - it had a little but practical kitchenette (see the official description on their homepage - it does not lie!), a nice&comfy bed, flat-TV which you can watch from bed (DVDs on-site!) tastefully furbished bathroom and a balcony/porch on two sides - the larger featuring a softtub and a table for outdoor-dining... oh, and there was also a barbecue-grill there... and washer, dryer... all in all - it has all that they promise online and maybe more - a certain charm - to it.
PLUS the caretakers on site are really friendly and ready to help - thank you guys!
Oh, the location might not be very central in whatever way, but it's quite convenient for making daily trips around Hilo side.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SsForza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keaau
18.2 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
11.1 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
11.9 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
11.0 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keaau Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keaau Place

Property: Keaau Place
Address: 15-1435 26th Avenue, Keaau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96749
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Keaau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Keaau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Keaau Place 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two new, clean, comfortable studios, only 20 minutes from Hilo Airport, 30 minutes to Volcano National Park. Each studio is air conditioned, private hot tub on covered patio, Tempurpedic queen mattress, 42" flat screen TV, and DVD player. Peaceful, residential neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Keaau Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keaau Place Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing