We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kealakekua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rainbow Plantation B&B
Ranked #2 of 2 Kealakekua B&B and Inns
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highlight of our stay”
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

We felt so very welcome here! Delicious breakfast, superb location next to one of the best snorkeling locations and best of all: the Jungle Queen...this "room" is actually a converted boat that now has a bedroom, a shower, a toilet and a living room. We added another day simply because it was heaven. Christian and his team were superb hosts.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcVanBaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    5
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
235 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed there two nights in an old boat which was transferred into a sleeping and livingroom.
It is unique and has charisma, with a jungle feeling. If you looking for a high end spacious place, you can be disapointed. Christian was very helpful, breakfast was good. We would return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianRainbow, Owner at Rainbow Plantation B&B, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Aloha and thanks for staying here ! Through the year we have been busy renovating all rooms and improving service and breakfast, and I think we are doing an awesome job now ! Next up is a veggie garden for all to enjoy, and perhaps later a hot tub and sun deck. So please come back again ! We now mostly get 100% positive reviews and you will not be dissapointed now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

In October 2012, we reserved 3 nights at the Rainbow Plantation Bed & Breakfast for
December 15 to 17 2012. We asked the owner, Christian, a 3 beds room since we are 3
friends. So we rent his biggest and more expensive room, the Crows Nest, and paid an extra
for the breakfast of the 3rd person.

We got there on December 15th at 9h30 pm. There began a long list of disappointments.
First of all, the room was set for only 2 people : 2 bath towels and 2 beds with sheets. We
called Christian to get sheets for the 3rd bed, but he was out of town and could not do
anything. On the phone, we also mentioned that we would not eat breakfast with him on
the next morning cause we had to leave early for a tour. The room was so disappointing.
Several windows have no curtains, including a big one in the bathroom facing the toilet. One
big window has no glass, just a screen, and is located in front of the breakfast area which is
very close and where people were talking until late at night. We could also smell marijuana.
It was cold that night, and I had to sleep with jeans and a jacket on since we could not close
the window and there was minimum lining on the beds. In the morning, noise and vibration
(what was that?) began very early so in the final we slept very bad. In addition, the toilet
can be flushed no more than once every 10 minutes and the little fridge is smelly.

On December 16th, we returned from our tour in the afternoon. We saw sheets for the bed
outside in the stairs of the room. Why weren’t they put inside? Anyways, we had decided
to leave as soon as possible and look for any hotel room available. Christian was not on the
property so we called him on his cell phone. We said we were leaving cause we were not
satisfied with the room. We agreed to pay for 2 nights, as he asked, even if we had slept
there only 1 night, but we did not agree to pay the extra fee for the 3rd person, since we
had not eaten breakfast and the room was set for only 2 people. We wanted a refund. He
said we would talk later about that.

To us, the room is not like shown on the website and we felt deceived. On the website,
it looks charming, clean and calm. Doesn’t it? Actually, it is dusty, noisy, cold and lacking
privacy. We were so uncomfortable.

In the following weeks, we exchanged a few emails with Christian. He did not seem to
remember us nor how things happened and was very defensive. At first he said we did not
tell him we wanted 3 separate beds and that’s why only 2 were prepared. In the next email,
changing his story, he said he asked his staff to prepare 3 separate beds but that they must
have forgotten… He said we just had to call him to make him prepare the 3rd bed – we
did! He even said he prepared breakfast for us – why would he? – and that he assumes we
found another place and just wanted to come up with reasons to leave this place without
paying...

Finally, we could not logically argue with him and he refunded us only 75$. Knowing that we
paid 135$/night, we consider this is highly dishonest. Unfortunately, the owner really doesn’t
seem to care about his business nor his clients. Not recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristianRainbow, Owner at Rainbow Plantation B&B, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Aloha and thanks for staying here ! Through the year we have been busy renovating all rooms and improving service and breakfast, and I think we are doing an awesome job now ! Next up is a veggie garden for all to enjoy, and perhaps later a hot tub and sun deck. So please come back again ! We now mostly get 100% positive reviews and you will not be dissapointed now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kealakekua
0.7 mi away
Manago Hotel
Manago Hotel
#1 of 1 in Captain Cook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
11.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.1 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
Ka'awa Loa Plantation
#2 of 15 in Captain Cook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mermaid Dreams Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Halemalu
Halemalu
#3 of 4 in Captain Cook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Plantation B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Plantation B&B

Property: Rainbow Plantation B&B
Address: 81-6327B Mamalahoa Hwy, Box 2221, Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii, HI 96750-8142
Region: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kealakekua
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kealakekua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful B&B on 3.5 Lush tropical acres conveniently located near the best snorkel spots south of Kailua-Kona. We have 5 various rooms, from a cozy fully renovated boat room, perfect for honeymoon couples, to a large 2 story 2 bedroom unit. A rooms have wifi, a private bath and deck, some with oceanview, and include a large plentiful breakfast with cereal, homebaked bread, fruits etc. Easy to find location by the highway between Captain Cook and Kealakekua, yet quiet and peaceful. Close to lots of great places. Hosts are happy to share insider tips and help plan and book trips. Welcome ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing