We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Restaurant”

The Strawberry Patch
Ranked #7 of 37 Restaurants in Kealakekua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Cozy Restaurant”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Some locals suggested we go to The Strawberry Patch for lunch which we did and really enjoyed our meal. Delicious soup which was perfect since it was a rainy day and our sandwiches were excellent. Loved the quaint interior and our server was very nice and helpful in suggesting what we should order for lunch. Would definitely go here again when we return to the Big Island.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LadiParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    35
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kealakekua, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Place to Eat in Kealakekua, HI”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have been going to Strawberry Patch for at least 2 years if not longer. My husband and I used to go once a week to that restaurant, but now I go there once every two weeks to once a month since my husband died. The food tastes good, smells good, and is good. The presentation is excellent. Amelia is the owner and cook, and she is happy to accommodate you if you are a vegan or a meat lover. We tend to ask for separate plates, and she prepares our order on two different plates and does not charge for the extra plate. She always gave my husband/guest and I ample portions. She does not serve wine or beer, but you could bring your own without a charge. Her salads always tastes fresh and looks clean and well prepared on the plate. You pay for what you get, but better when you eat at the Strawberry Patch. If you think it is expensive, then go down into Kailua-Kona. Then, you will know what restaurants are expensive unless, of course, your palate is more towards the Burger King or McDonnell's food flair.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quaint, quality, pricey”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great little restaurant - very nice atmosphere (small, personal.) Our waitress seemed "off" that night but still great service - no complaints, she was just short. Food was excellent - only downside was it seemed a little overpriced, but even saying that, we'd go again. It's small and out of the way, but worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boston2NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A little pricey, but very yummy”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stopped here actually looking for the Nasturtium restaurant next door, but thought maybe they'd changed their name or something. Either way, The Strawberry Patch was great. The food is a little pricey (it cost us $40 for lunch), but what isn't pricey in Hawaii? We decided to split the Brie Cheese Plate and the Papa somebody's Pizza. The Brie plate was out of this world great, and the pizza was really good too, if a bit small for $15. We would have tried a dessert too, but the only one they had at lunch had eggs in it (and we're lactovegetarian). They are vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free friendly, so stop on by if you're in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hunnyjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We chose this place on the basis of other Trip Advisor reviews. Otherwise, I think we would have driven past the place! We loved it. People have described it as quaint or funky, and it fits. We sat outside and were screened from the highway/ I had the roast beet salad and garlic bread, and it was wonderful. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bearpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Strawberry Patch also viewed

Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to The Strawberry Patch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing