We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
143
25
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
25
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbamboo roomeach morningthe big islandocean viewbed and breakfastwasher and dryervolcano national parkswimming poolfresh fruitgreat place to stayother guestsenjoyed our staysnorkel equipmentlava flowextra sunscreenthe location is perfectincredible value
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We were in town for the Merrie Monarch Festival 2017 and the Ala Kai Bed and Breakfast is a beautiful, quiet, relaxing location. The cottage had a lot of amenities that we would have at home but more, especially offering ear plugs so wouldn't be bothered by the smooth singing of the Coqui frogs at night. The Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast is in a great location for you to go exploring. Minutes away from any main town to grab supplies for your trip or to grab a bite to eat from any restaurant. A great big thanks to Pat and Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast for creating such a nice home environment for their guest! Really enjoyed our time, we look forward to returning and we recommend the Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast to everyone. Our warmest Aloha, Mahalo.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kamaunu808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

If you want a quiet, clean and quaint place to stay on the windward side of Hawaii, Ala Kai B&B is a must. Away from busy Hilo, Ala Kai is in Keeau, a serene place where you can hear the ocean waves and see them break while sitting on the wrap around lanai. Mary, the owner, cooks a hot breakfast (no Continental breakfast here) with fresh fruit. We stayed in the downstairs bamboo room, which was private and quiet. Sometimes it's those extra touches that make one appreciate a lodging experience, things such as 2 bottles of water in the fridge, good Hawaiian coffee packet in the room, liquid soap, shampoo and conditioner in the spacious shower and high-speed Internet. The room was well designed, space-wise, with a closet for clothes and other stuff, shelf and corner closet in the bathroom for toiletries, and a bamboo bench at the foot of the bed for bags or stuff. There were plenty of towels and large beach towels. Mary can guide you to the many sites on this side of the island, or you can reference the books on Hawaii that are in the room. Also in the room is an assortment of novels to read while relaxing on the lanai or lying in the hammock. Many people walk on the streets in this quiet neighborhood, which is void of traffic and distractions. Just enjoy the scenery, sound of the waves and several bird species.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HikerPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary R, Owner at Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Aloha,
Thank you for your thoughtful and delightful review. Please come back to stay at the Ala Kai one day.
Regards,
Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Four of us (2 couples) stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage. We absolutely loved it. Everything you could need is stocked, from beach towels (they have a pool), to kitchen utensils (full kitchen, and they have a propane grill up by the main house), to earplugs (the coqui frogs love to sing at night), to books and dvds. A home away from home -
we wish we could have stayed longer! Shakespeare the resident cat is quite friendly too :)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Are you headed to the Big Island? Take time to explore the east coast, especially the Puna district. This is the land of flowing lava, extraordinary hiking, warm ocean pools and stunning snorkeling. Off the typical tourist track, finding accommodations can be a bit tricky if you decide to look outside the National Park and Hilo. We found a real gem with Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast. The location is perfect for exploring the region and is in easy proximity to Pahoa where you really will find some great dining. Mary will take care of you , too, with great breakfasts, lots of touring tips and eating recommendations. She has a nice stash of snorkel equipment - you just have to ask. The pool is a real bonus, especially after hot afternoon adventuring. This is B&B at its homiest and most welcoming. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marjorie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary R, Owner at Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Ala Kai B&B was a great place to stay. The cottage was very clean and welcoming. The bathroom was fully equipped with toiletries, plenty of towels, and super clean, the kitchen was also fully operational and we were able to prepare some dinner that we ate in the patio. Mary, the owner, was very helpful and gave us a lot of tips of what to do;she also prepared a good breakfast every morning. Ala Kai B&B is surrounded by nature and is very quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petunia276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary R, Owner at Ala Kai Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Mahalo for your wonderful review. Please come see me again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews