We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best part of the vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Beautiful Day, Nani La 'Ao
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Best part of the vacation”
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Went to Hawaii to write a book, and have been spending the past several months travelling from one hostel to the next. I am calling it my "working vacation." So far, the best part has been my visit to "A Beautiful Day. " It is the only place I was able to truly find peace and be able to connect with nature. I love the outdoors, and I appreciate being in a place that shows respect for the environment. I have been to many stuffy, overly social hostels, but I needed a place where I could hear myself think, and reconnect with the earth. Truly a place of healing, very sacred. On an earlier visit I treated myself to a massage, and it was the best I ever had. Right now I am finishing up, and spending time camping on the beach. But I wanted to express my sincere joy for having stayed at such a unique location, a place I will never forget! You can check out the website at abeautifuldayhawaii.com and ask about the "working vacation" packages!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuthorLisette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hilo
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2010

It has taken my partner and I nearly a year to move from Kona to Hilo, and it's still so noisey there. We decided to treat ourselves to "A Beautiful Day Hawaii" and booked tandem spa treatments as well as an overnight stay. It was extraordinary, so beautiful, with huge trees and orchids, free range bunnies, and MUCH more. So enchanting. We loved the spa treatments, I got a facial with a massage and then soaked in the hydrotherapy tub with papaya mango sea salts. I can truly appreciate the amount of love and care that goes into taking care of a place like this. It was a remarkable stay, very inspiring. We will be back often for more spa treatments...20 minutes from Hilo is such a short drive for this kind of a treat, and such a respite.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HiloMarlenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We stayed in the tree house, which is just that, a tree house in a lady's backyard. You sleep outdoors, with millions of frogs yelling in your ears all night, and with the non-stop rain keeping you forever damp. The owner let us use the stove and refrigerator in her garage, which was nice of her. There was also a lovely washroom, but it was a good walk away, so you don't want to drink any water before you go to bed! The shower is outdoors. There are mosquitos EVERYWHERE, ALWAYS. The road to get there is unpaved, so you risk damage to your rental car. You NEED a rental car, because this hostel is in the middle of nowhere. It's about a 20 minute drive to get to any food. I guess you get what you pay for, but I feel like I could have gotten a decent bed in a hostel in the city for the same price, rather than be wet, dirty, and sleep deprived the whole time. It's an adventure, so if you love the outdoors, go for it. The tree house was pretty nice and very clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goonybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Vermont
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

I spent almost two months at A Beautiful Day, some in the tree house and some in the main house. I have thoroughly enjoyed the experience, and would recommend it to other independent, alternative type travelers who are looking for a genuinely interesting visit to the less touristy east side of the Big Island. Life would have been a lot simpler if I had rented a car, as the location is well off the beaten path up in Orchidland. It is about a four mile round trip trek to the nearest shop. However, I was on a budget and trying to get in better shape, so I bought a used bike in Hilo instead. I love riding into nearby Pahoa, having lunch, then hanging out at the gorgeous (and free!) municipal pool. Combined with the also free Hele-on bus system, I have been able to get around just fine.

Sherri, the owner, is an artist, a massage therapist, and a real character whom I now consider a friend. She loves animals and there are chickens, bunnies, a goat and a donkey on the premises. She gives a great lomi lomi massage!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia_celebrating_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Valley, California
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2007

We found the peace and tranquility we truly needed. The busy hotels were just too crazy, and this place was peaceful and serene. We stayed for two weeks, booked the rejuvenation packages, and looked (and felt) completely different when we left! We would highly recommend "A Beautiful Day/Nani La 'Ao" for anyone wanting to make a positive change in their life. It was easy to go back to work again...

  • Liked — View of Mauna Kea from the porch, being surrounded by the native Ohia forest, friendly critters and staff
  • Disliked — Having to go home...
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bigbuddychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pasadena
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2007

I wanted to let you know about a place I stayed on the Big Island of Hawaii. It was called "A Beautiful Day" and had been recommended to me by one of my co-workers who stayed there several months ago. We got spa treatments and were very impressed with the professionalism and beauty of this place. We would recommend it to anyone wanting a unique spa experience in a secluded location. Very peaceful and magical.

Helpful?
Thank pasadenalisette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keaau
16.2 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
12.4 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
17.9 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
11.8 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Beautiful Day, Nani La 'Ao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Beautiful Day, Nani La 'Ao

Property: A Beautiful Day, Nani La 'Ao
Address: 161436 39th, HCR 1 Box 4643, Keaau, Island of Hawaii, HI 96749
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Keaau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Keaau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spa treatments at this beautiful rainforest retreat. Upstairs one bedroom suite includes fully stocked indoor kitchen and bath. Also available is a private studio guest cottage in the Ohia rainforest with a view of Mauna Kea from the private deck. There is also a studio, all with queen size beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your A Beautiful Day, Nani La 'Ao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Beautiful Day, Nani La 'Ao Keaau, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing