We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Art and Orchids

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keaau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Art and Orchids
Ranked #4 of 8 Keaau B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Art & Orchids is a rare gem on the east side of the island and we are so glad we found it! Markie & Jerry were wonderful hosts and have created a tranquil oasis to stay at. The house is warm & inviting and there are many common areas to hang out as well as your personal room. The room was large and comfortable. We stayed in the Rainbow Room which had a small balcony where we could sit outside and listen to the cacophony of frogs and birds at night. The bathroom floor had a beautiful mosaic that Markie did with marine life and ocean waves. There was also a shared kitchenette to make coffee, tea or light meals if needed. But the best part was the gourmet breakfasts! Fresh eggs, fruit, breads and granola each am were well prepared and wonderful to share breakfast and stories with other travelers and Markie, who joined us each morning to talk about the previous day's adventures and life experiences. I am a vegetarian and she had no difficulty accommodating my diet as well as my husband's who is not a vegetarian.

This is a wonderful place to explore the Puna region. Only 10 miles from Hilo and 6 from Pahoa. We ended up eating most meals in Pahoa which is a laid back town with several good restaurants. The farmer's market in Hilo is also a great experience with lots of fresh produce and local characters. We found staying at Art & Orchids a great alternative to staying in Hilo and highly recommend it to anyone exploring this side of the island!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denvergirl80238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    13
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
62
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Please update your beds (it's like sleeping on a board); Also be less pushy about breakfast - we paid for it already and we are on vacation, so we will eat if we want to eat.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campbell1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kokoipo, Owner at Art and Orchids, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
We thank these guests for taking the time to review our inn. We take all comments and suggestions to heart.

We have high quality firm mattresses but for those guests who wish a softer mattress we provide mattress toppers. In the future we will make sure to mention that to everyone. We want all our guests to have a great experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waltham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Stay here to listen to tree frogs and enjoy the gorgeous rain forest. Don't come on your honeymoon.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjjwaltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kokoipo, Owner at Art and Orchids, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Thank you to our guest for taking the time to write this review. We are surprised by the comment about curb appeal as almost everyone on arrival says how beautiful it is here. We greet all our guests with a smile and lots of aloha. We want all our guests to have a wonderful stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Margarita, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2011

My adult daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights. We would return tomorrow if possible!We loved the tropical forest setting filled with the beauty and sounds of nature. (The frogs are very loud, but the sounds are beautiful) Markie and Jerry are fabulous hosts. They truly want you to enjoy your visit. There is a lot to see locally and they can answer any questions as well as loan you snorkling gear. Volcano's National Park is a must see. We were very comfortable in the Garden room.Each morning we enjoyed a delightful breakfast and visted with our hosts and other guests. I certainly miss Markie's tasty homemade granola and fresh fruits grown right there on the property. Thank you so much Markie and Jerry for everything!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russuzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We just enjoyed a two night stay in this lovely B & B. We stayed in the Orchid Room, a large comfortable room. Markee is an excellent hostess, the breakfasts were yummy (loved the red bananas and the homemade granola). The inn is exceptionally well kept, with lots of nice places to sit and relax. We enjoyed the hot tub and the pool. This is a very interesting area to visit and this is a great location to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndagail48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coba, Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2011

We stayed here two nights in March. We had the room with the spa. All the things that all the reviews say are true!! The stained glass, mosaics, flowers, breakfasts, great hosts (owners), the jungle, the frogs, the monkey next door, and the wild pigs running through the yard all make for a totally awesome experience. Only one complaint, the bed was pretty hard but everything else was great!!

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pugparents18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cazadero
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2011

Guests who like to get away from the crowds and love nature will appreciate this excellent B&B. The hosts are true artists and it shows in all the crafty and loving touches that makes this B&B different than most. From mosaic bathroom floors to the art on the walls, the arty touches makes this place special. And the gardens are filled with orchids and birds. Marklyn prepares a breakfast that is truly different from the B&Bs usual fruit and sweet roll. She makes her own special granola, serves many fruits and different breads including taro bread and every morning has a different serving of eggs, omelets, and scrambled eggs. We enjoyed our three days here and would highly recommend it to anybody who likes small and local, and prefers nature surroundings rather than the crowded beaches.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chukartales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keaau
11.8 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
16.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
388 reviews
12.3 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
658 reviews
12.2 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
13.7 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art and Orchids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art and Orchids

Property: Art and Orchids
Address: 16-1504 39th Ave, Keaau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96749
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Keaau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Keaau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven for artists and those who love tropical gardens. Luxury at an affordable price. Wake to the sound of rainforest birds in our spacious home on the Big Island of Hawaii, 15 miles from Hilo. All rooms with private baths, one with jacuzzi. Decorated with high quality art. Relax in our hot tub. Breakfast includes macadamia nut granola, eggs, ham, local tropical fruit, sweet and whole-grain bread, Hawaiian honey and jam, tea, and local coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Art And Orchids Keaau, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing